macOS 10.15 Catalina on VM

Discussion in 'macOS Catalina (10.15)' started by dlfgma, Jun 4, 2019.

  1. dlfgma macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    #1
    Has anyone successfully been able to get Catalina running on a VM?

    I made a quick attempt to upgrade a Mojave VM running on ESXI 6.7U2 yesterday but it did not appear to work. I have not had time to debug yet but will try again later.
     
  2. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #2
    I just created a new Volume for it. Mine installed fine, but it wasn't an update over Mojave; Try creating a new VM for it instead of upgrading a Mojave one
     
  3. basher macrumors 6502

    basher

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ USA
    #3
    I'm trying the beta of Catalina on the most recent version of Parallels and the install seems to be stuck at, "9 minutes remaining". It's been that way for the last 30 minutes. I'm going to let it go a while longer, but I don't think it's going to work.
     
  4. dlfgma thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    #4
    My plan is as follows:

    • Disable SIP
    • Try again using no_compat_check
    • ??

    FWIW, it seemed to install before but got stuck at the Apple boot logo.
     
  5. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #5

    It could be the fact that Catalina repartitions the volume on install? Maybe the VMs aren't happy about that? It creates an extra volume that is read only for OS level things as a new form of security
     
  6. basher macrumors 6502

    basher

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ USA
    #6
    I was able to get Catalina booted by doing a hard system reset. Once booted all looked good until I opened Safari. Turns out the network wasn't working. All settings in Catalina and the Parallels VM looked good; however not connectivity.

    Think I'll spend my time elsewhere. Very excited to play with MacOS 15, but I'll wait for release.
     
  7. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #7
    I had a lot of trouble but ended up following this approach:
    https://planetvm.net/blog/?p=64552
    I had to download a fresh installer and copy it to a home folder. For some reason the one I had used and saved previously could not be converted by Fusion. Go figure.
    Since this is a fresh install, do not forget to install the Beta Profile installer so you get the beta updates in the VM Guest.
     

Share This Page

6 June 4, 2019