rMBP Cysis 3 Help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by njtransit215, Feb 19, 2013.

  1. njtransit215 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    #1
    Hey,

    I just bought Crysis 3 and installed it in my bootcamp partition of Windows 7, and I would really appreciate some help. It runs atrciously. I'm talking like 1280x800 medium/low settings and still 5-6fps atrocious. The odd part is, Far Cry 3 ran perfectly at some much higher resolution. I've tried everything I know. I'm using the latest NVIDIA GeForce 314.07 drivers. Thanks so much!
     
  2. njtransit215 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    #2
    In case anyone has/had the same problem as me, a PRAM reset did the trick!
     
  3. bobenhaus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
  4. boto, Feb 20, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2013

    boto macrumors 6502

    boto

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    #4
    MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS:
    • VIDEO: DirectX 11 graphics card with 1 GB Video RAM or better / NVidia GTS 450 or AMD Radeon HD5770

    Yep, no doubt that you will receive poor framerates. Your GPU underperforms the above GPU (AMD HD 5770). If you want a satisfying Crysis 3 experience than you should invest in a real gaming machine, an iMac with the GTX 680MX card, or an upcoming Mac Pro that potentially sports a newer edition of the top-of-the-line 700 series.

    Heres the link of the GPU rankings: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphics-Cards-Benchmark-List.844.0.html, make sure to select the desktop and notebook GPUs for comparison at the top boxes.
     
  5. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #5
    how many fps are u getting in crysis 3?
     
  6. Valkyre macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
  7. chrisrosemusic1 macrumors 6502a

    chrisrosemusic1

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Location:
    Northamptonshire, England
    #7
    You won't stand a chance on a laptop.

    My Alienware will only run it on medium @ 30fps and that has a 1.5GB GTX 660 card in it.

    You won't be able to play it at a reasonable resolution, or even have an enjoyable experience on the MacBook.
     
  8. Ricanlegend macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Location:
    Bronx,Ny
    #8
    For $100 you can get a xbox360 that Will always work to play crysis
     
  9. AppleMacFinder macrumors 6502a

    AppleMacFinder

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #9
    With a lower graphics, of course.
    There is no point in buying the current generation of consoles,
    because they are so behind in comparison to computers.
    Since PS4 and XBox720 would be released quite soon,
    that would be a waste of money.
     
  10. njtransit215 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    #10
    Thanks all, but SMC/PRAM did it. It runs now on 1440x900 with medium-high settings. It DOES in fact look quite nice, and runs at 40fps.
     
  11. swerve147 macrumors 6502a

    swerve147

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #11
    Nice, thanks for the clarification. Maybe bumped up to 1680x1050 you might drop a few frames, but as long as you can run either resolution on even medium settings that would be quite nice.
     
  12. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #12
    1440x900 or higher are all reasonable resolutions on a 15" screen ;)
     
  13. el-John-o macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Missouri
    #13
    On my overclocked quad-core windows desktop with an overclocked Radeon HD7970 I can just BARELY max it out (and I can't crank the AA way up, in fact I have to leave it on 2x), and even then I occasionally get little hiccups and slowdowns when there's a lot going on.

    That game is a beast, gaming on a MacBook Pro don't be too surprised if you find yourself backing down to low settings for a playable experience.
     
  14. chrisrosemusic1 macrumors 6502a

    chrisrosemusic1

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Location:
    Northamptonshire, England
    #14
    Haha, sorry I'm spoilt with 1920x1080 :rolleyes:
     
  15. joshhedge, Feb 20, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2013

    joshhedge macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #15

    No it doesn't under perform, the GTX 660M/ GT 650 OC'd is equivalent to, if not more powerful than the GTS 450. I can't be bothered to link benches, but Anandtech GPU bench results show this.

    Additionally the 700 series are not yet released and I doubt they will be until Q3-Q4 of this year, if that. Please post credibly.
     
  16. freelancer27 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    #16
    Can someone that played Crysis3 on his rMPB post a video on how it looks like?

    Would be great.
     
  17. boto macrumors 6502

    boto

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    #17
    Reread my post. I mentioned the comparison to the AMD HD 5770, not the GTS 450. In addition, I wrote "upcoming" for the 700 series so your post is invalid.
     
  18. joshhedge macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #18
    In response, the 5770 is not majorly ahead of the GTS 450 for which the GT 650M is slightly more powerful - http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/538?vs=609. While you wrote "upcoming" you're being naive to think that the 700 series would even be launched in time at all for the next Mac Pro. In reality I am sure you'll find, as others have in this thread, that crysis 3 is perfectly playable on this machine and can still look good at relatively decent frame rates.
     
  19. boto macrumors 6502

    boto

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    #19
    Please enlighten me. How am I being naive? If you actually read my original post you would notice I said "upcoming Mac Pro that potentially sports a newer edition of the top-of-the-line 700 series." I did not claim it will. As for the performance between the GT 650m, regardless of being overclocked to the values of a GTX 660m, it still is below the performance of a AMD HD 5770. Below is the rankings and benchmarks of each GPU, which I was originally comparing, not the GTS 450.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. joshhedge, Feb 23, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2013

    joshhedge macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #20
    Below by a very minor amount. The 5770 is based on an older architecture to that of the GT 650m and hence in more modern titles, such as Crysis 3, their performance should be on par if not edging towards the GT 650m. Just to add, the memory clock on the GT 650m is also higher than the reference GTX 660m. :)

    For starters how do you know that Apple may not choose to use AMD GPUs, which at the present moment of time perform better and at a lower price point. How can you have a newer edition of the top-of-the-line 700 series when they haven't even been announced yet? :rolleyes:
     
  21. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #21
    JUst made a video on crysis 3 on retina macbook pro overclocked

    its having weird gpu usage, its never 100% like any other game.

    Which makes me believe we need new drivers, its like 50% gpu usage all the time. Will post video here when its done uploading

    All though, its running at 30fps constant with 1280x800, textures high, everything else medium.

    But again this is with gpu usage at 50% which means it should be alot better
     
  22. joshhedge macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #22
    Reset your SMC and PRAM and then report back :) Are you using the 314.07 drivers?
     
  23. henrikrox, Feb 23, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2013

    henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #23
    Yes. Nothing to do with SMC or PRAM. Its a crysis issue, have the same issues on my desktop.

    Disabling vsync helps the problem alot. But its still not great. This happens everytime a new crysis games comes out though. Drivers not optimized.

    1280x800

    High textures, everything else medium, gives 40-60 fps, closer to 60 most though. with vsync off

    1035mhz/2700mhz

    here is geekbench score i just took, to show its not a pram/smc issue
    http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/1683888
     
  24. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #24
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=37bJhtGP6Ws

    heres the video. I did try to change textures from high to medium, but it does nothing, since it requires a restart. so the textures was high trough the entire clip even though i changed it to medium.

    i change system spec from low to medium half way trough the clip. after getting the bow.

    Watch the second number from the left, jump between 99% and 50% but mostly in the 50-60%. Thats how much gpu power it uses, that should be 99% all the time.

    You see everytime i hit 99% i get 60fps.

    Oh well. Hoping for driver updates
     
  25. boto macrumors 6502

    boto

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    #25
    It don't seem you understand my original message that the Mac Pro's may "potentially sport" the Nvidia 700 GPU series, I did not infer they absolutely will. In regards to the performance of the rMBP, if you can't provide evidence of higher values in performance nor 'benchmarks' then your argument remains invalid.

    Even playing Crysis 3 on my unit is absolutely unplayable when I need at least 45+ FPS to game smoothly. I'm using low-medium settings with a resolution of 1440x900, as well as the latest graphics cards. Below is a chart of different settings and framerates of how playable it is.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page