Problem uploading pictures

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by Michael Goff, Aug 12, 2016.

  1. Michael Goff macrumors G3

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #1
    Occasionally, when I try to upload a picture, I get this wonderful error message. I'm using iOS 10 and it is on both the phone and iPad.

    IMG_0030.PNG
     
  2. willmtaylor macrumors 604

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #2
    I'm also getting these as of late, especially if the picture has been altered (E.g. Cropped), though I don't know whether this is a contributing factor.
     
  3. Michael Goff thread starter macrumors G3

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #3
    I will have just taken a screenshot, then get that message. I don't th8nk the alteration matters.
     
  4. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
  5. willmtaylor, Aug 29, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2016

    willmtaylor macrumors 604

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #5
    I'm on an iPad Air 2 running iOS 10 (latest PB). I just took a portrait screenshot, cropped it to 9x16, and attempted to upload. I was met with this message:
    IMG_0565.PNG
     
  6. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #6
    Yes, it seems to be an iOS 10 issue. The XenForo folks looked into it and it appears that when you take a screenshot it saves as a JPG, but when you crop it in iOS 10, it changes the file extension to PNG while the file is actually still a JPG. XenForo and I both filed bug reports with Apple about it, so hopefully it will be resolved.
     
  7. willmtaylor macrumors 604

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #7
    Good know. Thanks for looking into it and getting back with me.
     
  8. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #8
    A bit odd that extension in the name might still play that much of a role if the content itself could be detected and essentially used for those purposes (unless for some reason it can't).
     
  9. M. Gustave macrumors 68000

    M. Gustave

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Location:
    Grand Budapest Hotel
  10. WildCowboy, Sep 16, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2016

    WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #10
    Apple still lists the bug report as open. No idea on a potential timeline for a fix.

    Edit: Actually, I see XenForo included a workaround for this issue in their most recent update while they wait for Apple to address it. We'll look into scheduling an upgrade here.
     
  11. Rod1 macrumors newbie

    Rod1

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I am getting the upload problem on my Macbook to a forum I belong to because the photo jpeg size is to big. How do I reduce the size from 3.4mb to under 976kb please.
     
  12. ToddH macrumors 6502a

    ToddH

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Location:
    Central Tx
    #12
    hey all, I know how to add a photo to any thread, however doing so with my new iPhone 7 plus, I get an error that states that my image is too large for the system to process. The photo is under 5mb and I shouldn't be getting that error. Even screen shots produce the same error. Any idea how to fix?
     
  13. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #13
    We've updated the forum software, so the bug with uploading cropped images should be resolved.
     
  14. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #14
    Cool, looks like it's working now.
    IMG_0742.JPG
     
  15. LoveMyMacPro macrumors regular

    LoveMyMacPro

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    #15
    I get the same error. It's kind of ridiculous that a photo taken with an iPhone can't be handled by the software for an Apple forum.
     
  16. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #16
    You are still having issues? Seems like things have already been updated to address the issue.

    (And the forum software really doesn't have anything to do with the forums/sites that it is being used on. To top that off, the underlying issue seems to be an Apple iOS bug.)
     
  17. LoveMyMacPro macrumors regular

    LoveMyMacPro

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    #17
    You should read the posts again. Two different issues. The bug had to do with file extension changes causing issues. The issue I and a couple of others posted has to do with the site refusing to accept image uploads taken from the iPhone 7+. It says they are too large to process. Never had that problem with my 6s+.
     
  18. Rod1 macrumors newbie

    Rod1

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Not much point in posting on here, not getting any answers to my question.....
     
  19. EM2013 macrumors 6502a

    EM2013

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #19
    Old thread but i still can't post any screenshots from my iPhone. Has this been resolved or not?
     
  20. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #20
    Where exactly in the process are you running into trouble?
     
  21. EM2013 macrumors 6502a

    EM2013

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #21
    If I try to post a screenshot it says error uploaded file is too large
     
  22. Rod1 macrumors newbie

    Rod1

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    i have resolved it myself by reducing the image size.

    It takes far to long to get a reply from this forum.

    i have asked a question about updating my Macbook to Sierra and i still haven’t got a reply.
     
  23. sman789 Customer Support

    sman789

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #23
    Replied to your MacBook Pro Sierra post.
     
  24. MuGeN PoWeR macrumors 68000

    MuGeN PoWeR

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #24
    i still cant upload the images from my mac. It says a problem has been occured.
     
  25. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #25
    Preferences

    Try clicking here to go to your preferences then check the boxes like I have mine with rich text on and flash off. Then see if you can drag and drop an image into the new message compose window.

    Screen_Shot_2017-05-26_at_6_17_16_AM.png
     

Share This Page