PowerPC Linux support to continue in Debian Ports

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by swamprock, Jul 21, 2018.

  1. swamprock, Jul 21, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2018

    swamprock macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    Debian PPC Status Update

    Support will continue, but has been migrated to Debian Ports and users must run unstable (Sid). I just downloaded the net-install iso and will be doing some testing...

    EDIT: If you use the iso instead of upgrading your Jessie install, be prepared to download the debian ports keyring on another system and copying it via ssh/scp, as wget isn't installed by default, and you will not be able to connect to any repositories listed without this key.Barring that, you *may* be able to copy the keyring deb to a usb drive and mount it to copy it over...
     
  2. DearthnVader macrumors 6502a

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #2
    Do you have a link to the net install?
     
  3. swamprock thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
  4. z970mp, Jul 22, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2018

    z970mp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #4
    On both an upgraded Jessie install and one from a Sid net install, it doesn't appear ftp.ports.debian.org supports PowerPC Sid. Kept getting either an "unable to resolve" error, or a suggestion from the net installer that the mirror doesn't support the correct Debian version, yet it seems the guy on PowerPC Liberation was managing fine.

    Ideas?

    EDIT: Solved this by entering ftp.ports.debian.org/debian-ports/ unstable main (coupled with unreleased main) into sources.list in a new Sid install using Nano.
     
  5. z970mp, Jul 22, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2018

    z970mp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #5
    @swamprock I've found that a good solution is to boot into another live desktop to download .deb packages, place them in the installed system's /home/user/ directory (or technically any other place), boot back into the installed system, then navigate to said directory and use dpkg -i *.deb to install the packages.

    Works every time.

    EDIT: It's how I just installed the May 2018 ports archive keyring to my Sid install. Very easy. :D
     
  6. swamprock, Jul 23, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2018

    swamprock thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    The Security repositories don't seem to work with the PowerPC port. I don't know how B-Rock got it working, but it just errors out with a "not found" error here. I just commented those out.

    EDIT: They never worked in the first place. I misread b-rock's original post.

    --- Post Merged, Jul 23, 2018 ---
    I originally dug out my old Ubuntu 12.04 Live CD and did the same thing. I also had to fix a yaboot.conf goof that I made and used the same CD. Now I find it easier and faster to just copy it via scp/ssh, rather than wait ten minutes for the live CD to boot.

    Oh... don't install Plymouth, whatever you do. It'll hose your install in its present form...
     
  7. z970mp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #7
    How do you go about doing that, if I may ask?
     
  8. swamprock, Jul 23, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2018

    swamprock thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    Turn on Remote Login under Sharing on your Mac running macOS/OS X and add your user name. Download the keyring or whatever you need on the Mac, then from the linux machine type: scp <username>@<ip addy of Mac>:/Users/<username>/Downloads/<name of file> /home/<username on linux machine>. This obviously works best when both machines are on the same network, and you use a local IP.

    Type yes when it asks if this is ok. Enter password and done.
     
  9. Macbookprodude macrumors regular

    Macbookprodude

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Location:
    ЗША
    #9
    Its good to see PowerPC Linux is growing.
     
  10. z970mp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #10
    ...And it's back again saying it could not resolve http://ftp.ports.debian.org/debian-ports/ unstable [and] unreleased main.

    Seriously, does this not affect anybody else? It's not the security repositories, it's the main feeders.
     
  11. swamprock, Jul 23, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2018

    swamprock thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #11
    Video playback is currently broken with this distribution. Everything (vlc, mpv, ffplay) crashes with illegal instruction errors, which tells me that either the video apps are compiled with the wrong (or missing) flags, or it's a kernel issue. YouTube will not work in any browsers either, giving playback errors.

    EDIT: mplayer will play 360p mp4 video with sound, using the command line (and lavdopts switches). Using any gui app will cause mplayer to crash unless you configure it to use ffmpeg with the command line switches. Turns out that there's no xv support, and mplayer uses ffmpeg for the mp4 codec.

    --- Post Merged, Jul 23, 2018 ---
    They're working for me, although I had an issue with them earlier. Maybe the repos are up and down at the moment...?
     
  12. z970mp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #12
    I wonder if something about Sid is confused with the two Ethernet ports on the late 2005 G5s. Port 1 was the one that typically worked, but it only acknowledged it was "connected" when it was plugged via Port 2, but that connection didn't work...
     
  13. swamprock, Jul 24, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2018

    swamprock thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #13
    Add "deb [arch=all] http://ftp.debian.org/debian unstable contrib non-free" to your sources.list to install non-free AMD or Nvidia firmware (firmware-linux-nonfree). Of course, you'll need "radeon.agpmode=-1" once again to keep your system stable with Radeon cards. I find boots-to-desktop to be much faster with the firmware installed, and am exploring other advantages.

    EDIT: Full-screen 360p video in mplayer is MUCH smoother with the Radeon firmware installed. All video, in fact, is much smoother in 360p, without having to use any framedrops or other command line switches. VLC plays the videos now, but audio only (still investigating why *FIXED*- forgot to set the output format in preferences. I set it to xv and it works great). mpv no longer crashes and plays the videos perfectly. Seems the firmware was the missing ingredient. However, 720p is a choppy no-go on my 1.33ghz iBook G4, and videos are still broken in browsers.

    EDIT 2: I neglected to mention my setup. I'm running Debian Sid from Debian Ports on my iBook G4 1.33ghz/1.5gb RAM/60gb spinner HDD with LightDM, Openbox, Plank, Midori, LuaKit, YouTube-DL, YouTube-DL-GUI, and a few video apps.

    EDIT 3: Plymouth now works with the Radeon firmware installed. Be sure to edit
    /etc/initramfs-tools/modules and add the lines "DRM" and "radeon modeset=1", and then "
    update-initramfs -u" if you want to see the graphical boot screen on boot up instead of only during shutdown. This isn't needed if you're using a text-based boot screen theme. More details on how to set up Plymouth found here: https://miguelmenendez.pro/en/artic...hical-boot-animation-while-boot-shutdown.html
     
  14. Traace, Jul 29, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2018

    Traace macrumors member

    Traace

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Location:
    Germany
    #14
    I tried to install debian 10 ppc64 netboot to a iMac G5

    The installation was sucessful without using any mirrors.

    Now yaboot stuck at: "Unknown or corrupt file system"

    ext4 partition for System
    Swap partiton
    new world rom partition with yaboot

    ------------------------------------
    Booted into open firmware: Yaboot is found in devalias HD

    IDK whats wrong

    Can someone help me? :)
     
  15. z970mp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #15
    Did you do the automatic partitioning, as in go through the installer the laziest way possible?

    Or did you set the partitions and parts up yourself?
     
  16. Traace, Jul 29, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2018

    Traace macrumors member

    Traace

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Location:
    Germany
    #16
    Thanks for your answer :)

    I set the partitions by myself. 1TB Drive (Forced 1,5GBit/s), currently like this:

    OSX:
    1. Apple Partition
    2. OSX 10.5
    3. OSX 10.5 DATA
    4. OSX 10.4

    Linux:
    5. NewWorld Boot Rom Partition (1 MB)
    6. Debian rootfs / [ext4] (250 GB)
    7. Swap (7 GB)

    Edit: I try bootup the install cd again and setup yaboot manual
     
  17. z970mp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #17
    Hm. From my experiences, PowerPC Linux has to take precedence over OS X installs, so what you could do, is:

    Linux:
    1. NewWorld Boot Rom Partition (1 MB)
    2. Debian rootfs / [ext4] (250 GB)
    3. Swap (7 GB)[/QUOTE]

    OSX:
    4. Apple Partition
    5. OSX 10.5
    6. OSX 10.5 DATA
    7. OSX 10.4

    See how that works out. It should run.
     
  18. Traace, Jul 30, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2018

    Traace macrumors member

    Traace

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Location:
    Germany
    #18
    Okay I finally was able to install & boot with a older jessie install.

    Upgrade to sid went fine, but now I cant install any GUI I like.

    "apt-get install xfce4" error: Depends: xfdesktop4 (>= 4.12.0) but it is not going to be installed
    "apt-get install xfdesktop4" error: Depends: libthunarx-2-0 (>= 1.1.0) but it is not going to be installed
    "apt-get install libthunarx-2-0" error: Package is missing

    Debian sid has no package for libthunarx-2-0, there is only libthunarx-3-0

    When I try install Cinnamon, i get similar results, some depends are not build for debian sid powerpc.


    How is it possible to install a GUI? I just tried follow ppcluddite debian guide.
     
  19. swamprock, Jul 30, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2018

    swamprock thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #19
    I just built my DE from Openbox and had to use some workarounds to get the results I wanted, like installing Midori from Jessie-Backports (always dangerous, but it worked) and using old versions of fwcutter and b43-installer. I spent a lot of time enabling and then disabling older repositories to get the things I wanted. Other stuff, I just compiled on my own or scuffled around for downloads.

    They're still filling out the repository, so there are things missing and others being updated. Such is the life of using an unstable repository. gvfs is currently broken due to gvfs-common being updated (and nothing else), so mounting drives and connecting to networks via any file manager doesn't work in the traditional sense at the moment. Luckily, I had installed the older version before the update, as trying to compile and install it on a second testing machine led to dependency hell. I haven't bothered to check incoming, so there's one possibility if you know what you're doing.

    I know that budgie-desktop is fully available, if you don't mind a fork of Gnome 2. It's complete and has a macOS-like side panel notification plugin (Raven), so that could be fun to mess with. Info here- https://budgie-desktop.org/home/

    As an aside, I've been checking for updates at least 2-3 times a day. I'm attempting to get Clementine to play... well... anything, as the required gstreamer plugins are missing, and there's a slim possibility that one could get the Spotify plugin to work and connect to their servers. The program does install, and I was able to get the Subsonic plugin to work and connect to my server, but no music will play due to the missing plugins. This is my current mission...

    Here's a screenshot of my setup. Deepin was influential on how I setup and themed the DE, and the Deepin icon theme is actually available in sid unstable. I compiled an old version of Slingscold (a HUGE pain in the ass, but it worked in the end) for a Launchpad-like launcher and Skippy-XD for an Expose-like window switcher. Logout just uses obsession, which is built in to Openbox. I also modified a macOS theme for Openbox to use the flat traffic lights, but I'm a bit tired of those, so I used the Adwaita Revisited Dark OB theme with the Macterial window theme instead. Tint2 panel is there as well, but is hidden in the upper-right corner until toggled and only shows indicators for network, sound, Synapse, and notifications. Conky is an older version that I compiled to use my simple script (modified from ppcluddite's original script), as I can't get it to work with the new Conky lua syntax, and learning the new syntax is like watching paint dry:

    [​IMG]
     
  20. z970mp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #20
    That explains a lot.

    I wonder if networking will finally play nice...
     
  21. swamprock, Jul 30, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2018

    swamprock thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #21
    I really lucked out, as I noticed that they had updated gvfs-common the very next day, and it's currently being held back from upgrading. There must be some issues with building the rest of the gvfs packages, as it's been a week and it's still completely broken. I'm holding off on doing a non-testing install on my 12" Powerbook until this is sorted (although I could just clone my iBook drive and change the drive UUID in yaboot.conf, fix the bootloader, and change the firmware from AMD to nouveau; all from Busybox; but I'm not that much of a masochist). The good news is that the nouveau firmware works great with full acceleration.

    I haven't tested it, but I wonder if you could mount network drives in macOS/OS X, ssh into that machine, and grab files from those mounted shares via command line. There's always sftp as well...
     
  22. Traace, Jul 30, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2018

    Traace macrumors member

    Traace

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Location:
    Germany
    #22
    Okay it took a whole day, but I have a working & suitable desktop env with openbox. Thanks for your help :)

    my ob autostart is:
    rox --pinboard=Desktop &
    fbpanel &
    volumeicon &


    I understand debian sid is unstable branch... but idk whats going on.
    - Iceweasel is crashing on launch after I tried to download a wallpaper.
    [GFX1] Unknown image format
    __libc_start_main[/lib/powerpc-linux-gnu/libc.so.6 +0x22078
    Segmentation Fault

    -
    MPlayer crashes on launch too.
    error while loading shared libraries: R_PPC_REL24 relocation at 0x00e3d624 for symbole 'htonl' out of range

    -
    Same for SMTube
    Segmentation Fault
     
  23. swamprock thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #23
    Make sure that you install firmware-linux-nonfree from the debian non-free archive. I explained how to add it to your sources.list in post #13 above. Also, check that you have all of the gstreamer libs installed. Not sure what's going on with Iceweasel... why not download and use Firefox-ESR instead?

    If you want to use a decently fast browser, add Jessie Backports to your sources.list and install Midori by using "sudo apt-get -t jessie-backports install midori". Disable backports as soon as it's installed. You can also download the source code for, and compile luakit, as it works well in sid too.
     
  24. z970mp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #24
    This thread is turning out to be immensely helpful.

    Glad we have projects like this.
     
  25. Traace, Jul 31, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2018

    Traace macrumors member

    Traace

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Location:
    Germany
    #25
    Thanks for the tipp :) I purged iceweasel and mozilla profile. Installed firmware-linux-nonfree even while I dont need it for nvidia.... and all gstreamer libs + base and rebooted.

    Kernel is up to date: 4.17.0-1-powerpc64

    Now i tried it with Firefox-ESR. When I download a picture, it crashs again: this error appears
    ###!!! ABORT: Aborting on channel error.: file /build/firefox-esr-GyDZMh/firefox-52.9.0esr/ipc/glue/MessageChannel.cpp, line 2152
    Segmentation fault

    MPlayer:
    Same error as in posting above

    SMtube:
    Same error as in posting above


    I try to report this bugs to debian bug tracker soon, but I don't understand how to use it yet.
     

Share This Page