OS X 10.10 Yosemite: All The Little Things

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by WhackyNinja, Jun 2, 2014.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. MarsViolet macrumors 6502

    MarsViolet

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    #2576
    It fits in better with Jony Ive's visual design philosophy of hiding all necessary functionality.
     
  2. Sound214, Mar 23, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2015

    Sound214 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2577
    This is a very minor thing, but hasn't the "Finder version" always corresponded with the version of OS X? Now, with the beta released today, Finder says it has the version 10.10.4.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. zoff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #2578
    The Finder version number on your image is the same as in 10.10.3 (14D105g)
     
  4. Simplicated, Mar 23, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2015

    Simplicated macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #2579
    No it has not. Finder is just an app and the version numbers are separate. I still remember OS X 10.6.7 had Finder 10.6.8.
     
  5. Intelligent macrumors 6502a

    Intelligent

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #2580
    Interesting, it has indeed (for the last few updates, at least). I noticed the same thing, but its extremely close to showing the OS X version number (10.10.3 vs 10.10.4). I'd say it's just a bug/mistake.
     
  6. Fzang macrumors 65816

    Fzang

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    #2581
    Did the dictionary always contain Simplified Chinese <-> English, or was this just added? Probably not going to matter for most of people here though :eek:
     
  7. Simplicated macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #2582
    It's been there since Mavericks I think.
     
  8. treichert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Aachen, Germany
    #2583
    No, it simply is no longer version 10.10.3. It has nothing to do with OS X and never has. Whenever it was the same version as OS X it's basically a coincidence.
     
  9. antmarobel macrumors 6502

    antmarobel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Location:
    Brasília
    #2584
    It seems another beta preview was released today... 14D130a
     
  10. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #2585
    That was released April 2. On that topic I can't really see much difference. Same bugs, disappointing really.
     
  11. antmarobel macrumors 6502

    antmarobel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Location:
    Brasília
    #2586
    Nah!! Are you kidding!...It appeared to me only today!:eek:
     
  12. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #2587
    WhackyNinja : would you like the wiki updated with feature changes, and so on, in releases – 14A389, 14B25, 14C109 and so on?

    Apple's release notes, https://support.apple.com/ht204210 for example, are rarely comprehensive; and I don't expect https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OS_X_Yosemite to list all the little things …
     
  13. mr.bee macrumors 6502a

    mr.bee

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Location:
    Brussels, belgium
    #2588
    Don't know if it's already mentioned here but on a macbook, swiping four fingers down on a closed app in the dock shows the recently used documents. It works for pages, numbers, pixelmator, but doesn't seem to work for the excel beta.

    I found this by accident :D
     
  14. WhackyNinja thread starter macrumors 68000

    WhackyNinja

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Location:
    Kissimmee, FL
    #2589
    Yeah! Sure sorry I havent been active on here lately so go on ahead
     
  15. macintoshmac macrumors 68000

    macintoshmac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #2590
    Is this new? I am seeing this after 10.10.3 that there is a live status bar against a file being downloaded when you open a dialog box (Open, Save As, etc.)
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Tech198, Apr 16, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2015

    Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #2591
    ok ok...

    Small type issues:-

    - Cannot use existing Gmail password now. You must set up an iMAP account separately.

    - Personal ISP now is not auto discovered it once was in 10.9.5 (to some degree the port SSL settings were), but not in 10.10.3.... That's a blow... but nothing to loose sleep over (although i don't get that much anyway)
     
  17. Sound214 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2592
    In the beta build of 10.10.4 being released today, iBooks has been updated to version 1.2 (809), up from 1.1.1 (600) which has been the same since who knows when. I can't tell what's different, though (doesn't seem to include support for audiobooks, as in iOS 8.4).

    10.10.4 brings no change in build number for other apps, like Safari, Mail, Messages, App Store, Calendar, TextEdit, Disk Utility, FaceTime, Photos, Maps, Notes, Preview, or AirPort.
     
  18. Simplicated macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #2593
    I hope they made iBooks better. It sucks so bad I seriously doubt it was made by Apple.
     
  19. Takohashi macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #2594
    16 desktops in the Mission Control (OS X 10.10.3) — screen. It's new?
     
  20. Paradoxally macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #2595
    Seems like this 10.10.4 beta has worked wonders on my 13" rMBP - it runs cooler and WindowServer doesn't lag as much. Battery estimates are also higher.
     
  21. Simplicated macrumors 65816

    Simplicated

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #2596
    Been there since Lion. (or even Leopard which let you make a 4x4 grid of spaces)
     
  22. Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #2597
    Audio encoder...

    You won't believe your eyes.... (well, I didn't...)

    When u select/multiple video files and right click, you can choose to always "Encode selected video"

    Change to Yosemite. basic options, it looks like you can't choose to "delete files after encoding" and "choose your destination" anymore like you could in Mavericks...

    But just wait....

    click the green box to expand to full screen and volla .... "options" :) :cool:

    I would have never in a million years noticed this one it if wasn't for Apple.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Janichsan macrumors 65816

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #2598
    Funky. I didn't know you could encode videos from the Finder. By the way, I found that you can simply resize that window by dragging the borders. That also reveals the options.
     
  24. zoff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #2599
    Where is the option to encode from Finder?
     
  25. Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #2600
    Its from Finder, but on context menu when you select a video/or multiple..... Option there is "encode selected video"
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page