Prepaid iPhone SE as iPod Touch?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ApplePersonFreak, Jul 28, 2017.

  1. ApplePersonFreak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    #1
    *If this is in the wrong place, please move to the correct location. Thanks!*

    There are so many good deals out there on iPhone SE's (like the total wireless for $159) and I'm thinking about buying one of those and using it as an iPod Touch. Would they work at all? My only concern is getting past the SIM card part of the set up process. I know with an unlocked phone, as long as you have a SIM Card in there, you can bypass it and then take it out after you pass that screen. With these phones, since they are locked with that particular service, are you able to just insert the SIM Card that comes with it and by pass it? I have an iPhone 7 with a VZW SIM but I'm not sure if that'll work.
     
  2. Relentless Power macrumors G4

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #2
    All Verizon phones are unlocked. So with this iPhone SE being locked to particular service, you might need to use a Sim from an opposing carrier to put it in to bypass the activation and then you should be able to use it as an iPod touch.
     
  3. ApplePersonFreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    #3
    Hmm interesting. So say if I had like a T-Mobile SIM it would bypass it?
     
  4. Relentless Power macrumors G4

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #4
    Try it and see if it works. I'm Curious to know.
     
  5. Paddle1 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #5
    For locked iPhones, you have to insert a SIM for the carrier it is locked to.
     
  6. Starfia macrumors 6502

    Starfia

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    #6
    I've only ever used iPhones as iPod touches – I'm on my third now. in my experience you have to have a SIM inserted at all times (a used SIM from the appropriate carrier from someone else's contract works), but that's the only awful hoop. I started making sure I was using (ironically-named) SIM-free iPhones, but originally I made sure everything was single-carrier.
     
  7. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #7
    I’ve had AT&T iPhones and unlocked iPhones and with them you only need the SIM during activation.
    After activation you can remove the SIM and the only “hoop” is a nag screen after every boot saying there’s no SIM inserted.
     
  8. Reno Raines macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    #8
    This is what I just did recently. Went to Walmart and bought a straight talk 32gb iPhone 6. It came with a sim. I put the sim in and it activated the phone. I set the phone up and put my music on it and used it as an iPod touch for awhile. It worked fine. I never activated the sim to use. I then later took the straight talk sim I was using in my 5s and put it in the 6 and now it is a phone.
     
  9. ApplePersonFreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    #9
    Oh nice, so you bypassed the SIM screen just by inserting the SIM that came with it with no issues?
     
  10. Paddle1 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #10
    As long as the SIM is compatible it'll work. Service isn't required. I'd recommend keeping the SIM in it though unless you want deal with constant nagging "No SIM Card Installed" popups.

    Incompatible SIMs cause this to appear:
    [​IMG]
     
  11. ApplePersonFreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    #11
    Awesome. Do you know what it says when you have a compatible SIM but no service on it?
     
  12. Reno Raines macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    #12

    For me no issues whatsoever. It just could not make calls sans 911. I used it just fine as an iPod touch until I eventually put in my active straightalk sim and made it a phone.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 30, 2017 ---

    Mine showed the bars of service and 3G but just could not make a call. Sometimes I got a pop up telling me to call a number to activate my sim but other than calling it worked like an iPod touch on wifi.
     
  13. Paddle1, Jul 30, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2017

    Paddle1 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #13
    Setup completes as normal. It just says "No Service" in the top corner where the carrier name usually is. Or if it's connected to the carrier but not active it will do what Reno Raines said above. Otherwise, it's fully functional.
     
  14. SoN1NjA macrumors 65816

    SoN1NjA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Location:
    designing another cheap logo
    #14
    Yes! I saw the Austin Evan's video too, really thinking about jumping in on an SE at that price; too bad the carrier sucks...
     
  15. madrich macrumors regular

    madrich

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Location:
    World Class City of Chicago
    #15
    I have had the same idea, outlooking for the right price with T-Mobile sim
     
  16. Andy-UK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    #16
    This thing about using a iPhone as an iPod seems to come up a lot. Sure you can do it, but why would you? The iPod is thinner and lighter than an iPhone 5S and the 32gb A8 processor iPod is only $199 so why get stuck with something thicker, heavier, slower and with less storage capacity just to save yourself $40?
     
  17. SoN1NjA macrumors 65816

    SoN1NjA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Location:
    designing another cheap logo
    #17
    Because the iPhone SE has much better specs than the iPod, and the weight / size difference isn’t that much
     
  18. spyguy10709 macrumors 6502a

    spyguy10709

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
    #18
    Because the SE has an A9 chip, 32GB of storage in the base capacity, and a much better camera. And GPS, better microphones, better battery and a faster wifi chip... For $40 less than the ipod touch.
     
  19. SoN1NjA macrumors 65816

    SoN1NjA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Location:
    designing another cheap logo
    #19
    Yeah, and the iPod 6 probably isn’t getting iOS 12

    Not to mention the iPod 6 only has 1GB RAM
     
  20. Andy-UK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    #20
    Ah right, found it, I only saw the 5S deals before. It still seems like a waste to me, if you're only going to use it as a media player then I doubt whether the A9 chip is any advantage over the A8 and it still means that, compared with the size and weight of the iPod, you're still lugging around a small brick with you just to play music but fair enough.
     
  21. ApplePersonFreak thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    #21
    Yep, exactly. Not to mention it's easier to find cases for the SE, and IF needed can be used as a backup phone.

    I also spent $250 on my 32GB touch whereas it'd only cost me $159 for the SE.
     
  22. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #22
    That's why I own a Touch.

    People claim they buy an SE to get a better battery life but for my usage, the Touch battery has never been an issue. I don't want to feel like I'm carrying two cell phones around with me.
     
  23. Paddle1 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #23
    Buying something more outdated and underspecced for more money does not make sense. Support will be dropped sooner. iOS 11 performance isn't looking good so far for iPod touch (though it's still in beta). It may be a bit heavier but it's still the lightest iPhone.

    There's no comparison between the iPod touch and the SE's battery, the iPhone SE rivals the Plus iPhones. And I say this an iPod touch owner.
     
  24. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #24
    I'm not saying there is. As a Touch 6 owner, I have to charge it daily but the battery life is fine for me.
     
  25. spyguy10709 macrumors 6502a

    spyguy10709

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
    #25
    So it sounds to me like... Everyone can find a device that's right for them, and that's what they use?

    Let's keep it positive guys. No one is implying a particular device is "wrong" for you to use... just that there's a vibrant ecosystem of devices that offer compelling features to different people.
     

Share This Page