Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LeonardXW

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 30, 2016
Hi, I need some guides on purchasing a MacBook Pro.
I am an Aerospace engineering student, will use the laptop to do (A) assignment, (B) research or maybe some (C) 3D modelling. The 3D modelling software I used before was CATIA V5, which is available on window only. I don’t mind to use computer lab for 3D modelling as it is graphically intensive,I am doubting laptop can run it well. I will open a lot of safari tabs, and few documents while researching. Aside for study, I want to have some gaming such as The Sims 4 full Library.

I am well aware of few problems with Apple MacOS, the systems itself consume 60% of the storage (on my MacBook Air systems take up 80GB of my 128GB storage). When the storage is Low, the computer tend to load slower. Also, we can’t install applications on external hard drive right? I am aware of the option of eGPU.

Here are the questions, (either one)
1. CPU vs GPU. Should I get fastest CPU or dedicated GPU?
2. CPU vs Storage. Should I get fastest CPU or higher storage. I know there is an option of external storage.

dukebound85

macrumors Core
Jul 17, 2005
5045 feet above sea level
College doesn’t require a powerful machine. You won’t have licenses to run the engineering software anyways and you wouldn’t want to with the labs having much more powerful setups

Get what you can afford. You’ll be fine with a MBA or base mbp

*speaking as a former engineering student

SteveJUAE

macrumors 601
Aug 14, 2015
Land of Smiles
As a engineer in heavy construction and having put 2 sons through Uni both in engineering 1 with a PHD and the other with a Bsc they both used MBP for Uni but soon found out in the real world windows rules