Second activation

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by adder7712, Jun 2, 2009.

  1. adder7712 macrumors 68000

    adder7712

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    I want to make my XP partition larger. I know I have to uninstall Windows and since it has to be activated, does the activation work after I install it for the second time?

    (Renamed the thread)
     
  2. macjram macrumors 6502a

    macjram

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    #2
    I know I saw somewhere maybe in VMWare or System Prefs. or something where you can just add more space? Not sure, so I needa know this too.
     
  3. BillG07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #3
    Winclone

    I had this issue a while back and found a great free solution. Use winclone software (free download, just google it) to back up your windows partition, then delete the partition and make a new one of the size you want. Finally, restore your backed-up copy to the new partition and it should run without any reinstalling or anything. I'm sure this has been written in more detail on these forums before, just search for more info if needed
     
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    +1 on WinClone. It's worked perfectly for me many times over the last few months, both for moving and resizing. Note: for it to resize, the old partition needs to be formatted NTFS. If it isn't, you can convert it while in Windows.

    Here are the steps I use:

    With the old drive mounted, use WinClone to create an image file of the old BC Partition.

    Next, use the Apple Boot Camp Assistant to create a new BC partition on the new drive. It needs to be the same size or larger than the old, but larger only works if you had formatted the BC partition as NTFS. Actually, it will work with FAT32, but you won't have access to the additional space.

    Finally, use WinClone to restore the image file to the new drive's new BC partition. If you had created a new, larger partition AND it was NTFS format, WinClone will expand the old partition to the new BC partition size.
     
  5. adder7712 thread starter macrumors 68000

    adder7712

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    My partition is NTFS. Do I need to burn the image into a DVD?

    EDIT: Ok, I don't need to burn it into a DVD. I used WinClone and everything seem to work fine. :)
     

Share This Page