Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

slawejandur95

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 20, 2020
This is probably something that can be set up easily but I'm still new to Apple Watch. I have a very specific way I want to use my watch.

I want to have all notifications come to my phone (calls, messages, etc.) and have them delivered silently on my watch. For example, I receive a message on my phone but when I feel like responding through my watch, I just pull the message from notification center and respond directly on my watch. The same goes for Messenger, Instagram, etc. Is it possible?

I want my watch to be silent at all times (no sounds, haptics, screen lighting up, etc.) but still be able to interact with notifications I get on my phone via the watch. Hope that makes sense! 90% of time I'd like to use it as a regular watch with fitness features, therefore I don't want it to interrupt me when I work.

Hope you'll help me, otherwise I'd have to say goodbye to my watch :/

deckard666

macrumors 65816
Jan 16, 2007
Falmouth
just use control centre on the watch and turn on theatre mode and silent mode ?

IMG_6189.jpeg

• Love
Reactions: slawejandur95

slawejandur95

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 20, 2020

deckard666

macrumors 65816
Jan 16, 2007
Falmouth
No the watch settings dont affect the phone - leave theatre mode off then as otherwise you will have to tap the screen or press the button to get the screen to light up and use but I think that means it will light the screen when you get a notification... I could be wrong as have AW6 and that was the only way to stop screen lighting up at night when I wear it to bed. I am sure someone will be along shortly to say if I am wrong..

Reactions: slawejandur95

slawejandur95

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 20, 2020