Retina MacBook Pro or Classic?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by touchu4g, Mar 16, 2013.

1. touchu4g macrumors member

Hi. I got a Classic MacBook Pro 13" last week. After getting the MacBook Pro, I have been seeing posts about the Retina MacBook Pro better than the Classic MacBook Pro. I have been worried that the Classic MacBook Pro would be outdated soon and will be discontinued. So I am wondering if the 13" Retina MacBook Pro is worth the money or not? I still have another week till I can exchange it for a Retina.

I am a high school student.

2. Spink10 macrumors 601

Spink10

Depends on your needs/desire & budget.

The base 13" rMBP is now more reasonable - was $500 more a couple weeks ago.

3. touchu4g thread starter macrumors member

I would be using the laptop for school, music, movies and occasionally some video and photo editing. I would need at least 250GB of storage.

4. Spink10 macrumors 601

Spink10

If you can get away with 256GB storage and the extra $300 go retina - if not classic. It will last as long as the retina.

5. touchu4g thread starter macrumors member

Okay. I heard that SSD storage don't last long as HDD. Is that true?

6. B... macrumors 68000

B...

For your uses, the cMBP is fine. But do you WANT the retina? If you do, that is also a valid reason to get it, because you should like your computer. The retina has a few problems now, but if you can wait for the next school year,there should be a new gen out with some changes. And...if you need it now, and you are in the US, you can get the last gen retina with 256 GB for $1515 on Amazon (you will lose a 2.6 GHz processor for a 2.5, but you will not miss it). I say if you want the retina, go for it!

7. touchu4g thread starter macrumors member

Yeah. I might wait until a next retina laptop comes out. For now il use the CMBP

8. Rodster macrumors 68040