macOS 10.12 Sierra Unsupported Macs Thread

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by redheeler, Jun 13, 2016.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #126
    Thanks. My MacBook5,1 should then work too, I suppose.
     
  2. Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #127
  3. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #128
    Which Kernel? Sierra or ElCap?
     
  4. Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #129
    I am downloading it now and will be testing it on my 2009 MBP tomorrow once I build an installer USB stick.
     
  5. Adamscomputerrepair macrumors 6502

    Adamscomputerrepair

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    #130
    Already beat you to it. Nada. Still either booting 2/3 of the way with a prohibited sign, or like my MacBook 4,1 with el cap, if you restore the installer to a hard drive partition, you'll boot to the installer, but there'll be no way to use a mouse or keyboard making it impossible to go any further.

    There is something in the system. I'm not sure what. But it is hindering us to move forward. I can't seem to figure it out. The processors should match, I have the 9400 m which should work, what's failing? Should I start unhooking things like wifi and speakers? Maybe there's an unsupported kext that trips the installer.
     
  6. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #131
    From what Verbose mode spit out at me it looks like it might be something on the USB bus. Isn't that how the iSight and WiFi card connect to the Mac?

    EDIT: IR Sensor, Camera, Bluetooth, Keyboard, and Trackpad are all on USB.
     
  7. Adamscomputerrepair macrumors 6502

    Adamscomputerrepair

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    #132

    Ok then how can we add a kext and force it to load? I know they tried this last year with El Cap but there was more wrong last year. We need to force USBInjectAll.kext to load. It's a hackintosh kext that loads any and every driver. Not to mention if we used an El Capitan version, we are more likely to have a working system. Someone needs to run over to tonymacx86 and ask if we even can force load kexts in an installer.
     
  8. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #133
    Well, here's the weird thing. Verbose is complaining about power to USB. It doesn't see it, but it assumes it's there and continues. I posted a pic a few posts back.
     
  9. Adamscomputerrepair macrumors 6502

    Adamscomputerrepair

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    #134
    That's what happens when USB isn't supported. Same thing happened with my Vivobook hackintosh when I switched from Yosemite to El Cap. Ran the Inject all kext using kext wizard and it worked fine.
     
  10. Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #135
    I don't think that will fix anything. USBInjectAll.kext was created to solve issues with port limits on machines with USB 3.0 in El Capitan because of the change in the OS X usb drivers.
     
  11. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #136
    Interesting. So these machines must use a different USB controller then the supported Macs. Now if I knew were the USB kexts were held...
     
  12. Adamscomputerrepair macrumors 6502

    Adamscomputerrepair

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    #137
    It was as far as we got last year besides replacing wifi with a PCI USB card. Bad idea BTW.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 13, 2016 ---
    Probably System/Library/Extensions
    --- Post Merged, Jun 13, 2016 ---
    Wait. I get what you're doing. You're gonna replace the Sierra USB kexts with El Cap ones.
     
  13. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #138
    Bingo. Working on it now.
     
  14. TMRJIJ macrumors 68030

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
    #139
    I did work on new USB Kexts that would come with OS X Extractor 1.33 but we still need a working 64 bit Boot.efi with SIP disabled by default.
     
  15. Adamscomputerrepair macrumors 6502

    Adamscomputerrepair

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    #140
    If it's that simple, I'll probably cry. Seriously. I've worked about 4 hours now in flat package editor.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 13, 2016 ---
    Where's Pike? He still makes the best (and only) boot.efi's
    --- Post Merged, Jun 13, 2016 ---
    Also, probably gonna need those kexts.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 13, 2016 ---
    Random thought;

    Couldn't you go into Single User mode, target the installer partition of the hard drive, and then disable SIP?
     
  16. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #141
    I replaced all the USB kexts and still no luck.
     
  17. TMRJIJ macrumors 68030

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
    #142
    The SIP setting is only accessible within the Recovery Partition/Installer which would likely be inaccessible because you need the USB kexts. It's pretty ironic. The only other way is to modify the Bootloader to disable rootless (Windows PC with Visual Studio may be required).
     
  18. Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #143
    You could create a Clover based installer on a USB stick. That should allow you to load any kext you need and you could disable SIP.
     
  19. Adamscomputerrepair macrumors 6502

    Adamscomputerrepair

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    #144

    Yeah and not make it 10 seconds in. Clover doesn't play well at all with real macs. Though you don't have a bad start.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 13, 2016 ---
    I have a Windows PC. What's visual studio and what do I need to do? I've got nothing but time on my hands....well...starting tomorrow morning.
     
  20. Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #145
    It works fine if you boot in Legacy Mode. Used to use it on my 2006 MacPro to run 10.9 before Tiamo created the boot.efi.
     
  21. Adamscomputerrepair macrumors 6502

    Adamscomputerrepair

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    #146
    I mean, I'll try it. But even then A, there's no clover or chameleon for Sierra. B, if I'm not mistaken, legacy mode is also a text mode making it almost impossible to turn SIP off and C, I honestly don't remember how to force kexts in it. I was a chameleon kind of guy
     
  22. Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #147
    Legacy mode isn't text only. It just allows you to boot the efi file located in the Clover install. From there you will have the full graphics of the boot loader.

    You can disable SIP with settings in your Clover config.plist. Set your BooterConfig to 0x28 and set your CsrActiveConfig to 0x67. That will completely disable SIP without needing to go into the RecoveryHD.

    But yes there isn't an official Clover for Sierra yet.
     
  23. TMRJIJ macrumors 68030

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
    #148
    Visual Studio is like the XCode for Windows. Pike's open sourced his Bootloader so users can compile their own copies. There is a page tailer just for rootless. Some of it is in xml but I myself can't create an 64 bit version that could set rootless to not equal CsrActiveConfig... complicated stuff.

    I think @Hennesie2000 's idea is the way to go for right now.
     
  24. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #149
    Isn’t it enough to disable SIP with the El Capitan Recovery/Installer? The setting is stored in NVRAM, so it shouldn’t matter.
     
  25. TMRJIJ macrumors 68030

    TMRJIJ

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina, United States
    #150
    Maybe for the recently disowned Macs. I have yet to finish installing Sierra on my mid 2010 MacBook Pro to see if my custom Bluetooth kexts brick it. However those 'really old' Macs in my OS X Hackers realm like the MacBook 3,1 and 4,1 couldn't run El Capitan without this workaround.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page