MP5,1: Return of the microcodes (MP51.0089.B00)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tsialex, Jul 9, 2018.

  1. tsialex, Jul 9, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2018

    tsialex macrumors 65816

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #1
    High Sierra update to 10.13.6 has the much awaited Mac Pro 5,1 BootROM firmware upgrade on the full Mac App Store installer.

    Apple updated the Intel Xeon microcodes on MP51.0089.B00 BootROM to the April 2
    Microcode Update Guidance
    , but this microcodes are already superseded by July 3 Microcode Update Guidance.

    10.13.6_firmwareupdate.png MP51.0089.B00_noserials.png

    MP51.0085.B00 microcodes:
    MP51_0085_microcodes.png

    0085_Microcode_version_15.png

    MP51.0087.B00 missing all microcodes:
    MP51_0087_microcodes.png


    MP51.0089.B00 microcodes:
    MP51_0089_microcodes.png

    Microcode_version_31.png

    You need to download and run the Mac App Store full installer.app for 10.13.6. Don't forget that a EFI supported GPU (Apple GT120/HD4870 with a 2009 or HD5770/HD5870 if a 2010/2012) is needed to do the upgrade of the BootROM. It will work with EFI flashed GPUs and For Mac models like Sapphire HD7950, eVGA GTX680 and Quadro 4000 Mac Edition too.

    Geekbench4 scores:


    10.13.6 0085:
    Geekbench4_0085.png
    10.13.6 0089:
    Geekbench4_0089.png
     
  2. handheldgames macrumors 65816

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
  3. bookemdano macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #3
    Awesome! I assume no other notable changes like NVMe booting :D
     
  4. tsialex thread starter macrumors 65816

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #4
    Screen Shot 2018-07-10 at 00.40.46.png
    No. SM951+AngelBirds Wings here.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 9, 2018 ---
    I don't have any NVMe drives with me now. Maybe someone with NVMe could check this.
     
  5. thornslack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
  6. handheldgames macrumors 65816

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #6
    The updated microcode, while patched, should slow down PCIe SSD's. I'm in no hurry to jump onboard. 0085 is still working very well for my needs.
     
  7. tsialex, Jul 9, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 65816

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #7
  8. MisterAndrew macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #8
    Not for me. Shows 1425 mb/s write and 1500 mb/s read with new firmware for single SSUBX.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 10, 2018 ---
    I found a simple way to output the microcode version only.

    "sysctl -a | grep microcode"

    From https://discussions.apple.com/thread/8232883.

    "sysctl -a | grep cpu" appears to give the same output as "sysctl machdep.cpu".
     
  9. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #9
  10. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #10
    Awesome Glad to see they fixed the Microcodes! it shows that Apple will listen to us :)

    its interesting to note that it looks like they pulled the C0/C1 microcodes but no MacPro4,1/5,1 shipped with that stepping of Nehalem CPUs (only some Early Production Core i7 Nehalem CPUs and ES Nehalem Xeons are C0/C1 so it dosent matter any) but they did leave in the ES Westmere Microcode LOL

    it will be interesting see how windows plays with this now official Apple microcode update (the MAS is still only showing 10.13.5 for me still :/ )

    im also curious how W3690s and other 206C2 and 106A5 CPUs that intel say dont get patched are handled...

    BTW while the new BR has Rev 30 seeing as your OS is loading 31 it means theres a even newer microcode it seems, I wonder what this one fixes and if we will get a 0090.B00 with it or not, or if this rev 31 Microcode is just for some OS level fix so not required to be in BR?

    BTW if you want to just see your microcode version you can run

    sysctl machdep.cpu.microcode_version

    I prefer doing sysctl machdep.cpu

    as it also tells us what CPUs we are dealing with here etc instead of having to waste more time asking that question if we are not sure :)
     
  11. fairbanx, Jul 10, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2018

    fairbanx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    Did run the test...

    inspectre_x5690.PNG

    Edit:
    For X5690
    machdep.cpu.microcode_version: 30
     
  12. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #12
    I managed to grab the 10.13.6 full installer finally and got my Mac Pro updated :)

    can confirm the new microcodes :) I was also able to Boot windows (an EFI installation of windows 10) with no issues with this update so I wonder why windows breaks when we manually insert the microcode. Apple must of tweaked more then Just the microcode...

    the InSpectre app was also reporting that I was fully patched as above. @h9826790 it would be interesting to see what your W3690 Mac Pro does with this Firmware update and if windows boot and if the inSpectre app reports your machine as fully protected or not? :)

    http://valid.x86.fr/3h452f here is a CPU-Z validation of the newest 0089.B00 BootROM notice the updated Microcode :)

    and just for reference heres a validation done while on 0087.B00 http://valid.x86.fr/s4hsqq
     
  13. Earl Urley macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #13
    If I update using the full 10.13.6 installer, will I have to re-do the NVMe DXE injection?
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    Yes, every time you do any firmware upgrade, you have to re-do the NVMe driver injection. Unless Apple provide that natively in the new firmware.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 10, 2018 ---
    I am out of town now. Will try that once I back home.
     
  15. MisterAndrew, Jul 10, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2018

    MisterAndrew macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #15
  16. tsialex thread starter macrumors 65816

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #16
  17. MisterAndrew macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #17
  18. bookemdano macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #18
    LOL, man after years of nada we've had... what, like 4? 5? updates in the last 12 months?

    Actually, I hope Apple takes their time with the next one, and in addition to the newest microcode, figures out how to get us boot screens with Mojave. NVMe and USB3 booting would be great too, but the boot screen thing is my biggest obstacle going forward (because I use FileVault on all my Macs).
     
  19. tsialex, Jul 10, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 65816

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #19
    Yep, 5 releases in less than 12 months and it'll need more…

    10.13 DP5 came with 0083 with initial APFS support
    10.13 DP6 came with 0084 with APFS support
    10.13.4 came with 0085 (Mojave DP1/DP2/PB1/DP3/PB2 too)
    10.13.5 came with 0087 missing the Intel Xeon microcodes
    10.13.6 came with 0089 updating to the Spectre mitigated microcodes on the April 2 Microcode Update Guidance.

    The July 3 Microcode Update Guidance updated again the microcodes used on MP5,1.

    Edit: forgot 0083, thx @LightBulbFun
     
  20. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #20
    there was also 0083 the initial APFS firmware which came with one of the High Sierra betas :) http://valid.x86.fr/7tltji

    this really is like buses you wait 7 years and 5 come along at "once" :D
     
  21. tsialex thread starter macrumors 65816

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #21
    Completely forgot 0083, thx! I'll edit there.
     
  22. MaxxT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    #22
    I just updated my mac pro (2012) to 10.13.6 through the App Store. However, my system firmware was not updated to 0089. It stays on 0087. Any advises would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. tsialex, Jul 10, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 65816

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #23
    Mac App Store delta updates or even Apple Support ComboUpdates don't install Mac Pro BootROM firmware updates. You have to download the full Mac App Store installer for High Sierra 10.13.6 and run it.

    Until now, Apple are only providing 10.13.6 full installer via Seed sucatalog. You can download it now via Installinstallmacos.py from GitHub.

    Screen Shot 2018-07-10 at 17.04.06.png

    To help people not used to downloading on GitHub, on installinstallmacos.py page, right click on Raw button and then Download Linked File.

    GitHub_Raw_DownloadLinkedFile.png



    Then run it with sudo:
    Code:
    sudo python Downloads/installinstallmacos.py
    
    installinstallmacos.py will download all necessary files, it will take some time ~5.3GB, and will create a sparse image file with 10.13.6 installer, click 2 times to mount it.

    SparseImageOpened.png

    Edit: to help people not used to GitHub/run python scripts.
     
  24. tpivette89 macrumors regular

    tpivette89

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    #24
    You have to download the full installer to get the firmware update. Run the installer, the firmware update will launch, then when finished updating, quit the installer
     
  25. MaxxT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    #25
    Thank you.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 10, 2018 ---
    Thank you
     

Share This Page