iPhone Panorama taken on iPhone 4S

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by nonamelive, Sep 12, 2012.

  1. nonamelive macrumors member

    nonamelive

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    This photo was taken by an iPhone 4S running on iOS 6 with Panorama.

    Dimension is 10800 × 2514 and the file size is 18M. It is pretty damn awesome. :D

    [​IMG]
     
  2. michaelfields macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #2
    That's sick!
     
  3. 8a22a macrumors 6502a

    8a22a

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
  4. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #5
  5. KeanosMagicHat macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    #6
    Pretty damn awesome indeed . . . .
     
  6. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #7
    4S only.

    Not 4.
     
  7. Nikos macrumors 68000

    Nikos

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    New York
  8. sixteen12 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #9
    [/COLOR]
    That's awesome, I'm glad Apple waited to make sure it worked perfectly. The panorama mode on my SGS2 has so many odd aberrations from trying to stich the individual pictures together.
     
  9. zub3qin macrumors 65816

    zub3qin

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #10
    Is iOS Panorama any better than Dermander/DMD app?
     
  10. Oliver G macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  11. throys macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #12
    very nice pic, but 18mb that will kill all the 16gb Iphone 4s users.
     
  12. ChelseaJK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
  13. iregret macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    #14
    I assume panoramic pictures don't make it into photo stream. File size to large?
     
  14. SimonTheSoundMa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #15
    It makes it in. :)
     
  15. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #16
    It's really impressive how it does it ... and the speed it processes images.
     
  16. Netherscourge macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #17
    1. It's free because it's just software using the existing camera.

    2. It's also for the iPod Touch 5. Pretty much any iPhone/iPod with an A5 or better CPU in it.

    3. It's NOT for the iPhone 4 or 3GS - you need a multi-core CPU for it.
     
  17. mattpreston11 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #18
    [​IMG]


    Photobucket pulled it down to 100kb though.

    ----------

    Will try this next time I'm at Anfield :D
     
  18. throys macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #19
  19. brylliant macrumors regular

    brylliant

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #20
    Phil said that Panoramas taken on iPhone 5 are 28 megapixels. Is it also 28MP on iPhone 4S?
     
  20. Tom8 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #21
    No, he said that photo he showed on the screen, the landscape of the bridge, was 28MP, not all panoramic photos are 28MP
     
  21. Tech198, Sep 13, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2012

    Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #22
    Panomama

    So this does works on the 4s? What about the new ipad?

    Conflicting info here on Apples site.

    When readng this:

    http://www.apple.com/ios/whats-new/

    In the Notes section at the bottom of page it states:-

    6. Panorama is available on iPhone 4S, iPhone 5, and iPod touch (5th generation).

    But NOT the iPad 3

    But then @ http://www.apple.com/iphone/built-in-apps/

    It says.....

    "Shoot panorama photos.
    Capture more of what you see with the new panorama feature. Just tap to shoot and move the camera across the scene — up to 240 degrees. The gyroscope, A6 chip, and Camera app work together to create one seamless shot. And with a resolution of up to 28 megapixels, every shot is stunning."

    This almost sounds like it needs the A6 chip for Panorama.

    I don't by this... *As it can't be THAT intensive.... Its only joining shots.
     
  22. mattpreston11 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    #23
    Seriously it works fine on the 4S.

    As usual, Apple aren't the first to do things, but they sure do it best.
     
  23. ASKendrew macrumors 6502

    ASKendrew

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #24
    Awesome. Can't wait to take some of these on the iPhone 5!
     

Share This Page