macOS High Sierra 10.13 Works/Does Not Work Thread

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by bradhs, Jun 5, 2017.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. vbctv macrumors 6502

    vbctv

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #651
  2. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #652
    spotify is fine here. perhaps uninstall/reinstall the apps?
     
  3. mia-rafael macrumors member

    mia-rafael

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    #653
    hi

    we have 4 kids, one mac.com apple id account for all purchases and 6 different apple ids for facetime and messenger.

    we dont use the family sharing because we can not remove a few accounts we tried to make the first time we set it up because the children are under 13 and apple only allows 3 additional accounts.

    so that high sierra is out we cant even use separate apple ids with messenger and facetime and are only asked for the password for the main mac.com id had had for all the family since 2010.

    So i call apple, share my screen with someone trying o help find a solution and after 40 mins we both realized the family sharing was not designed for large families and we cant use our own unique apple ids to message each other, i told the the apple employee that i have to knock on walls now to get my kids to calm down and before i sent messages...

    Anyone have a solution because we are expecting another kid already and our two oldest sons want iphones along with their ipad minis., we need to share one purchasing account and now have no way to message each other.
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #654
  5. mia-rafael macrumors member

    mia-rafael

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    #655
    i have zero problems with office 2011 and high sierra
     
  6. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #656
    Regarding communication why not use other channels like What'sUp or Skype to communicate internally with your family members?
    Regarding Apple ID: We had also once a problem with Apple but of a different nature. :(
    Having questioned the purchase of a small app, my credit card was permanently blocked and that affected at the time even free of charge updates of apps. The workaround was setting a new Apple ID with the data of my wife and her credit card. Can't you create somehow a new Apple ID "modifying" a bit the requested personal info?o_O
    Sometimes one has no choice :rolleyes: but use not-100%-exact:mad: information to solve a problem not solvable in another way :D
     
  7. mia-rafael macrumors member

    mia-rafael

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    #657
    it seems that apple removed the option to add google talk to messenger, you can only use your apple ID.

    you know what kills me, its apple and with apple we are not allowed to say the word BUG....its offensive... :)

    think different each update, upgrade and platform, its starting to get t to me, i skipped 3 os systems, in fact i went to high sierra from OS 10, everything ran perfect and i did not think there was a need for messenger, but now with kids why not...

    We purchased over $1300 of app stuff from apple with our main ID, its a silly .MAC (errrrr) we cnat even get emails with it any more.
    Now Apple wants everyone to have their own Apple ID and limit it to 5 in families, this is not fair if you ask me, it seems at the time they decided this no one expected people to buy so many devices.

    Anyway, Skype again it is... (microsoft)...again Apple fails us.
     
  8. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #658
    Thanks everyone, and to be sure, do you have and use Outlook 2011 in your Office suites and it's working on High Sierra? I thought Outlook 2011's sensitive/picky database file format wouldn't get along well with APFS. IIRC last year's Sierra update broke it and MS had to patch the issue.

    I ask because, Outlook isn't included in all the Office suites.
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #659
    ^^^^^MS Outlook has never been included with the Home & Student Editions of MS office, but it is included the Home & Business Editions.

    Lou
     
  10. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #660
    Yup, that's the Office suite I have (Home & Business). I'd be pretty happy if I could continue on with 2011 a bit longer in High Sierra, if it's still functional.

    Main reason is because M$ removed this handy profile switcher at launch and you have to use the cumbersome database utility in 2016 to switch profiles.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. alanterra, Oct 13, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017

    alanterra macrumors newbie

    alanterra

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    #661
    For some reason, I can't edit the wiki.
    PSBQuickLook is reported by the author to not work with High Sierra, and he doesn't expect to be able to make a functional version soon due to response from Apple technical support.
    Skim doesn't work (highlights of pdfs are opaque), and again the author is not hopeful that he can fix this.
    Can someone edit the comments re Scrivener? Their technical support lead says that all bugs have been resolved as of Sept 26. http://literatureandlatte.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=39741&p=238715&hilit=high+sierra#p238715
     
  12. Hodar1 macrumors member

    Hodar1

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Location:
    In the middle of the Rocky Mountains, for now.
    #662
    Unable to make Photo's print Letter sized Photo's. Without regard to settings, all photo's are cropped to 8x10 size, however same printer, same printer settings seem to work with Pixelmator
     
  13. jjdodders macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    #663
    Does not work:

    MS Outlook (v15.34)
    Logic Pro 9
    Logic Node
    Mainstage
     
  14. flowrider, Oct 17, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2017

    flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #664
    ^^^^Can't agree or disagree with your items 2-4, don't use 'em. But MS outlook (V15.39) definitely works just fine with High Sierra.

    Lou
     
  15. MIKX macrumors 6502

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #665
    X-Plane 11 demo with an HIS HD 7950 3Gb @ 5GT/s working very well from a 7,200 rpm HDD spinner in 10.13.0
     
  16. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #666
    logic 9 is stated as not being supported in HS...
     
  17. biyahero1 macrumors newbie

    biyahero1

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    #667
    TechTool Pro 9.5.3 is confirmed to NOT work by it's Publisher Micromat and they have a note on their site saying that it is not compatible and:

    MicromatTech 3 said in a forum in response to a question if it was compatible:
    No. Please do not use TechTool Pro 9.5.3 with High Sierra.
    I do not have an estimate for when the update will be available. In addition to working under a new operating system, the new version would have to have some support for Apple's completely new and still not fully documented filesystem.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 18, 2017 ---
    Just to confirm... are you using APFS? The reason I ask is because a page I found at a page to purchase Microsoft for Office 2016 for Mac claimed that one of the requirments was "Required Hard Disk Space 6GB HFS+ Disk Format". Of course that was written before APFS existed, so hopefully untrue.

    I have Office for Mac 2011 Home and Business and would really like to continue using it. Even though Microsoft claims it is unsupported after October 10, the updater downloaded and installed Version 14.7.7 on October 16 without problems.
     
  18. dschmitty-o macrumors newbie

    dschmitty-o

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    #668
    I have six kids so welcome to the big family club!

    We use family sharing with six IDs right now, with a mix of adult, teen, and under-13.

    If you want to have multiple people use messenger, etc. on macOS then best to create separate accounts on the Mac. Then each person logs in to the mac using their own account, and within their account they can use their own Apple ID for messenger, etc.

    (On a side note, with a big family it's especially hard to monitor/control what your kids are doing online. I highly recommend Disney Circle.)
     
  19. bergvattne macrumors newbie

    bergvattne

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    #669
    I have a problem with three (2tb,3tb and4tb) external hard disks on my iMac/High Sierra. They would not show up on finder at startup and are impossible to read although they show up in Paragon settings. And there seem to be nothing wrong with them. Does anyone know something or have met the same problem?
     
  20. myuniqueworld macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    #670
    Hi everyone, just to let you know that little snitch 3.8 added compatibility for High Sierra. I just updated OSX and had in mind that I would need to buy a new LS licence, but it just worked. So I googled and found the release notes on ObDevs Website:

    https://www.obdev.at/products/littlesnitch/releasenotes3.html

    I can't edit the first post, probably because I'm too new (post count wise). If anyone could just add v3.8 next to v4.0 there, this might be helpful to some.
     
  21. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #671
    same manufacturer, or different ones? did this start immediately after installing HS? try resetting the SMC, and the PRAM (you can google for your specific mac model)....
     
  22. cdcastillo macrumors 6502a

    cdcastillo

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Location:
    The cesspit of civilization
    #672
    Adium, I hadn't thought of it in almost a decade! You made me smile...


    Mee too!, I have no problems launching Office 2011 in High sierra, altough I have it installed only for emergencies.



    Don't know about spotify, but I don't have any problems with slack version 2.8.2 (downloaded from the app store) and High sierra 10.13 (with supplemental update).
     
  23. ghostface147 macrumors 68020

    ghostface147

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    #673
    I can't update from the most recent public beta to 10.13.1. It never finds it, even when I removed my machine from the beta process.
     
  24. Ramic90 macrumors member

    Ramic90

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    #674
    How do I update from the latest beta (17B46a)? Not showing up on the Mac App Store.
     
  25. MarkPManning macrumors newbie

    MarkPManning

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    #675
    Splashtop Business & Splashtop Streamer, both v3.1.6.0, both work - I don't seem to be able to edit the original post.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page