MacOS High Sierra (10.13): Trim working?

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by sumo.do, Jul 28, 2017.

  1. sumo.do macrumors member

    sumo.do

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I noticed after I installed the High Sierra public beta two days ago my trim support was no longer enabled under system report under sata. I tried running the TrimForce command multiple times and it is still not enabled (
    sudo trimforce enable).

    I am running High Sierra on a 2011 Mac mini Server. My SSD is a Samsung 840 Pro. Anyone have their Trim disabled or having trouble running the TrimForce command?
     
  2. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Hmmm, same here, I had Trim enabled before PB3. Have you tried enabling it again?
     
  3. sumo.do thread starter macrumors member

    sumo.do

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Yeah I tried the trimforce command to enable it four times. No good. The command says it enabled it but after reboot it is still not enabled.
     
  4. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Have you upgraded to APFS?
     
  5. sumo.do thread starter macrumors member

    sumo.do

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
  6. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
  7. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
    Is your firmware updated? I have an MX300 in a 2012 MacBook Air with an adapter, and it's using APFS without a problem.
     
  8. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    I haven't tried that. It seems to be a hassle for Mac's? Did you have an issue and upgrading the firmware resolved it?
     
  9. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #9
    No, I try to keep up with the SSD firmware updates so it was current before I installed 10.13 beta.
    To install it, I burned the image to a CD and booted from that. It was the least work to do it that way since I have a Superdrive hanging around.
     
  10. LarryJoe33, Jul 28, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2017

    LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    Thanks, I just upgraded the firmware to the latest and still no luck converting. I know this is beta but it's bugging me and I feel like it has something to do with my system or the way I set up the SDD. How does this compare to your setup?

    Disk Util.png

    More here:
    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/apfs-and-third-party-sdd-upgrades.2058279/#post-24832185
     
  11. FatalFallacy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #11
    Trim also not working for me in dev beta 4 with a JetDrive 725 (mid 2012 MBPr).
    APFS conversion went through smoothly.
     
  12. sumo.do thread starter macrumors member

    sumo.do

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    I removed the APFS volume by booting in with a secondary drive. It's a lot of work. You can't simply format in the GUI Disk Utility. You have to run commands under terminal to specifically remove the APFS container. Then I reformatted in JHFS+ and went back to my 10.12 OS. I ran trim force and it's now ok. So it is clearly a APFS/10.13 thing. I found 10.13 PB3 so buggy anyway. Even Drive Genius that is supposed to work with APFS was really buggy. I kept getting alerts each day from Drive Genius telling me my SSD is about to crap itself and to back up and replace the drive. The drive is fine. It's a Samsung 840 Pro. It's gonna last longer than me. I'm taking a bet now that they release 10.13 GM as a JHFS+ version only. It's a pre-emptive guess I know, but I'd be surprised if they release it knowing so many people have third party SSDs and are having issues doing to APFS transition. They'll do the APFS transition as a 10.13.X update. I mean APFS has trouble with core storage set ups as well (fusion and time machine). So what are all the iMac fusion users gonna do? Split the fusion (like I have on my Mac minis).
     
  13. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
  14. Superhai macrumors 6502

    Superhai

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #14
    APFS does expect to be able to use queued TRIM command, and faulty firmware have in the past exposed the availability of the command without being implemented. Apple may have blacklisted those drives.
     
  15. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #15
    That is a lot of work. I tried trimforce and it didn't work. I am happy to finally have and APFS formatted SSD. I'll see what PB4 brings in a few days.
     
  16. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #16
    Ok, on DB 5, there TRIM is not being enabled.
     
  17. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #17
    PB4 and DB5 is the same. Hopefully fixed with the next release.
     
  18. ryxn macrumors regular

    ryxn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    #18
    I'm running DB 5 with no APFS and TRIM is still enabled for me.
     
  19. FatalFallacy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #19
    May I ask which 3rd-party SSD you are using?

    Also in former MacOS releases one was able to "force" a trimming of unused blocks with fsck / disk utility within the recovery system manually.
    Based on the outputs given by the tools, this does not seem to be available either in HS beta.
     
  20. ryxn macrumors regular

    ryxn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    #20
    Oops sorry, didn't read the callout on third party SSDs. The machine SSD with trim is part of my iMac 5K's fusion drive, which isn't third party installed. I have a third party SSD and HDD on my early 2011 MBP, but the beta failed to install entirely.
     
  21. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #21
    I wonder if it has been enabled (or force enabled) for third party drives in Dev5? I'll test PB4 when it hits later today.
     
  22. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #22
    installed developer preview #5 from scratch onto an old intel 330 series SSD and ran "trimforce enable". TRIM NOT supported on the intel SSD. external SAMSUNG EVO 850 (thunderbolt) formatted with HFS showed up with TRIM enabled. installed High Sierra to the SAMSUNG (APFS), ran trimforce and rebooted. SAMSUNG has NO TRIM. :rolleyes:
     
  23. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #23
    I'll give it a shot in a bit for my MX300. Downloading PB4 right now.
     
  24. DocoBob, Aug 10, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2017

    DocoBob macrumors member

    DocoBob

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Location:
    USA
    #24
    My TRIM is not enabled on my Crucial BX100 (running APFS). I issued the Trimforce command several times (rebooting after each time). What I did notice is that when the command is completed, it responds that it completed successfully so I wonder if its just an anomaly is displaying TRIM status. Has anyone found some other way to verify that TRIM is enabled or not?
    Is TRIM somehow built into the APFS operating code so it does work, but just doesn't show up in System Report (obviously an oversight)?
     
  25. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #25
    In the first three Dev Betas, it was enabled using sudo trimforce enable, and shows that it was enabled.
     

Share This Page