Mojave & 32-bit app compatibility

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by Apple_Glen_UK, Mar 5, 2019.

  1. Apple_Glen_UK macrumors regular

    Apple_Glen_UK

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Location:
    West Sussex, England
    #1
    Apologies if this has been asked and answered elsewhere but I'm hoping someone can help with this.

    I upgraded from Sierra to Mojave about a month ago. When I turned on my Mac earlier I got the message below. I recently purchased a standalone version of Lightroom 6, as I mainly wanted it for cataloguing my photos and I like it just as it is. I am not interested in monthly subscriptions.

    Under my Applications, there is an Adobe Application Manager icon. My question is; as I do not use the Creative Cloud, can I delete this and the Adobe Application Manager folders? I don't want to delete anything and then have trouble with Lightroom 6.

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions/advice.

    Adone Application Manager Utilities.jpg
     
  2. mikzn macrumors 65816

    mikzn

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #2
    I think this is just a warning from the OS that this is an older app - and that Mojave is the last Apple OS that 32 bit apps will work with - this is not from Adobe - AFAIK

    I get the same warnings for a few apps - like office 2011 etc.

    It will keep nagging you - everytime you reboot and then open the app for the first time you will get this warning.
     
  3. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #3
    adobe has some 32bit software still floating about (support apps for the REAL ones); i would not delete anything that installed with lightroom if i were you (or at least, copy it elsewhere, then delete, then reboot, and open lightroom; if all is well, then... all is well. if not, put it back in Applications).
     
  4. BigBoy2018 macrumors 6502a

    BigBoy2018

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2018
    #4
    Hit 'OK' and ignore it. Nothing to see here. 32-bit apps will run just as before. The only issue will come if/when you upgrade to Mac OS 10.15. Then 32-bit apps will have a problem, or not work at all.
     
  5. macuser_123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    #5
    What's interesting is that I recently upgraded from 10.12 to 10.14, still using Office 2008, and based on my pre-upgrade research I was expecting to get this message when running Word 2008 but did not. I thought that maybe one of the 10.14 updates got rid of this nag message but I guess not, just I'm not getting it.
     
  6. Apple_Glen_UK thread starter macrumors regular

    Apple_Glen_UK

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Location:
    West Sussex, England
    #6
    Thanks for the info. Everything is still working fine so I won't worry about it.
     
  7. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #7
    it happens occasionally (i think i read that it comes up monthly?)... if you're on mojave, you will see it sometime when u open office 2008 (or any other 32bit app)...
     
  8. Haggers Suspended

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    #8
    I have just installed the Mojave 10.14.5 update and got a message that Garageband 6 may not work. Now I don't use garage band but, bugger me senseless, what is Apple doing when its own stuff does not work? Whatever happened to Apple's claims about seamless operation and compatibility of its products?
     
  9. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #9
    Garageband 6 dates to 2010. You can upgrade to the current version for free.
     
  10. Tech198 macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #10
    https://helpx.adobe.com/au/creative-suite/kb/aam-troubleshoot-download-install.html

    Adobe Application Manager is just a central location to manage, and update all adobe apps with creative cloud.
    I'd remove it, and see if it breaks anything. You can always add it back.

    Just like anything Apple pushes forward as the only way, the decision is not in one direction users are forced to hold back, and using 32 bit apps are a very good reason too. Unfortunately, its the only way.. But there will come a time that you may have no choice.

    32 bits don't have access to above 4Gig (i'm assuming), so that's one reason.. The other would be the kernel and everything else would be 64 bit.. and probably the third is most Apple's hardware come as standard with 8Gig nowdays.
     
  11. Haggers Suspended

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    #11
    Thanks. Pity they just didn't do that in the background.
     

Share This Page

10 March 5, 2019