Nike Running w/Watch

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by thefredelement, Apr 29, 2015.

  1. thefredelement macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I saw some other threads with Map My Run but couldn't find any about using the Nike Run app.

    I just went for a run and tried both, they weren't accurate to each other and to be honest I never verified my results with the Nike app but it seemed pretty good when I ran around a track.

    I know the Nike app talks to the Health app, but does it talk to the activity app?

    Meaning, can I just use the Nike app and will it update the activity app or do I need to use both? Will I still get the benefit of the activity app recording my heart beat?

    I really don't want to give up the Nike app (though the music control in the nike running watch app watch sucks right now).
     
  2. JoEw macrumors 65816

    JoEw

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    #2
    I use Nike+ currently on my iPhone, have yet to find feedback about the watch app.
     
  3. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #3
    I assume that the Nike+ app no longer supports the foot pod?

    I have a Nike+ GPS watch with foot pod as I run on the treadmill often and this is the most accurate way to track a run.
     
  4. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    The :apple:Watch app is basically just a 'remote control' for the iPhone app.;)
     
  5. robboadam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #5
    I hate the Nike+ watch app, I've given up trying to get it to work.

    Firstly, I do my runs through the coach. Therefore, I need to control the run setup through my phone. But I still want to use my watch when I'm out running. I don't understand why they can't hand-off to each other.

    Secondly, even if I did do it out of the coach section and just went for a standard run, IT'S IN MILES! And I can't figure out a way to change this to Kms. We're not all based in the US.

    So I have this fancy new 'exercise' gadget on my wrist, and yet I'm still acting like a caveman running with my phone in my hand. Pathetic.
     
  6. Vundu macrumors 65816

    Vundu

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    Tried to use the phone app once and it was terrible. Easier to keep pulling my phone out and doing it on that.
     
  7. Alith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #7
    Starting a run on the phone causes the watch app to display your running metrics, or at least that's what it did the two times I've used it. You can then pause or end the run from the watch. Does that not work with the Coach feature? I've not used that before.

    I start my music from Spotify on the phone anyway so I didn't find it a problem to launch my run as well.
     
  8. robboadam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #8
    Oh, that's interesting. It wasn't doing it for me, I assumed it just wasn't supported. But I guess it's good that it is possible. I'll have a play around with it inside and outside of coach and see what happens.
     
  9. Alith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #9
    Yes it was a bit flaky but it does work eventually. Is your phone also in miles? I think you have to change the units in your Nike phone app profile if you want to switch to km.
     
  10. JoEw macrumors 65816

    JoEw

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    #10
    Weirdly enough, last time I used my foot pod, Apple had a special Nike+ app preinstalled in IOS for it. Had to go enable it in Settings somewhere to show up on homescreen. But independent from the one on the App store.
     
  11. thefredelement thread starter macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    So ditch Nike for the built in activity?

    I just have so much history on the Nike app, and I do like the coach feature as well.
     
  12. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #12
    The question is: is that app still there?
     
  13. thefredelement thread starter macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    Yes, just go to settings, all the way down, Nike + iPod, turn it on, it enables the app and you can connect the sensor.

    It doest work with the Nike + Running app on the app store though.
     
  14. Alith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #14
    You know you can manually add a run to Nike. That's what I did this week when I tested out the activity app (which I think is a lot better actually).

    I am looking forward to trying out the coach feature though. I have a training program starting in just under a month. Does it give you instructions during interval workouts?
     
  15. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #15
    Will it work with the watch though. I want the Apple Watch to replace my Nike+ GPS watch.
     
  16. lazyrighteye macrumors 68000

    lazyrighteye

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #16
    Dude. Breathe.
    Nike+ Running app > Settings > Accont > Units of measure. Crisis averted.

    That you couldn't figure out basic app settings (which is not a shot at you, at all - this stuff can quickly get complicated), does introduce a sliver of doubt into the rest of your "everything sucks" rant. Is it hardware/software/Apple/Nike/user error? I'll not be able to personally verify until late May when my Watch arrives. But it is something I'll be testing.

    Good luck.
     
  17. thefredelement thread starter macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #17
    No, it just tells you how to run your runs and reminds you of them with notifications.

    That's a good idea, I wish it was more automatic since Nike can write to Health
     
  18. robboadam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #18
    Sadly not. That's the one big thing that's missing. Which makes the apple watch (once I start using it now) a lifesaver cause it'll make looking out for those interval points a little bit easier.
     
  19. thefredelement thread starter macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #19
    Oh but now I see in the Health app that Nike can read Heart Rate data but I have no idea what that gets me.

    Honestly this is why I like the FuelBand, it's Fuel, you wear it, you run and that's it. This is turning into a complicated pain in the but.
     
  20. robboadam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #20
    Yeah, that's already in metric. I can get kms absolutely fine - and have been doing that since using it for the past few months - but I can't get it for the watch app.

    I'm not an 'everything sucks' kinda guy.......I guess I just imagined using my apple watch would be a little bit more simpler than it's turning out to be.
     
  21. Mad Mac Maniac macrumors 601

    Mad Mac Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    A little bit of here and a little bit of there.
    #21
    Yes I'm in the same boat with years of history, and currently using it to train for a half marathon. I won't receive my watch for another monthish (hopefully sooner!), so I'm hoping that most of these finer points will be worked out by then. If the synergistic benefits of the exercise app outweigh the benefits of my Nike+ history, I may just switch. My history/coach isn't that critical, but I'd like to keep it if possible.

    How does the exercise app work with mapping your run, variable speed, changes in elevations, etc? Does it do any of that?
     
  22. Alith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #22
    Do you mean that you want km in the watch Activity app, or the Nike watch app? If it's the activity app you want, just force press the screen on the run selection screens, to choose miles or km.
     
  23. imaginex20, Apr 29, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2015

    imaginex20 macrumors 65816

    imaginex20

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #23
    I just did this and it added a duplicate workout in the Health app.

    Edit: I went into Health app and deleted the duplicate entry. This is a good work around for me as I get to maintain my history in Nike+
     
  24. robboadam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #24
    So I currently have just the time of my run on the nike watch app. I wanna also see how far I've ran in kms. But it just has two icons giving me the time.

    Also, I apologise guys. I'm really not normally like this. I'm a tech savvy 21 yr old, but I'm failing this lol.
     
  25. Alith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #25
    Hmm. When I ran I'm sure it had pace, time and distance. Are you indoors testing this? Maybe you won't see distance until you are outside with a GPS signal and running.
     

Share This Page