Macbook wont shutdown ... management action Message? Please help

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by dougjames84, May 10, 2018.

  1. dougjames84 macrumors newbie

    dougjames84

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #1
    hello lovely macrumors community.
    Hoping you Can help with this Odd error .

    Evertime i try to restart or shutdown this message comes up “office 2016 installation start “ as a management action box . Screen is black and all I can do is press dismiss . Sound works when I hit any key but I can only power off by holding the power button down .

    I have tried :
    Removing all office 2016 products
    (Apart from onedrive)
    Same error

    Also removed all keychain permissions related to office
    Same error

    Fresh reinstall of office 2016 .
    Same error .

    Any other keys I can press while on this black screen other than to force a power off !?how do I fix this ?

    Latest version of OS X
    Issue started last week and haven’t upgraded anything .
    Please help ! Use my mac daily for work so would be much appreciated .
     

    Attached Files:

  2. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #2
    I've never heard of that and a Google search for "management action" and "office 2016 installation start" yields absolutely nothing.

    First thing I'd do is check my system for malware with Malwarebytes and Etrecheck.
     
  3. Honza1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    US
    #3
    Is this computer under IT control? JAMF software (is used by ITs to manage deployed Macs) has Management action.app and may be something is hanging there. Our IT is using Jamf to deploy updates I believe. If you have admin privileges you can remove all jamf related stuff from system LaunchAgents and LaunchDaemons, restart and see if that helps. IT may get annoyed if you remove this, though.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    According to what I could find, that kind of window "Management Action" is a normal window used from Casper Suite as a notification - so it will be mostly what Honza1 was asking.

    I see that Casper Suite is now called "Jamf Pro"?

    You should talk to whoever takes care of IT support in your organization, or your company.
     
  5. dougjames84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    dougjames84

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #5
    Many thx will try this and get back to you . Yes it’s got JAMF installed .
     
  6. posguy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    #6
    Why're you installing software on it (Office?) when it's under control of your IT department? If it's your computer, why is it under control of your IT department?
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    Could it be the OP is using a MBPro supplied by his company, and supported by them? The JAMF suite would likely be installed because the company (or the support/IT folks) requires it.
     
  8. posguy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    #8
    I think it's obvious that despite what he says, it's not his laptop, it belongs to his workplace.
     
  9. dougjames84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    dougjames84

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #9
    It’s my laptop and I have enrolled it in JAMF for work
    --- Post Merged, May 12, 2018 ---
    I have JAMF installed , it’s my own Mac and it’s enrolled . Our office supports both PC and Mac . Using JAMF there is a self service portal where you simply click what you want - office , adobe reader etc . This is the first time I have had issues .

    I tried some sudo JAMF commands like clearcache , updates and inventory . Still the same issue that The management window pops up and i am forced to do a hard shutdown , which can’t be good for the Mac . I’m worried my IT department can’t help .

    Is there a way to clear pending installs or stop management messages ?
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    You may need to contact JAMF support directly about issues with their management suite.
    But then, JAMF might refer you to your own IT folks, who, in my perfect world, SHOULD know how to solve problems with software that they require you to use...
     
  11. posguy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    #11
    Any reason why you don't just let the install run?
     
  12. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #12
    I am pretty sure that the JAMF suite is supposed to complete the install. There's no visible way for the user to "let the install run" - the "Management Action" window is simply information for the user - and the "Dismiss" button just dismisses that window, and would not control the outcome of the install (which is a function of the JAMF suite)
    The apparent problem is: The JAMF suite is not completing the install for some reason. The user likely can't fix that. It would be done by whoever controls the JAMF suite. That should be the OPs IT folks.
     
  13. posguy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    #13
    I don't think we can say that. The OP appears to be making it plain that his response to the window showing up is to forcibly reboot the machine.
     
  14. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #14
    Yes, I agree. The OP says that message appears when he tries to restart or shutdown. That will often bring up possibly-stalled processes, which would make this seem to be an install that is just not working, or has already completed, yet the process (controlled from the server) is stuck somewhere (and may be reporting a failed process back to the server.) The user may or may not be able to access THAT part of the process, as it would be residing on the server, and there may not be a method that the user knows about - one that will break that connection to the server, and continue on with the shutdown/restart. Ultimately resulting in a forced shutdown, the user's only choice, apparently.
    IT still needs to be brought in on this.
    Or, maybe my scenario makes no sense at all (as I have no recent experience with the JAMF suite)?
    If you, or someone else who comes here, has some more current knowledge about how JAMF starts and completes processes remotely, then your answer would surely be more relevant than mine.
     

Share This Page