Native route tracking

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by spoa94, Jun 15, 2016.

  1. spoa94 macrumors 6502a

    spoa94

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #1
    I went for a bike ride today and when I finished I noticed the activity app shows my route. I however cannot tap on it to view. If just appears in a small window. Anyone else getting this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. exxxviii macrumors 65816

    exxxviii

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
  3. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    Interesting. I went for a run today and it didn't do this...will have to see if it does it next time. I had location service on too.
     
  4. silvetti macrumors 6502a

    silvetti

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    Only works with watchOS 3 and you need to be carrying your iPhone.
     
  5. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #6
    Batting1000 is also on wOS 3 beta.

    See, people, that's why it's important to state whether or not you're on the beta, including when replying so there's no confusion.
     
  6. Surftony macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #7
    I always run without my iPhone and the map is showing with relatively accurate route in my activity app. I can tell since I run along a river.

    Is there a possibility that AW is using wifi Access points to map your run even without an iPhone? Or GPS has been there since day 1?!

    I will try it again this weekend with a different route. I'm Running OS3
     
  7. silvetti macrumors 6502a

    silvetti

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    Please do further testing and let us know
     
  8. MichaelDT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    #9
    I also noticed this and can confirm. Twice this week I ran without my iPhone and it accurately mapped my routes both different routes.
     
  9. Surftony macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #10
    I just arrived from work, and I turned off my iPhone before starting my bike activity. I can see accurate tracking on the little Map, but no speed information. From what I see it would be hard to get such precise tracking without GPS... Maybe they use the accelerometer?
     
  10. MichaelDT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    #11
    It is possible. They already had algorithms to get pace and speed from the accelerometer so adding turns then overlaying it on the map would help correct the data. Making an extremely educated guess by the software as to your route.
     
  11. Surftony macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #12
    I can believe it works if it knows your start and end point, maybe via wifi. What I did to check then was going for a walk without my iPhone and start randomly an activity with my watch and stop it before I get in my home's wifi range. I tried 2-3 times and it always mapped perfectly my walk. Maybe the Watch uses wifi networks around to get location or OS 3 activates a built in GPS or A-GPS. Anyway, I am really happy to get the map feature for my runs, I was missing that feature since I no longer run with my phone. 6s Plus is way too big to be comfortable to run with!
     
  12. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #13
    Ran today and it worked. Didn't show the first time I ran with the beta though.
     
  13. jgelin macrumors 6502a

    jgelin

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Location:
    St Petersburg, FL
    #14
    Does any one have an idea as to how the watch is doing this in this new OS?
    I am quite curious as to how they implemented this behavior, and always thought that to get such functionality we would need to wait until the second generation of watch maybe with GPS built in.
    As such, I cannot wait to try this out this week and see how well it maps to my streets here.
     
  14. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #15
    I would like to know as well. The :apple:Watch doesn't have the compass' chip and an accelerometer can't differentiate turns from other random arm movements. Also accelerometers can't determine or even the approximate distance when biking (needs arm swing). Wonder if it is taking the starting point and the ending point and just 'mapping' the route between the 2.
     
  15. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #16
    I haven't gone without my phone yet, but I'd be curious if it works for what I do...I go back and forth between two spots several times rather than going from one location and ending at another.
     
  16. Bob190 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    #17
    I understand that the watch does have a gyroscope in addition to the accelerometer which I imagine could be used to determine direction.

    This is from the AW Technical Specs sections of Apple's support site:
    • Heart rate sensor, accelerometer, and gyroscope
     
  17. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #18
    No, the gyroscope can't determine your direction of travel or orientation in relation to a mapped direction like true or magnetic north. In order to determine direction you need a chip that uses the Hall effected and the :apple:Watch doesn't have this.
     
  18. BlueMoon63 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    #19
    I have got to try this because I can't believe it. I did test in my neighborhood and it worked, but it knows that route. I am going to drive to a different location without my phone. :) I would be shocked it worked.
     
  19. tkermit macrumors 68030

    tkermit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #20
    Only thing I could think of would be Wi-Fi triangulation
     
  20. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #21
    Me too because you may have hit on it knowing the route. For the test can you cut off your iPhone before you get to the new destination and leave in car (or better yet leave at home) and not cut it back on until after and you have driven off. Also a couple of questions.

    1) Are you biking or running?
    2) Is the route you are going to take on 'mapped' roads?
    3) If yes to #2 can you 'meander' off a bit so that it is not just filling in a mapped road?
    4) Is this area clear of all known possible Wi-Fi and hotspots?
    5) Do you have another GPS device like a Garmin to map the route to post comparison pics
     
  21. BlueMoon63 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    #22
    I won't even bring my phone in the car. I would be running and I live out in the woods so it would be a good test. The roads may be mapped but it is all country roads with no homes or very far away and outside city wifi
     
  22. MichaelDT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    #23
    I don't think it knows the route. I think it relies on knowing the starting place, downloading a map and it calculates from there, possibly wifi assisted. I stopped running a mile before home yesterday and ended the workout. It took 30 seconds after that for the route to pop up after I ended the run and was walking.
     
  23. BlueMoon63, Jun 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2016

    BlueMoon63 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    #24
    I can't say my first test was very scientific, but I left my phone behind and went to the next city over high school outdoor basketball court and set the workout to outdoor walk. No real reason for that, but I just went back and forth from one end to the other...

    Since I was just going to test for 10-15 minutes, it didn't add up to much but I finished the workout and when I got home, looked at the activity app on the iphone, the little route picture showed me at the school with the route just going back and forth on the same route. Not sure how it knew I was at the high school and all my back and forth and running down shots. It was spot on. Still don't know if I trust this yet. There wasn't any wi-ifi connection.
     
  24. Bob190 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    #25
    Has anyone checked to see if the map coordinates are being stored somewhere in HealthKit? This is very intriguing to say the least. Would really love to know exactly how this works and hopefully it makes it into the production release.
     

Share This Page