Missing disk space after deleting bootcamp windows partition?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by haven4ever, Mar 17, 2018.

  1. haven4ever macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I recently tried to create a windows partition on my mid-2011 Mac but made the mistake of trying to install from USB. I decided to delete the Bootcamp partition I created but DiskUtil now tells me that 200+GB of data are missing somewhere. I looked up some solutions but they all seemed quite specific or didn't work so not quite sure what to do here. I've included some logs for your reference (diskutil list, sudo gpt -vv -r show /dev/disk0, sudo gpt -vv -r show /dev/disk1). I've tried wiping the drive then reinstalling osx via system restore, as well as trying to make around 200GB into MSDOS so I can delete it via Bootcamp - it says its too small?

    I would appreciate any suggestions you may have.

    Thanks!
    haven4ever
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Follow my instructions in this post to boot to Internet recovery and erase the disk and reinstall the OS. You can skip the part in the middle about cs delete since you don't have a Fusion drive.
     
  3. haven4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    #3
    Thanks Weaselboy,

    I'm going through internet recovery, do you know if it can be done via standard recovery? Its hard to tell if its just taking long or if its hanging on the white apple logo screen.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    It needs to be done in Internet recovery. Otherwise in regular recovery you are booted to the same disk you are trying to erase, and that won't work.

    Do you get the spinning globe after selecting your wifi in Internet recovery?
     
  5. haven4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    #5
    I dont think I did, there was a spinning globe and a progress bar which finished and now its just the apple logo on a white background
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6

    Kinda like this? If it completes the download of the recovery utility, and the utility then won't even launch, you may have some other underlying issue going on here. How long did you wait?

    iu.jpeg
     
  7. haven4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    #7
    Yeah i sawt that screen first. I think its been 5-6 hours though I read some threads saying it can take around 12. The lack of a progress bar kinda irks me as im afraid resetting would just make me lose progress haha
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    What is your Internet speed like? The utility that gets downloaded is about 650MB, so unless you have super slow download speeds, it should be done by now I would think.

    Although, at this point, I guess there is no harm in giving it more time.
     
  9. haven4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    #9
    Its decent speed, I think ill give it a few more hours then try again with a wired connection.
     
  10. haven4ever, Mar 17, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2018

    haven4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    #10
    Hmm it completed and got to the console but now it says "Macintosh HD does not appear to be a valid Core Storage Logical Volume Group UUID or name"
    Should i try disk0 instead?

    *ignore im stupid and cant read haha*
     
  11. haven4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    #11
    Managed to fix it with your steps! Weirdly enough, some programs that could not be installed on case-sensitive drives are unavailable now though they could be installed before. Not a big problem though, thanks for your patience Weasel on helping me solve the issue!
     

Share This Page