Mojave cMP BootCamp ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MarkKiss, Oct 10, 2018.

  1. MarkKiss macrumors newbie

    MarkKiss

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester
    #1
    Hi,

    I have question I recently install Mojave to my cMP 5.1 and when I try install BootCamp it say " This Mac does not support Boot Camp "

    Thanks
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    This is exactly what it means. Your Mac doesn't support Bootcamp in Mojave.

    And your question is?
     
  3. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #3
    He's probably just surprised because Apple does not disclose anywhere (to my knowledge) that Boot Camp Assistant will be disabled on the 2010/2012 Mac Pro under Mojave. They really should publish a support article that lays out all the functionality cMP users will lose when they install Mojave. Most cMP owners don't obsessively follow this forum.
     
  4. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #4
    You don't need to use Boot Camp Assistant, either burn a Windows iso to a DVD (most reliable way) or make a bootable USB.

    I found that when installing Windows I had to pull all the other drives otherwise the installation process freaked out.

    Oh...and you'll need the Boot Camp Support Software files (link) once Windows is installed, off the top of my head I believe you need 5.1.5621.
     
  5. MarkKiss thread starter macrumors newbie

    MarkKiss

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester
    #5
    Thanks, I want to use BootCamp for occasional gaming.

    Is any way how to make BootCamp working / or use some dual boot for Windows 10 and for OSX Mojave ?
     
  6. Partridge macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #6
    I run windows off of a separate drive. It works. But if you don’t have an EFI card that supports boot screen it’s a pain because the easier way to get it to boot back into MacOS is to reset the PRAM.
     
  7. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    you can install windows on to a drive on your mac, just not with boot camp.
    there will be some problems to get past in use as windows wont be able to see your osx drive so dont set windows as the default drive unless you want to mess around.
    install windows with a DVD drive to save problems (USB can work but will give problems later potentially)

    to install pull all drives and PCI card apart from one GPU and destination drive for windows
    put in dvd to drive and install win
    once install done update & install drivers
    then you can re insert all your HD's and pci cards

    thats how i last did it at least ^^, like me hope you dont need to reinstall and think about imaging your fresh install if you ever want to save time :D

    edit ops im to slow to post
    don't try to install win on to the same drive as osx & if you do get stuck in windows you can also just pull the win drive or use a original mac gpu and alt startup
     
  8. MarkKiss thread starter macrumors newbie

    MarkKiss

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester
    #8
    Many thanks I will try
    --- Post Merged, Oct 10, 2018 ---
    I guess will be there same issue, but under high sierra in windows was option to select boot disk OSX / Windows but that was Boot Camp
     
  9. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #9
    If you have a GPU with a Mac EFI you can just hold 'Option' during boot and select whatever OS you want to use.

    If you don't have a GPU with a Mac EFI....read this.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    I bet you mean gaming in Windows (A operating system), but not Bootcamp (a software inside macOS).

    Windows always supported on Mac Pro 5,1 regardless is macOS exist or not. But Bootcamp depends on Apple's support.

    Anyway, follow post #9 and you should get what you want.
     

Share This Page

9 October 10, 2018