Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MIKX

macrumors 68000
Dec 16, 2004
Japan
It would help if you tell us which brand of HD 7950.

Which Mac Pro do you have ? ( make a .signature in your Macrumors profile ).

Unflashed 7950's will boot Mac OS but without the EFI boot screen. 7950's are also supported in Mojave.

El Tigre

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 22, 2018
Bundanoon Australia
It is a Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 3GB OC. I am yet to receive it but am getting ready so I can install and get running asap
My Mac Pro is a Mid 2010 I purchased used. It is running High Sierra and I would like to upgrade to mohave.
[doublepost=1540197237][/doublepost]Can I flash the card myself I'm not very tech savvy

MIKX

macrumors 68000
Dec 16, 2004
Japan
Yes but I strongly advise that you become a member at the Netkas site http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,5619.0.html.

I also advise you to read EVERY page in the above thread ( maybe twice . . :p )

I flashed all of my AMD cards after scouring the Netkas site.

Make a " signature" after you become a NetKas member and list your car's model & brand eg : "Gigabyte HD 7950 ".

The main thing is that you should not use other people's ROMS. . the 1st. page allows you to download the flashing script.

But you will also need to have Win 7 ( easiest ) installed or run bootcamp to download the existing rom on your 7950.

Also, the reference 7950's have a BIOS switch marked 1 & 2 - I set mine to "2" ( shut down your Mac Pro first ! ).

Download the script at Netkas first .. .then start reading and making notes.

It's not hard process.. . just highly detailed .

Good Luck.

EDIT : Don't use other people's ROMS. . they are model/brand dependent in some cases.

The idea is to use the Netkas script to ADD the EFI part to YOUR card

El Tigre

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 22, 2018
Bundanoon Australia
Where do I type the script?