Mid-2010 Mac Pro 5,1 Major Power Issue

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dosdude1, Sep 30, 2016.

  1. dosdude1 macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #1
    I just recently acquired a Mid-2010 Mac Pro 5,1, and it is now having a major issue. When I initially got it (a few hours ago), it worked perfectly fine. However, after letting it sit awhile unattended (while I was in another room flashing an AMD Radeon HD 5870 graphics card I got for it), I come back to find it in the state you see it in these pictures... The Power LED is on, and both CPUA and CPUB Overtemp LEDs are lit red. There is no other activity whatsoever, no fans spinning, hard drive doesn't start, nothing. I then unplugged it, and plugged it back in, to find that it did this the instant I connected power to the machine's PSU. I tried jumping the SMC reset pads on the board, which also didn't do anything. It does not respond to the power button at all. I'm really at a loss here, so if anyone has any idea of what causes this issue, please let me know. This machine has a single 2.8GHz quad-core Xeon CPU (and single CPU board as well).[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #2
    My hope is you don't have a bad logic board, or even a botched CPU upgrade. Any lights on the processor board? I'm going to recommend some basic steps here, might help narrow it.

    SMC reset: (I know you touched the pads, but give it a hoot) Unplug the power cord from the back of the computer, wait 15-20 seconds. Plug it back in and you should see the two overtemp led's momentarily flash, that is normal. Press the power button, what happens? Does it hang on overtemp again?

    Remove the processor tray and try turning it on. What does it do? Better result? It might be time to take a closer look at the processor board by removing the heat sink and verifying the processor/thermal compound is good and no bent pins. Clean it up, new compound, reinstall.

    Could also reduce to "minimum system configuration"

    Disconnect all PCIe cards, hard drives, optical drive, airport, bluetooth, pram battery, PCIe fan, CPU tray, processor cage and disconnect front panel board. Basically, disconnect all cables from the logic board except the power supply. (page 34) http://tim.id.au/laptops/apple/macpro/macpro_mid2010.pdf. Basically you start the computer by touching the two pads, and start slowly verifying each component.
     
  3. dosdude1, Sep 30, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2016

    dosdude1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #3
    This is all it does, and doesn't change no matter which pads you short or what components are present in the system.
     
  4. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #4
    If you've tried all of the above with no change, and it does that as soon as you plug it in, it seems to me you're dealing with a failed logic board here. Can't imagine anything else that would cause that to happen.

    Can you contact the seller for a return?
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    My suggestion is don't do anything but contact the seller. If you damage anything by yourself, the seller will have reason not to refund.
     
  6. dosdude1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #6
    Ok, well this was interesting... I let it sit unplugged and without a PRAM battery installed, and when I plugged it in this morning, it started working! Been using it for about 20 minutes now without an issue.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 1, 2016 ---
    Nevermind, after about 30 minutes of use, the system just randomly shut off and did the exact same thing again. Since I didn't pay that much for this machine, I'm just going to order a new logic board, which should fix the issue hopefully.
     
  7. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #7
    That right there sounds like a failing/failed logic board :(. Just went through the same thing with my friends 2009. Had to get a new backplane board on eBay, so far so good. I was able to produce that same result for a week or two, but after that, nothing would happen at all: http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/4-1-power-issue.1991897/.

    If you can get it to stay on long enough and have access to apple hardware test, you could attempt to verify.
     
  8. dosdude1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #8
    Do you know if I can put a 2009 board in there? The 2009 ones are much cheaper, and they seem to be exactly the same. I read in some eBay listing, though, that the fans would run at full speed if I used an '09 board... Not sure what would cause that (maybe the 2010 CPU tray?) but it doesn't seem right.
     
  9. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #9
    Return it. You don't know what other problems it may be hiding.
     
  10. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #10
    They're close to the same but different with SMC firmware. A 2010 tray will not work on a 4,1 Backplane board and vice versa, a 2009 tray will not work on a 5,1 backplane board. Fans go crazy because of SMC.

    Agree with pastrychef
     
  11. dosdude1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #11
    I bought the machine as-is, as I intended to fix it if it had any issues... Luckily I found a new 2010 backplane board on eBay that works for a good price, so that should hopefully solve the issue.
     
  12. bplein macrumors 6502

    bplein

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX USA
    #12
    Have you considered that maybe the CPUs are overheating? Pull the heat sink off and check to ensure that there's thermal paste, that it's sitting correctly, etc. Maybe the CPU fan isn't working.

    If you can, let it cool down, boot it and immediately install smcfancontrol (or any other temperature monitoring tool) and watch the temp to see if it's reasonable all the way until it shuts down.
     
  13. dosdude1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    dosdude1

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #13
    It's not, this happens regardless of whether or not the CPU tray is installed, and usually happens when the system's cold.
     
  14. Philocetes macrumors regular

    Philocetes

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    #14
    When I added a usb hub to my mac pro 2010, it would start for about 3 seconds and then shut down fans and do nothing after that. Unplugging hub resolved it.
     
  15. jennymc, Aug 12, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017

    jennymc macrumors newbie

    jennymc

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    #15
    Hi,

    I have Mac pro mid 2010, 5,1 quad code model. It was working fine since 2010. few days back there was red light near CPU heatsink, but it disappeared when cleaned all dust and it start working again. Next morning when I switched on again, it's dead, no light, no sound, no fan movement, nothing is happening.
    • When connecting the Mac Pro to AC power, the LEDs for OVTMP CPUA and OVTMP CPUB briefly flashes red and also momentarily flash red immediately after the Mac Pro is disconnected from AC power ( note 1 & note 2, page no. 34 )
    • after pressing DIAG LED button on board, the 5V STBY LED illuminates
    This indicates the Power supply and Logic board is fine. The power button was giving problem from last 1-2 months, I need to press sometime 2-3 time to start the system.

    MAIN ISSUE
    I have tried to jump the SYS PWR pads to start the mac pro as (shown in the video, possibly on correct power-on pads), but no result. Can someone please suggest what is the best solution or what might be the main cause?

    here is the video link



    Thanks
     

Share This Page