MP5,1: New firmware on 10.13.4 MAS full installer: MP51.0085.B00 **OBSOLETE**

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tsialex, Mar 30, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tsialex, Mar 30, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2018

    tsialex macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1
    People please let this thread die, we had 5 BootROM updates after MP51.0085.B00.

    This thread is totally obsolete.


    IMG_0069.jpg Hey, anyone seen this too? Started to install 10.13.4 final, via USB pendrive on my SSD and the installer asked to install a new firmware.

    Edit:

    Confirmed. New firmware on Mac App Store 10.13.4 full installer: MP51.0085.B00

    • No release notes or more news about what changed on the new firmware. CPU microcode still not updated for mitigation of Meltdown/Spectre.

    • You can download the full installer on MAS and run it to just update the firmware, without reinstalling or installing High Sierra. You will need a Mac EFI supported GPU to update the firmware.

    Note:

    If you try to update the firmware with createinstallmedia pen drive, seems the installer has a bug and can't bless the firmware and shutdown the Mac Pro to kickstart the firmware update, at least on on my two Mac Pros. To be safe, run the installer on macOS to upgrade the firmware.
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Did you ever install High Sierra on your 5,1?
     
  3. PowerMike G5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #3
    If you haven't installed any version of High Sierra on your machine, then this will come up. It's been there and final since the original 10.13 installer I believe.
     
  4. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #4
    Yes, previously was testing 10.13.4b7.
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Thanks for the info.

    I've heard that there is a firmware upgrade from the full installer, but no reliable source yet. I will try to download that and see what happen.
     
  6. bsbeamer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #6
    did you ever install a non-beta version of High Sierra?
     
  7. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
    I'm getting prompted to update firmware if Iaunch the 10.13.4 installer on a 5,1 that's running non-beta 10.13.3. I'll do a test on a different system to see the before and after versions.
     
  8. tsialex, Mar 30, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #8
    I think the firmware installed, I’ll boot with other disk to check the version.
    Yes, all versions since 10.13.0.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 30, 2018 ---
    Weird, maybe I did something wrong but seems it didn’t upgrade the firmware, still on MP51.0084.B00. I have a RAID array, I’ll try again without it.
     
  9. bsbeamer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #9
    Humm... is this just something people with 4,1>5,1 machines are running into, or also happening with authentic 5,1? Do you have an EFI GPU installed?

    Will not be updating my authentic 5,1 until the NVIDIA web drivers are out. Will have the GTX 680 Mac Version on standby...
     
  10. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #10
    The firmware version goes from MP51.0084.B00 to MP51.0085.B00, but only from using the full installer, not updating.
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    Confirmed there is a firmware update. My current firmware is MP51.0084.B00.
    Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 23.47.50.jpg Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 23.46.42.jpg
    May be this is the reason why my appstore update failed. (I am now running with a non-flashed 1080Ti.
     
  12. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #12
    This is on a real 5,1 with an OEM Apple card in it.
     
  13. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #13
    indeed theres a new Firmware update with 10.13.4 I wonder what it brings? im going to boot into windows in a Bit and check if they updated the Microcode to patch spectre/meltdown

    interestingly I did the 10.13.4 update via the MAS and it did not prompt me to update the BootROM at any point, but downloading a full 10.13.4 installer and opening it, prompted me to update my BootROM before allowing me to continue.

    Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 16.45.35.png
     
  14. tsialex, Mar 30, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #14
    My HD7870 has EFI, worked well on previous firmware updates.

    Changed to my 4,1>5,1 without RAID array and with Apple GT120 GPU, starting now.
     
  15. bsbeamer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #15
  16. Mumford macrumors regular

    Mumford

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Location:
    Altadena, CA
    #16
    Confirmed. Updated from 10.13.4 beta to non-beta, no firmware update. Ran the HS installer and it prompted me to update the firmware. Went from 51.0084.B00 to 51.0085.B00. No idea what's new/fixed, but I know boot screens for RX 560 wasn't part of it.
     
  17. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #17
    Booted into windows and Ran a CPU-Z validation

    http://valid.x86.fr/gazlkh Old BootROM

    http://valid.x86.fr/hgeui0 New BootROM

    sadly it seems the Microcodes are the same between them so im not sure what has changed in this BootROM update

    I did notice my CPU-Z benchmark score is slightly lower on the new BootROM but that could be due to to a number of things.

    (I wonder if they fixed the Boot selector USB bug, i noticed in the Boot Selector if I unplugged a Bootable USB stick and plugged it back in it would not show up again in that USB port I wonder if anyone else has/had this issue?)
     
  18. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #18
    May be it’s related to the Meltdown and Spectre
     
  19. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #19
    Same problem, if I run the installer via USB boot on a createinstallmedia pendrive, it dosen't shutdown by himself - tested this time on my vanilla 4,1>5,1 with GT120.

    Something is wrong here, I'll try running the installer from macOS.

    Let's dream: NVMe boot…
     
  20. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  21. tsialex, Mar 30, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 68040

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #21
    Didn’t work from USB boot via createinstallmedia pendrive, but worked on both my 4,1>5,1 running the installer directly from macOS.

    Even with my AppleRAID 4-disk array present.

    Maybe the USB installer have some blessing/shutdown problem with my Mac Pros.
     
  22. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #22
    BTW out of curiosity has anyone tried booting from an NVMe drive with this Firmware Update? one can always be hopeful :D
     
  23. Susurs macrumors 6502a

    Susurs

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #23
    Any benchmark differences with new FW?
    ...Geekbench CPU scores before and after?
     
  24. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #24
    I will say no performance hit. My computer was not 100% idle when running this GB4, I can clearly see the time machine backup in progress. So, the multi cores performance may be tiny bit lower than the max we can see. But this tiny difference should be well within normal error zone. So, my personal conclusion is no performance hit for both CPU and GPU.
    Screen Shot 2018-03-31 at 04.47.38.jpg
    Ball 10.13.3 - 378.106 - B85.jpg
     
  25. Susurs macrumors 6502a

    Susurs

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page