Carrier PSA: Verizon works on T-Mobile and AT&T iPhone 6

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iphone5att64, Sep 26, 2014.

  1. iphone5att64 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #1
    This needs more attention. Despite what you see on Apple's spec page, Verizon, T-Mobile and AT&T iPhone 6 have the same model number A1522 and same hardware unlike iPhone 5 and 5S.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=19838452#post19838452

     
  2. Winona Northdakota macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    #2
  3. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #3
    Yeah but with those Apple did disable the CDMA bands. This time they didn't. Seems like they did that to streamline their repair inventory, since the SKUs no longer differentiate between CDMA and GSM a like in the past
     
  4. Winona Northdakota macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    #4
    PSA: Verizon works on T-Mobile and AT&T iPhone 6


    Nope, Verizon has only activated phones in the past that were bought from Verizon. The MSNs and MEIDs of the phones needed to be on a white list to be activated on Verizon's network. It looks like the iPhone 6 is handled different by Verizon, most likely because of VoLTE.
     
  5. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    Unlike the 6, the AT&T 5S doesn't report an MEID. So those really do have the CDMA radio disabled. People have tested that from what I recall.

    Things changed with the 6. Verizon even recognizes my unlocked AT&T MEID as valid
     
  6. Winona Northdakota, Sep 26, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014

    Winona Northdakota macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    #6
    PSA: Verizon works on T-Mobile and AT&T iPhone 6


    MEIDs are exclusive to CDMA 2000 networks, which AT&T is not. My AT&T iPhones 4S-5S have had an MEID. The MEID just isn't used with GSM evolution technology networks. The MEID used with non Verizon or non CDMA 2000 network iPhones was not a compatible MEID with Verizon's registration system. Those phones may have been given an incompatible MEID, to prevent them from being activated in any way on Verizon's network.

    Now, IMEI is a different story.
     
  7. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #7
    I have an AT&T 4S and 5S sitting in front of me as I type this. Neither report an MEID in the settings page. The only devices that bother reporting an MEID are the ones with the CDMA bands enabled. To date, that includes all Sprint and Verizon iPhones/iPads, all iPad airs/retina minis, and now the iPhone 6(+)

    You will not be able to use a Verizon SIM on a non-Verizon iPhone 4S-5S. I've tried on the 4S and others have tried on the 5 and 5S
     
  8. rui no onna macrumors 601

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #8
    I'm curious, is the Verizon SIM totally not working on an unlocked AT&T/T-Mobile 5c/5s or does it at least work partially? Because I expect the CDMA portion (calls and SMS) would be non-functional but I would think LTE data would work.
     
  9. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #9
    That's a good question. I'm not sure how Verizon handles things - it might be that the device needs to send a quick ping over the CDMA network to register or something. Or it may simply refuse to let a device on the network without a valid MEID (which the pre-6 GSM variants don't report). May get an opportunity to test for myself in a few days, I'll try to investigate then
     
  10. rui no onna macrumors 601

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #10
    I would test it myself but I still need to wait 14 days before I can unlock my ATT 5s. Hmm, is VoLTE an iPhone 6 or an iOS 8 feature?
     
  11. Winona Northdakota, Sep 27, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2014

    Winona Northdakota macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    #11
    PSA: Verizon works on T-Mobile and AT&T iPhone 6


    The phone won't, unless it is activated on the compatible network. The phone needs updated carrier settings, which is usually updated upon activation with the network you have subscribed to. As far as Verizon, it's up to them to activate the phone for their CDMA network. People certainly can put in a Verizon SIM into any unlocked iPhone 5S and get Verizon LTE, not Verizon CDMA. The iPhone 4S forward does in fact have an MEID. Look at your box. It may not be an MEID that is compatible with Verizon's system, though there is an MEID and there is the hardware.
     
  12. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #12
    Nope. If that were the case, my iPhone 6 wouldn't report an MEID despite being activated on att right now.

    Verizon LTE is another question, but my guess is the phone simply won't be able to register onto the network, at least until Verizon starts rolling out LTE-only devices in a few years.

    Anyway, the important thing is the "GSM" iPhone 6s are fully compatible, CDMA and all. That is new for this year.
     
  13. Winona Northdakota macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    #13

    AT&T is not a compatible CDMA 2000 network. You won't see an MEID in the settings anywhere.
     
  14. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #14
    Do you have an iPhone 6 on att? Then go check. It's right there. I'd post a picture, but I don't want that number on a public forum
     
  15. Winona Northdakota macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    #15

    VoLTE is a feature is of iOS 8, though carriers may force you to get an iPhone 6 to get it. From what I understand, AT&T is allowing the iPhone 5S to partake in the VoLTE, with it's test markets.

    ----------


    The iPhone 6, like the iPhone 4S might very well display an MEID.
     
  16. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #16
    My iPhone 5S doesn't show voice over LTE as an option, but my iPhone 6 does. I don't live in a VoLTE market. So it looks like Apple is limiting the feature to the new phones

    ----------

    Non Verizon/Sprint 4S does not report an MEID.
     
  17. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #17
    Just post a screenshot and blur out the number. The letters "MEID" would still be visible.
     
  18. NeshyD macrumors regular

    NeshyD

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #18
    Here's a screenshot. This is an AT&T iPhone 6 recently factory unlocked (hence the Three UK carrier, currently abroad on a trip).

    The MEID is shown.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. taedouni macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #19
    Since the iPhone 5, the Verizon version has been unlocked. Verizon uses CDMA so non Verizon phones won't work on its network, however the Verizon phone will work on any GSM network.
     
  20. rui no onna macrumors 601

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #20
    Except it appears like CDMA hardware is enabled on the new GSM iPhone 6/6+ and it seems Verizon doesn't actually block devices from accessing their CDMA network. They just prevent activation of unknown ESN/MEID/IMEI. If you can find a workaround for the activation issue (e.g. activate SIM on Verizon phone then switch SIMs), it looks like GSM iPhone 6/6+ do work on Verizon. :p
     
  21. zorinlynx macrumors 601

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #21
    I wonder if this is a sign that Verizon might be changing their policy to allow phones they didn't sell onto their network soon.

    The policy certainly hurts them more than it helps; it keeps people who own unlocked phones from switching to them easily. They probably want to get into the whole "I'm unhappy with my carrier, maybe you guys are better?" customers.

    Especially since there's going to be a lot more unlocked phones bouncing around soon.
     
  22. rigormortis, Sep 27, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2014

    rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #22
    The Meid is just the imei number with one extra digit added.

    To summarize as long as you have an activated verizon SIM card pulled from another phone and stick it in the unlocked Tmobile iphone 6' the iPhone willl pull down new carrier settings. Cdma, VoLTE, LTE data & Visual voice mail works,

    But you can't go to a store and have them activate your phone.
    You can't go to my verizon.com and switch meids, because it's not a verizon iPhone 6

    As long as you do not try those two things. The iPhone 6 magically becomes a verizon iPhone
    And the only thing listed under devices on your account is your SIM card.

    I would like to see what happens when someone puts in a sprint sim. I think it will be rejected. But someone
    Needs to try..l. Maybe if you put the iPhone in DFU mode with a sprint sim, will itunes get sprint firmware?
    That would be crazy if that worked. I wonder if the phone would lock.. . Hmmm. I bet that it wouldn't give you LTE channels 38 39 40 and 41
     
  23. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #23

    That information does not apply to the iphone 6. It's cdma radio is not disabled. The story about how apple disables cdma in gsm iphones became obsolete the day the iPhone. 6 came out. The CDMA issue only applies to iphone 5 , 5c, and 5s.
     
  24. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #24
    i found a verizon 128gb iPhone 6 locally at a best buy .. so this will work with no issues if i throw my att sim from my 5s in there correct ?? never bought anything but att phones
     
  25. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #25
    I know that's what it is (it's actuallly one digit removed), but the point is the phone only reports its MEID as an MEID if the CDMA radios are enabled.

    Also, at least for my unlocked AT&T iPhone 6, this page strongly suggests Verizon can activate service on it: http://www.verizonwireless.com/b2c/nso/enterDeviceId.do?&zipRdr=y
     

Share This Page