Retina iMac + Mission Control: Post your experience

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Padmini, Oct 27, 2014.

  1. Padmini macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    #1
    Spawned from several other threads, the Retina iMac (mine included) with either GPU, appears to have a specific software or firmware related issue with Mission Control, causing it to lag significantly, and animate poorly.

    A few users including myself have contacted Apple Support and been told this is not normal, they are aware of the issue, and a fix is in the works.

    I'm creating this thread so that everyone with the same issue can post their actual experience with the iMac and with Apple Support here, so that we can get a good idea of what is going on. If there is any chance that is not something Apple can and intends to fix in the near future, I want everyone to have all the information they need before return windows start to expire.
     
  2. Sunday Ironfoot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    #2
    FYI I get this problem on my 2013 MacBook Pro Retina 13". I think this is a OS X Yosemite bug.
     
  3. kendrickhphoto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #3
    I just got mine in this morning i7 and m295x and have no issues going to mission control very rapidly. I can do it with the keyboard, on the trackpad, or with the hot corner I setup. I've tried it by itself, with a 27" Cinema Display, with a Thunderbolt Display and with all 3 connected at once.
     
  4. macnerd77 macrumors regular

    macnerd77

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California / Bay Area
    #4
    Was at the local apple store today and i tested out mission control on the Retina iMac. This was the base config RiMac Core i5, 8gb, 290 gpu, 1tb fusion. I too was able to see lagging and poor animation. This was extremely visible when opening mission control while holding down the shift key. I am sure that apple will correct this with a software or firmware update.

    I feel that those of us who have purchased a Retina iMac are on the bleeding edge of technology and should expect a few little quirks like this and they will be ironed out by apple.
     
  5. EnderTW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #5
    This is the same with me.

    Base config with 4k external attached and running.

    What is weird, when I do the animation for show desktop, I have a magic trackpad, there is NO lag whatsoever on both displays. Try it, go slow/ fast / back and forth, it looks fluid with no stuttering at all. This animation is much more intensive than the mission control animation, so this is leading me to a firmware/yosemite bug issue. I don't use mission control that much, but when I do it's noticeable since it's jarring, I hope this gets resolved

    Glad Apple is working on it, that's the only slowdown I noticed.
     
  6. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #6
    how can i test this? in Yosemite on the dock Mission control is no longer available
     
  7. EnderTW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #7
    If you have a magic trackpad, I think.. it's 4 fingers swipe up?
     
  8. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #8
    Smooth as butter over here :cool: not a single dropped frame
    Don't have an external monitor attached though.
     
  9. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #9
    yes or on my keyboard..but I'm surprised they eliminate the Mission control button from the dock in Yosemite
     
  10. c.s. macrumors regular

    c.s.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #10
    Performs exactly the same as the other Macs I own. Wish this thread would stop.
     
  11. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #11
    They did that in Mavericks actually.
     
  12. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #12
    I still have it in Maveriks
     
  13. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #13
    It doesn't remove it if you upgrade from Mountain Lion and have it on your dock.
     
  14. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #14
    there is a way to put mission control on the dock again in Yosemite?
     
  15. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #15
    Yeah, just go into Launchpad, find it, and drag it back. In a default ML install it was located between Finder and Launchpad on the dock.
     
  16. gklka, Oct 28, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2014

    gklka macrumors regular

    gklka

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #16
    All Exposé (Mission Control) animations are deadly slow at me. I have a 2013 Retina MacBook Pro with Iris Pro with and external 2560x1440 display attached (via DisplayPort). After reboot it is nearly 20 fps, but quickly drops to 0-5 fps when I leave the machine running for a while (half a day or something). Other animations, like Safari scrolling are extremely smooth, 60 fps at least. Beside Mission Control, I can feel some kind of general UI lagging. Maybe a third or half of a second on every UI interaction.
     
  17. petvas macrumors 601

    petvas

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    #17
    I got my Retina iMac today and yes, Mission Control stutters a lot. It's not unusable, but it definitely looks like a software bug in Yosemite that can be fixed. Everything else on this machine is fast and fluid.
    On my Macbook Air Mission Control is better, but still not as fluid as it could be.
     
  18. 5iMacs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #18
    This is Yosemite right?

    For the record, I am running a 2012 Retina MacBook Pro with a 4k monitor attached via HDMI and it is smooth and fast, using the external as the primary display. Still on Mavericks. Hopefully this takes "Retina iMac" out of the problem statement...
     
  19. EnderTW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #19
    Your rMBP is driving the 4k via HDMI at 30hz, not 60hz.
     
  20. 5iMacs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #20
    True...?

    We're talking about slowdowns on the order of 5Hz or so, I thought.

    Or are you saying my rMBP has it so easy with a 30Hz display that it wouldn't bog down on Yosemite either?

    I'm definitely interested in what you're theorizing on this topic.
     
  21. Padmini thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    #21
    You can also drag the mission control icon to the dock if you wish.

    ----------

    Glad to see others seeing the same thing. My only worry is that it WON'T be addressed, even though a few people have been told by Apple Support that it will be.

    I use it so much that it is becoming a real distraction and interruption to work flow.
     
  22. EnderTW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #22
    Correct, 30z translates to the gpu only have to refresh the screen at 30 frames per second, or 30hz since OSX does vsync.

    This is half the gpu load then if it was running at 60hz.
     
  23. 5iMacs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #23
    I see, that definitely reduces its value as a data point.

    If I can rehabilitate it by showing that the same setup falls apart under Yosemite, I'll report back.

    Thanks
     
  24. bucksaddle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #24
    Yep, Mission Control stutter here. 4GHz i7, 3TB Fusion Drive, M290X, upgraded 32GB RAM.

    Edit: Just for comparison I also have a 2011 MacBook Air, 1.8 GHz i7, 4GB RAM, etc upgraded to Yosemite and not a single stutter when using Mission Control
     
  25. petvas macrumors 601

    petvas

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    #25

Share This Page