New to Mac, what's the best browser?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by blueicedj, Aug 15, 2007.

1. blueicedj macrumors 6502

I'm new to mac and have been hearing some bad things about safari...Currently I use firefox, which I really like as you can customize it and add things like stumble upon...
    What would you say is the best browser for macs?

2. risc macrumors 68030

risc

I use Safari for nearly everything, in those very rare occasions when it doesn't work as expected I use Camino.

3. GNice macrumors 6502

I just got my first mac about a week ago. First few days I split time between firefox and safari. I'm now primarily using firefox...just like the fact I can change themes and there are lots of add-ons. Safari is pretty nice though.

4. teflon macrumors 6502a

teflon

Firefox. There are a lot of add ons that will make your life easier, and there's more support for it (although that can change with Safari going to Windows).

5. ricgnzlzcr macrumors 6502a

ricgnzlzcr

I use camino for the most part and safari for the pages that it won't open. I don't know why but I feel that safari is more of a ram hog.

6. davidjearly macrumors 68020

davidjearly

I use Safari all the way. Never had a problem, and it runs faster than Firefox.

7. blueicedj thread starter macrumors 6502

what differences are there between firefox and camino?

8. Nermal Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member

Safari, Safari, Safari. Used it since the public beta and it's perfect.

9. maddav macrumors 6502

maddav

I use safari 99.9% of the time as it does pretty much everything that I need it to, though I have Firefox as some of my University network pages don't work with safari (2.0.4).

Oh, and I don't use Safari 3.x because my on-line banking isn't set up for it yet so I can't access it using that.

10. sk3pt1c macrumors 6502a

sk3pt1c

these are your options, as far as i'm concerned: