Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rusticmountain

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 20, 2018
I have a Powerbook G3 Lombard / Bronze keyboard with the following specifications:

400MHz processor

128GB Hard Drive

512MB RAM

OS X 10.4.11

OS 9.2.2

I've read online that this model will play DVD's only if booted into the classic Mac OS (8.6-9.2.2). This is because the 400MHz model includes onboard MPEG-2 decoding.

I've tried to watch a DVD by booting into classic mode (OS 9.2.2) while in OS X, but I just get this message:

"That application or control panel is not supported by Classic."

I've also tried to watch a DVD by booting directly into OS 9.2.2, but this just gives me an error message that reads:

"This Macintosh does not support the Apple DVD Player. Error number (301)."

I even tried watching a DVD while booted only into OS X, but get an error message that reads:

"There was an initialization error. The current machine or system configuration is not supported. [-70013]"

QUESTION: Does anyone know how I can watch DVD's on my Powerbook G3 Lombard? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

rusticmountain

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 20, 2018
It might be worth trying an older version of VLC, version 0.9.5 should do the job in Tiger.

Thanks for the suggestion!

That said, I tried VLC as you suggested and it did NOT work. I could hear the sound of the DVD (although it had a bit of stutter), but no picture.

What I've read is that this computer NEEDS to be booted into OS 9 classic to watch DVD's. Unfortunately, there is no VLC for OS 9 :(.

Any other suggestions out there?
[doublepost=1521668348][/doublepost]I'm planning to try reinstalling the OS 9 version of the DVD Player via http://macintoshgarden.org/apps/apple-dvd-player
and see if that helps. (suggested by another macrumors forum member elsewhere). I'll update later...

bobesch

macrumors 68020
Oct 21, 2015