Razer Core Compatibility

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fyun89, Oct 31, 2016.

  1. fyun89, Oct 31, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2016

    fyun89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    #1
    Can someone with 2016 Macbook Pro test if the Razer Core works with the Macbooks?
    If you know of any websites that have performed this please post a link. Thank you!


    Added: YES IT WORKS!!!! in Bootcamp at least.. Source: Threads between 31-33
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
  3. fyun89 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    #3
    No, Razer Core is external PC GPU connector that you can connect to your laptop using Thunderbolt 3 cable. It basically allows you to use external GPU with your laptop for higher performance.

    I want to know if I can use it since it doesn't work with some laptops.
     
  4. Tycho24 Suspended

    Tycho24

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    No.
    Not so far, it does NOT.
    System info shows it under Thunderbolt Devices, as the name, "Core", followed by the (sad) phrase: "unsupported hardware".
    --- Post Merged, Oct 31, 2016 ---
    http://m.imgur.com/hTrMsKY

    Sorry. =/
     
  5. fyun89 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    #5
    Whoa...Thats fast.. You used the 2016 Macbook Pro, correct? I heard the 13 inch versions have different bandwidth on the right side port with left. Did you try both ports??

    Edit**
    Wait..it might work with BootCamp tho..?
     
  6. Tycho24 Suspended

    Tycho24

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    That is from a base model late 2016 13" MacBook Pro without the TouchBar.
    It only has two ports. Both are the full speed.

    It just simply doesn't seem to be supported yet.
    I'm sure drivers, software, or some type of workaround will emerge!
    This has got to be a RIDICULOUSLY ripe & lucrative market for such a solution.
     
  7. Lou-X macrumors member

    Lou-X

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    #7
    Afaik it will never run just "plug and play". Odds are will work on boot camp with some configuration required. Can't wait to see a single main post on this (and other eGPU)
     
  8. fyun89 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    #8
    I was really hoping for this for upgrade possibility for macbook pro.. IF this actually works, I might be able to get more than 6 years out of the new laptop..
     
  9. Lou-X macrumors member

    Lou-X

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    #9
    That actually could lead to infinite possibilities, real gpu power out of macbooks. I think it's just matter of time, people is working on this long time. We'll see..
     
  10. fyun89 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    #10
    Doubt Apple likes this though, as people could just opt for the lowest spec mac (unless you need every bit of that higher spec CPU) and get a Core.. If they intentionally blocked this, I wouldn't be surprised.
     
  11. Lou-X macrumors member

    Lou-X

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    #11
    Those new MacBooks pro looks like are already low specs, also the maxed out 15". How the f.. Are we supposed to run VR? This is ridiculous.. I will buy a new mb only if I will be able to use tb3 with egpu in a good dock station. Akitio, razer core or whatever.
     
  12. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #12
    There are some videos, and Bizon 2 seems to work the best with Mac so far.
    Razor is limited to Razor products, i see youtube vids where ppl just can't get it to work under windows, and simply say 'wont work on macs'
    The asus one is pretty new still, but asus seems to be locking it in to asus only devices, and wont support macs.

    eGPU that you plug into a macbook pro 15" late 2016 model? Probably very limited support. Even if it does work, it's probably limited to only the software going "oh there it is, on that port, ok, lets render out now.. IF you use these CLI commands" dont expect it to just run with games, etc.
     
  13. Lou-X macrumors member

    Lou-X

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    #13
  14. rwstgermain, Oct 31, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2016

    rwstgermain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    #14
    I wonder if this would work under bootcamp with Windows 10 and the Core driver installed. I have seen several pictures where people have been able to get the core work work with non-razer laptops. Question is if it is a hardware/firmware limitation of the mac not supporting Intel external graphics (eGFX) or just a driver since AMD xConncet is available with latest GPU drivers.
     
  15. 0x100 macrumors regular

    0x100

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #15
    What about in Windows?
     
  16. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
  17. Tycho24 Suspended

    Tycho24

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #17
    Unknown at this point.
    From the Reddit user that shared this info- boot camp 1st wouldn't allow access to the force touch mouse, then when he tried again using a different mouse, there were no Windows 10 drivers for that SSD card yet. He was going to try again using an external drive as well, but (obviously) that is a sub-optimal set up.
     
  18. rwstgermain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    #18
  19. Tycho24, Nov 1, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2016

    Tycho24 Suspended

    Tycho24

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #19
    What product by Akihito though???
    From what I've seen, all their products are underpowered. Razer Core & PowerColor Devil Box both support up to 375 watt video cards. I thought theirs were more around 75ish watts...

    Edit: holy crap! I checked it out... they support up to 390 watts!

    --- Post Merged, Nov 1, 2016 ---
    YES!!!!!!
    Success in Windows 10 BootCamp.
     
  20. Gav2k, Nov 1, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2016

    Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #20
    The 13" mb2014 works with the razor core in win10 so I see no reason why the new mbp's should have an issue doing the same. Well when the boot camp drivers are available for the new mbp to run windows that is lol

    **typo edited
     
  21. killawat macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #21
    That's amazeballs considering the 12" MB doesn't have a TB3 port......
     
  22. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #22
    Node is best value and with the Apple TB2 adapter will work on older Macs.
     
  23. asoksevil macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Taipei, Taiwan
    #23
    Main issue is macOS not Windows AFAIK. So if you are boot camping you will probably be able to run ti.
     
  24. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #24
    - Documentation? 'Cause I really don't think so.
     
  25. theitsage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #25
    There's no chance a 12" MacBook works with any ThunderBolt enclosure.
     

Share This Page