More memory

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ivanwi11iams, May 20, 2016.

Tags:
  1. ivanwi11iams Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    Since I'm still within my 'return' period with my iMac, I'm 'upgrading' it!
    New SSD (Samsung 256GB; will be upgraded to a 500GB SSD, later) has been cloned and running the OS. The 500GB SATA, will store data, etc. It will be interesting to see the speed when copying data between the SSD and SATA.

    In addition, I'm adding 8GB or memory to the iMac, too. Once done, to run some tests to see how fast this thing will be...
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    So are exchanging it for a model that has the SSD?
     
  3. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #3
    If you open the iMac to change the SSD, you will probably not be able to return it for credit.
     
  4. ivanwi11iams thread starter Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4

    No. I'm just going to use an SSD via USB 3.0. Seems to work well...
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    You original post was confusing, since you put return and upgrade in quotations and referenced the 14 day return period.

    Why not just exchange it for a model that has an SSD? I think selecting the model that best fits your needs is a more elegant and sensible option - that's just my $.02
     
  6. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #6
    It undoubtedly is a more elegant solution, as long as the OP has deep enough pockets to afford the crazy Apple price on SSD options!
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    256GB is 200 dollar upgrade on the base price, I think could be doable.
     
  8. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #8
    Sorry, I didn't notice his original, fairly modest storage requirements!
    To be honest, if I were him, I'd go for the Fusion drive option. He doesn't say which variant he has, but on my 27" iMac, the default is 128Gb SSD in the fusion, and that is more than enough to run the system stuff.
    I don't notice too much of a difference between my 512Gb SSD (only) on my last iMac and the 2Tb fusion on my latest late 2015 one.
     
  9. ivanwi11iams thread starter Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

Share This Page