My First iMac Purchase

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Blujelly, Jun 5, 2016.

  1. Blujelly macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #1
    Good Morning all,

    I currently own a MBP (below signature) had a few problems with it recently.

    1: It's age has started to show it has been extremely slow, and day by day has bugged me. Loading applications would sometimes start with some time delay then other days take a while to load.

    2: The original HD failed a couple weeks back got a WD 750Gb stuck that in there. Ended up basically doing a bit of a spring clean, only transferring data from my TM of what i wanted and sticking it on there. Hasn't made a massive difference speed wise, but better then having all that clutter.

    So i decided to buy an iMac and this is what i went for. I will be adding 16Gb of RAM onto of the current 8Gb

    I'm thinking this? HyperX RAM


    27-inch iMac with Retina 5K display [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    • 3.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i5, Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
    • 8GB 1867MHz DDR3 SDRAM - two 4GB
    • 2TB Fusion Drive
    • AMD Radeon R9 M380 with 2GB video memory
    • Magic Mouse 2
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Congrats on your new machine. That's a nice model you picked up.

    I never heard of HyperX ram, so I cannot help you with that, I usually buy ram from companies I'm familiar with.
     
  3. Blujelly thread starter macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #3
    Thanks!

    I'm up for any advise you may have, always best to get a second opinion!
     
  4. TheBro72, Jun 5, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2016

    TheBro72 macrumors member

    TheBro72

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #4

    HyperX Ram is made by Kingston. In my Late 2015 machine I have 4 x 8GB (2133mHZ) and it's absolutely fine.
     
  5. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #5
    As mentioned above, it's made by Kingston. My experience with it has not been fully positive, though.
     
  6. Blujelly thread starter macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #6
    Oh dear! Just had a quick read through that thread.

    You have any others that would you consider using?
     
  7. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #7
    I was using Crucial RAM previously, never had any issues. But I'm sure it's possible to get a bad DIMM from any manufacturer, and I just happened to get unlucky with the HyperX.
     
  8. TheBro72 macrumors member

    TheBro72

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    I've used Kingston RAM in every Mac I've owned and honestly it's been fine. The only issue I had was that Amazon sent Kingston RAM for my latest iMac. The RAM fitted the slots but looked different to what was advertised. It didn't work at all. I simply exchanged it and the replacement RAM has been fine.

    Crucial RAM is supposed to be good, we use it in the iMacs at work (and I believe that's what Apple use), however you will pay through the nose for it.
     
  9. ivanwi11iams Contributor

    ivanwi11iams

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  10. Blujelly thread starter macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #10
    Yeah true I guess it could happen to anyone.

    I'll give the Kingston a go, if it doesn't work I can always send it back and start again.

    Thank you
     
  11. Blujelly thread starter macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #11
    And its arrived! Everything seems to be in order at the moment, currently just transferring data over (bit boring). Hopefully will be done soon and get really take it for a test drive!

    Still un-sure on the new keyboard though, might just take some time.
     
  12. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #12
    my $.02 is that I hate the small, cramped wireless keyboard.
     
  13. Blujelly thread starter macrumors 65816

    Blujelly

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Location:
    South East England
    #13
    Yeah i get the same feel, to be honest i have the old wireless keyboard. Something about the old one feels a bit better though
     
  14. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #14
    Yeah, I'm using an old keyboard, if I feel motivated, I'll go and buy a mechanical keyboard such as this: Matias keyboard

    Check out this thread Mechanical keyboards in the Mac Accessories forum
     

Share This Page