MMS Beta 2 Thread! AT&T only!!!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by gigapocket1, Apr 2, 2009.

  1. gigapocket1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #1
    Okay.. i been reading all these other threads about MMS and how there getting them to work etc. but reading all that is getting a lil confusing since some of the people are on a different network.. etc.. It doesnt benefit most of us..
    If your mms is working or isnt working.. please post your setting and what u did to get it to work. If it is not working.. post those settings as well
    Main Questions
    Is your mms working?
    are u on a 8 gig or 16 gig..
    what location are u in the USA
    what plan are u on?
    did u restore from a backup?
    did u edit any files?

    My mms is not working
    im on a 16 gig
    i live in Memphis
    Im on the family unlimited messaging plan
    Did not edit any files
    came straight from 2.2.1 and did a restore from backup
     
  2. ViPa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #2
    1. yes
    2. 16gb
    3. NJ
    4. family plan with fam texting
    5. yes
    6. no
     
  3. Luke1robb macrumors 6502a

    Luke1robb

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA/Smithfield, RI
    #3
    1) MMS? No
    2) GB? 8
    3) Location? MA/RI
    4) Plan? 1500 individual texts
    5) Restore? No
    6) Edit any files? No
     
  4. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #4
    Is your mms working? Yes
    are u on a 8 gig or 16 gig.. 16GB
    what location are u in the USA Baltimore/DC
    what plan are u on? Family Plan with unlimited family messaging
    did u restore from a backup? Yes and no (2 phones, both work)
    did u edit any files? No
     
  5. Radam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    #5
    Is your mms working? no
    are u on a 8 gig or 16 gig.. 8gig
    what location are u in the USA Akron Ohio
    what plan are u on? non-iphone unlimited text plan
    did u restore from a backup? Yes


    seems almost random what is working. most people that have the mms working are pretty close to the east coast.
     
  6. Cru Jones macrumors newbie

    Cru Jones

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #6
    Is your mms working? No
    are u on a 8 gig or 16 gig? 16gb
    what location are u? NW Arkansas
    what plan are u on? Family Plan with unlimited family messaging
    did u restore from a backup? Yes and no (tried both ways)
    did u edit any files? Not yet
    are you terribly frustrated? YES
     
  7. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #7
    What got mine working was trying to send an MMS, it failed. Then turning off WiFi and rebooting the phone. Next time I tried to send one (with WiFi still off) it would send. I was able to receive too. It DOES NOT work for me if WiFi is on. Not sure why.
     
  8. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #8
    Check in Xcode's console log to see what is happening.
     
  9. stevial macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    #9
    I have the Answer

    You gotta Have 3.0 Beta 2 ofcourse (correction, i dont know if you have to have the beta 2)
    use the 3.5 AT&T Carrier version IPCC


    THis is the key , i can't stress this enough Set non-iphone Text messaging Package

    So you have to call up At&t and make sure that you dont have the iphone text messaging setup, even if you have the family plan.
     
  10. gigapocket1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #10
    So where do I get the 3.5 file and how do I go about applying it?
     
  11. richg916 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    #11
  12. stevial macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    #12
    its the standard version, that comes with the 3.0 beta 1 and 2, check you phone , go to setting about, scroll down to see the AT&T version, mine is 3.5.
     
  13. stevial macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    #13
    This thing works fawlessly once youhave the right settings

    Standard 3.5 Carrier IPCC
    And non-iphone text messaging plan of you have At&t.

    So far i have sent and recieve Audio files and Pictures

    and its quick
     
  14. shutter13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    #14
    Is your mms working? Yes
    are u on a 8 gig or 16 gig.. 8GB
    what location are u in the USA Cedar Key, FL
    what plan are u on? Family Plan with unlimited family messaging
    did u restore from a backup? no
    did u edit any files? No, not initially and it worked, used the US_att.ipcc file and it still works, and got the tethering option back and can edit the apn, password and username for the network.

    My MMS also worked on beta 1, although I had to use the US_att.ipcc file to get it working. Prior to the 3.0 beta I have been successfully sending MMS with swirlyMMS for about 3 months so I had no need to get anything changed on my account with AT&T. Mine works whether I have wifi turned on or not, works over edge, I have no 3G coverage in my area.
     
  15. gigapocket1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #15
    I'm on beta 2.. And I'm on AT&T 3.5..... Family text messaging plan...
     
  16. skwoytek macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    #16
    1) MMS? Send, yes. Receive, no (only tried from Verizon).
    2) GB? 16
    3) Location? San Diego, Ca.
    4) Plan? Family w/ unlimited messaging.
    5) Restore? No.
    6) Edit any files? No. Never.

    I don't think it matters, but I never loaded 3.0 Beta 1 - skipped straight to beta 2
     
  17. Aaleck macrumors 6502a

    Aaleck

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #17
    Looks like there is something more than what people think... will probably just have to wait till beta 3 to get everything worked out
     
  18. stevial macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    #18
    Again Fellas, ceheck with At&t to see how your phone is setup

    Even if you have the family plan, your iphone still might be setup with a i-phone text messaging provision, just ask them to set the iphone up as a non-iphone or a standard text messaging within the family plan.

    Some people get there's to work because whoever provisioned the phone with the family plan, just set them up with a standard text message family plan, they didnt single out the iphone and provision it with a i-iphone text message plan.


    I cant stress this enough if you want to get the mms working you have to check with At&t make sure that your phone itself is setup with non-iphone text messaging
     
  19. hazelgreene macrumors newbie

    hazelgreene

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #19
    Is your mms working? - Yes - I have received pictures, audio and video. I have sent pictures and audio.

    are u on a 8 gig or 16 gig.. - 16 gig 3G

    what location are u in the USA - Live in Los Angeles, CA - phone number is out of Florida.

    what plan are u on? - The unlimited Iphone text messaging plan. I never called ATT or changed anything.

    did u restore from a backup? - Yes, downloaded beta 1 and beta 2 from the developers page and then uploaded through itunes. Did not do a new phone upgrade. I was jailbroken before all of this.

    did u edit any files? - I did not edit any files or call ATT or do anything but upgrade to beta 2. In beta 1 my mms did not work.
     
  20. Devoid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #20
    MMS Working: No
    Phone: 16GB iPhone 3G
    Location: Seattle, WA
    Plan: Family unlimited text
    Restore: Yes twice, once from backup and once as new phone.
    Edits: None
     
  21. stevial macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    #21
    Also i should note

    I am in New york city and i used to get about 80% dropped Calls, i no longer get dropped calls after 3.0 beta #2
     
  22. Radam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    #22
    has anyone gotten this working without the family text messaging plan?
     
  23. Radam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    #23
    i did this last night, i called them and online it is showing that i have the standard unlimited messaging plan (non-iPhone) and i still can't do any mms
     
  24. stevial macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    #24
    Ok, do this send picture message to yourself, if it fails, go to the at&t website log in and check your data usage, look at the last text that you sent, check the phone number that it is being sent to. if it is Wap.cingular, or anything else besides your phone number or a 10 digit phone number then

    #1) you dont have the standard text messaging plan,

    #2) they will also be a column that shows you what type of data that is being used, the column should say text/Im Messaging, there should not be anything different , if you see internet/Medianet or anything else besides Text/Im Messaging, then you phone is not setup correctly .

    The messages should be going to actual phone numbers, not Wap.Cingular or 9634 or any other 4 digit numbers, should be a full 10 digit phone number

    I am telling you guys, its At&t trust me, as long as you have beta 2 with 3.5 ipcc carrier version on your phone, and standard text messaging plan (non-iphone) you will be golden.

    I myslef havs the unlimited text messaging plan non-iphone.
     
  25. Radam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    #25
    I can't check any of those settings because, I just changed my plan. It says tomorrow when my billing cycle restarts i will be able to.
     

Share This Page