Memory from OWC

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by combatfisher, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. combatfisher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    Taiwan
    #1
    Did anyone have any problems with their memory from OWC (Macsales) ?

    I purchased 32 GB of RAM from them...it worked well for about 1 year...then about every 2 months I was having memory errors on my computer. I replaced my Mac Pro riser boards and still continued to have problems. It was starting to get expensive because I had to keep shipping it back to them overseas...then wait for about 1 month...then it would happen again.

    I ended up with 6-7 RMA's before I finally got fed up with the whole process and purchased another 32 GB from another company (so far so good)
     
  2. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #2
    I bought 2 sets of 8 GB (4 x 2 gb) over the last 3 years to give me 16 GB. The first set failed about a year later and was replaced, the 2nd failed 6 months later and were replaced too. Considering the high temperatures MP '08 RAM runs at I am happy to replace for free on their lifetime warranty. I only pay delivery and the Sales Tax for importing to the UK and can claim the duty back on proof of RMA.
     
  3. DarwinOSX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #3
    I've had issues with OWC replacing defective ram out of the box. They acted as if I was either lying or didn't know what i was talking about. The same thing happened to a friend of mine. I won't buy ram or anything else from them after this.
     
  4. Garamond macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    #4
    I was surprised to see such negative feedbacks about OWC, since I never had any problems - and find their support to be stellar.
     
  5. handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #5
    After 1.5 years, I had a 2gb stick fail. They replaced the pair, but did not send a matching pair. One of the sticks matched and I was good to go. When I called, they were shocked the macpro didn't like non matching pairs. Guess their tech support needs tech support.
     
  6. blunti macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #6
    so which brand/company would you guys suggest for rams?
     
  7. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #7
    in no particular order

    crucial/micron
    samsung
    hynix

    for sellers

    newegg

    superbiiz has a house brand supertalent if it has samsung or hynix or micron chips it is fine.

    provantage

    If you are an overseas buyer find a good seller in your country that handles hynix, samsung or micron/crucial ram. My success rate on the previous sticks is about
    198 for 200.
     
  8. blunti macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #8

    Thanks for the quick reply.
    I'm moving back to the States next month (so yea, I am overseas currently) and selling my 8 core here next week.
    Probably getting the 12 core since I cannot wait for the upgrade because of my work.

    Looking for triple-channel for the 12 core, what do you think about this :

    http://www.provantage.com/kingston-technology-ktd-pe313k3-24g~7KIN9100.htm

    Price looks good compared to owc. Not sure where the catch is.

    thanks


    ps:

    Compatibility Dell-PowerEdge Server:

    M610
    M710
    R610
    R710
    T610

    Dell-Precision Workstation:

    T5500
    T7500

    this is what the website says regarding these modules.
     
  9. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #9

    Attached Files:

  10. blunti macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #10
    thanks for the quick reply.

    I might consider these also. How come you're using them in pair in your hex?
    I mean why not use 3 for triple-channel?
     
  11. RebootD macrumors 6502a

    RebootD

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    #11
    Sorry to hear you had a bad experience with OWC. I've purchased RAM, hard drives, enclosures etc and never had an issue.
     
  12. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #12
    my hex is a single cpu 6 core
    so I used 4 sticks for a total of 32gb. my machine has 4 slots.


    in your case you need six sticks you are a dual cpu 12 core
     
  13. blunti macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #13
    Ahhh right. I saw your topic about the upgrade. nice job :)

    I thought 8x3 would do the job perfectly? I mean it's how my current octo is working... ?
     
  14. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #14
    the price was so good on the sticks I grabbed a fourth one. In your case 6 sticks should be just fine.
     
  15. blunti macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #15
    right but I mean that in my case 8gigsx3 should be just as good as 8gigsx6
    (im not talking about the amount, just the triple-channel thingy)
     

Share This Page