Office apps upload blank docs to Google drive

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Frederiksberg, Feb 17, 2016.

  1. Frederiksberg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Location:
    Frederiksberg
    #1
    Now this might not be an iPad issue but I've only encountered it on my iPad Pro, so I thought I'd post it here.

    When I create a word document or a PowerPoint on my iPad Pro I try to save it to my google drive as that is where I store everything. But whenever I do this the document or presentation turns out to be blank in google drive. It's there but the size is usually 0 bytes and often it won't open. Sometimes it will, but then it's blank.
    This also happens if I open an older document, make alterations and save it back to google drive.

    Now, I don't know if this is a Microsoft Office issue, a Google drive issue or an iPad issue. Have any of you guys encountered this problem? I haven't been able to find anything online about it.

    If I email the document to myself and add it to Google Drive from there it just works. That's a very annoying workaround, though.
     
  2. Frederiksberg thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Location:
    Frederiksberg
    #2
    Am I really the only one who has this problem? Or should I post it somewhere else?
     
  3. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #3
    I've just tried this and exactly the same thing happened to me so it definitely looks like a bug somewhere.

    I tend to stick to the "native" storage for my apps (i.e. OneDrive or SharePoint for Office and Drive for Google Docs) and use CloudHQ to keep everything consolidated, but I understand that's not an option for everyone
     
  4. Frederiksberg thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Location:
    Frederiksberg
    #4
    Thanks for trying, Phil! It's nice to know that it's not just me. I completely understand your point on using the native app, and I've considered that, but isn't CloudHQ a little expensive?

    I better report the bug.
     
  5. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #5
    Yeah, CloudHQ is a bit expensive but I use it to consolidate loads of different accounts so find it good value for my needs
     

Share This Page