Mid 2012 Mac Pro 5,1 Video Card Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mufasa804, Feb 8, 2016.

  1. Mufasa804 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    I would like some advice as to what video card I should get if I want more rendering and overall performance out of my Mac. I do a lot of editing in Adobe Premier and After Effects, is there a particular model that will work best for this?

    I was looking at the HD Sapphire 7950 but I'm not sure if this is the best option.

    Thank you for any advice!
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    $550 for a 7950, wow. That Mac Edition card is extremely overpriced for the performance. I would suggest looking at the Nvidia FAQ sticky: http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...out-nvidia-pc-non-efi-graphics-cards.1440150/

    I wish there was a similar consolidated thread for AMD cards, but there isn't.
     
  3. Mufasa804 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #3
    Thank you for your guidance! I was also looking at the EVGA GTX 680 but wasn't sure if that was any better.
     
  4. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #4
    GTX680 is an excellent card for Adobe Premier and After Effects as it's got CUDA acceleration which they both can take advantage of. You can also easily flash it yourself so that you have an Apple boot screen & it will run up to four monitors. A cheap bargain if your budget won't stretch to a GTX680 is the GTX570 which has similar performance to the GTX680 but runs a bit hotter & a bit noisier & cannot be flashed. You won't find either card new so look for used bargains on eBay.
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
  6. r6mile macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Did you not lose your second DVI port on your flashed 680 4GB with the latest OSX upgrade?

     
  7. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #7
    I probably did lose use of it, but it was not noticeable to me as I only used DisplayPort and 1 DVI at the time.
     

Share This Page