Max mini vs laptop (special circumstances)

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by bwvos, Sep 13, 2012.

  1. bwvos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #1
    I need some advice. I am legally blind (so I need a really big screen). I need a computer at work. I can't get internet at work because I'm a contractor and not an employee. I need a way to be able to transfer files between computers easily so I can work from work or from home. Could I use a Mac mini and 2 displays? I'd leave one display at work and one at home and simply transport the mini (and maybe an external DVD drive) back and forth. Now that the new Mac mini has an internal power source and thus has no "power brick" I would think it has become more portable. I already have an iMac from mid-2008. Could I use that as a display? What are my other options to get done what I need to get done?

    In summary, I need a computer at work where getting on the internet isn't an option. I need a way to be able to access files from work and home. A laptop screen isn't big enough for me because I'm visually impaired.

    HELP!!!
     
  2. greytmom macrumors 68040

    greytmom

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #2
    I think your plan to simply carry the mini back and forth will work just fine.

    But it's absolutely crazy that you can't get the company to provide you with a computer at work. It doesn't matter that you are a contractor. If they are paying you to do a job and that job requires a computer, they should give you access to one.
     
  3. bwvos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #3
    I should point out that I work inside a US Post Office sorting facility. I operate all the vending machines in the building. Technically I am self-employed. They don't pay me anything, I just get whatever money the postal workers put in the vending machines, but as far as their computer network system is concerned, I'm considered an "outside contractor" and so I'm not allowed onto their network.
     
  4. theRAMman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    The Moon.
    #4
    if your just managing vending machines why do you need a computer?!
     
  5. bwvos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #5
    RamMan...because I manage over 50 vending machines in a 9-acre facility with more than 1000 employees that operates 24/7/365. I use computers for ordering, inventory management, machine troubleshooting, creating promotional flyers, and wasting time in my office listening to iTunes.
     
  6. Mojo1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #6
    At least they provide office space!

    Does your Mac communicate with the vending machines wirelessly? I have no idea if it is even possible but I've noticed some whiz-bang digital vending machines lately...

    So what is the #1 snack of the post office employees? I am going to guess that it is Nacho Cheese Doritos... :p

    BTW, here is a thread that may answer your question regarding using your 2008 iMac
    as an external display:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=484127
     
  7. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #7
    an other way is 2x 2011 or newr imacs. one at home and one in the post office. use this the 'lacie little big disc ' as an external booter. bring back and forth home to work. all info is on the LBD. THE INTERNAL hdd at each place is just a back up clone
     
  8. mwhities macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #8
    Damn you for "" that... I had to search and now I want one. GAH! I can't get crap until next month after my trip. :|
     
  9. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #9
    sorry but the op could make good use of it.
     
  10. mwhities macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #10
    Yes, very good use of it and from what I've read (just now), it'll be worth it and will work great. I plan do do about the samething.

    OP, let us know how it works for you if you decide to use it.
     
  11. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #11
    That is VERY true. There are ways to get onto a USG network but you probably don't qualify.
     
  12. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #12
    I would get a wireless contract if I were you.
     
  13. bwvos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #13
    Is the iMac (or the Mac mini, for that matter) able to access mobile wireless (AT&T, Verizon, etc.) the same way a laptop would, or do I need some special equipment (like a router or something)? If that's the case, I'll probably just move my 2008 iMac to work & get a top-spec new one for home.
     
  14. mwhities macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #14
    Get the Air card from whatever provider. There really is no difference between a laptop and desktop for this situation. You would connect to the providers data (cellular) connection so, you wouldn't need any extra hardware.
     
  15. bwvos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #15
    Lightbulb Moment

    I just had a lightbulb moment and came up with an unbelievably low-tech solution to my problem. What about another iMac and a big-ass flash drive? Sure, I won't be able to access the internet (unless I use the above-mentioned air-card or similar) but I would be able to transport files back and forth with no problem, right?
     
  16. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #16
    yes but do your research.


    do imacs use 16gb 32gb or 64gb plash cards?


    the answer is yes but older imacs may have a 16gb or a 32gb limit.


    a nice 64gb card


    http://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Ultra...3898&sr=8-3&keywords=sandisk+memory+card+64gb


    a nice 32gb card

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-list...ywords=sandisk+memory+card+32gb&condition=new


    lastly a good 16gb choice

    http://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Extre...3988&sr=1-7&keywords=sandisk+memory+card+16gb



    this says bigger then 32gb will work on a 2011 imac


    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3553#2


    so if you have 2 2011 imacs and the 64gb sandisk card i linked it should work
     

Share This Page