OK...so let's say I buy the new 17" MacBook Pro with a non-interchangeable battery...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Brad Trent, Jan 6, 2009.

1. Brad Trent macrumors member

...and being a photographer I find myself on location, as I ALWAYS am!!! The battery dies, as I ALWAYS does, 'cuz I shoot tethered and it takes a lotta juice to power a 33mp Leaf back!!! NOW WHAT DO I DO?!! Don't these Apple design geniuses EVER ask people like me how we use their products? If I'm out in East Jesus with no power, a laptop that doesn't have a spare battery is nothing more than a paper weight! And no...I don't wanna unscrew the case, remove the battery, pop in a replacement battery (and probably void my warranty, right), and take about ten stinking minutes to do so!!!

The 17" laptops have become the de-facto standard for location guys like me and now Apple goes and makes another boneheaded move by taking away interchangeable batteries?!! Jesus-H-Christ.........the stupidity is getting too much to take!

BT in NYC

2. lscangus macrumors 6502

get the MBP 15' or get two 17" So you dun have to change the battery.

I was once in a trip to Africa, where there are no power around me, i bought 360 Extra battery for my Macbook Pro, for a trip for 2 months. I have to book a container to ship those battery. A removable battery is reli important to me.

TBH, U can get the power from a car anyway.

3. detz macrumors 65816

I like it the way it is...they can't please everyone. Use a 15" if you don't like it.

4. Queen6 macrumors 603

Queen6

You just need a little imagination, take a Mag Safe connecter, say from the aircraft adapter and a compatible external battery, if its that important someone will make it happen ;).

Q-6

5. Brad Trent thread starter macrumors member

Great answer...really, really helpful.....keep up the good work!

BT in NYC

6. ChrisN macrumors 65816

ChrisN

7. InLikeALion macrumors 6502a