Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dmt43

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 28, 2023
Hi. I am new to Macrumors forum. New to Macbook! I am a lifelong computer Windows user, moving off Windows. I just setup my new Macbook Air. That went well. I have an Ipad and Iphone, so everything is the same as on Icloud. I downloaded the Migration Assistant to move my windows data - all I want is My Documents and Pictures. I did not want to duplicate/copy all the Windows data/files to the Mac.

When I selected what I wanted to move on the assistant, the next screen brought up a panel with my Windows account name and asked me to create a password for that account to set up on the Mac. I don’t want to do that, I already have a Mac account. Is there any way move only my documents and photos? I ordered a USB-C SSD for Time Machine backup and can format that has ExFat to move the data manually, will that work? (of course, it will be reformatted APFS for Time Machine). I thought of using Icloud or OneDrive (MS365 is loaded it on the Mac). But my documents is 35gb!!! I would not leave my data stored in the cloud either, only while moving it. That didn’t seem too appealing to me. I am just trying to find a way to move my data, can someone help me? I don’t understand the implications of what the Migration assistant is asking me to do in creating a new account and I don’t want to do that, unless I know what will happen. thank you!! Donna

hg.wells

macrumors 65816
Apr 1, 2013
Migration assistant is used for setting up a new Mac from scratch, straight out the box. It can’t move data into an existing account that’s already been set up.

If you are pretty tech savvy, and you know where all your data is stored on your pc. I’d strongly recommend using the external drive you’ve purchased for Time Machine exactly how you have said.