Other Some carriers can disable the eSim entirely

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by CmdrPuffin, Sep 12, 2018.

  1. CmdrPuffin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    #1
    According to the footnotes on the iPhone XS page:

    11. eSIM will be available later this year through a software update. Use of eSIM requires a wireless service plan (which may include restrictions on switching service providers and roaming, even after contract expiration). Not all carriers support eSIM. Use of eSIM in iPhone may be disabled when purchased from some carriers. See your carrier for details. To learn more, visit https://support.apple.com/kb/HT209044.
     
  2. pika2000 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #2
    Or lock it indefinitely. This is bollocks. You pay Apple for a dual SIM device, yet it can be turned into a single SIM device just because the carrier says so.
     
  3. roken70 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    #3
    Exactly. I planned not to buy a new iPhone, unless it was dual sim. Then, surprisingly, it was, and I thought, this will become an expensive autumn. Now this. I will have to wait and see what my carrier will offer. If they brick the e-sim, there will be no new iPhone.
     
  4. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #4
    We all know the carriers in the US will block this.
     
  5. pika2000 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #5
    IMO They won’t block it, but they will definitely lock it, so at least they get half foot already in your “dual” SIM iPhone.
     
  6. 1080p macrumors 68030

    1080p

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #6
    Sucks... I would love to use my main account (T-Mobile) on the eSIM and be able to pop in a prepaid Verizon SIM when traveling on road trips...
     
  7. Deguello macrumors 6502a

    Deguello

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    Then why was AT&T one of the ones listed that they worked with and that support it?

    Very confusing.
     
  8. pika2000 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #8
    Your scenario will be fine as T-mobile supports the eSIM.
     
  9. avanpelt macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #9
    Oh, AT&T will support it; but they will probably lock the eSIM to their network as soon as it's activated on their network -- just like they did with the iPad Pro eSIM.
     
  10. pika2000 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #10
    Imagine a tourist visiting the US, unknowingly decided to activate on AT&T. Bam.
    How could Apple even allow this.
     
  11. chars1ub0w macrumors newbie

    chars1ub0w

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Location:
    Here, there and over there
    #11
    Seems it's better to buy the Mainland China, Hong Kong or Macau version with front and back SIM cards in the tray. We may have this problem in reverse... Screen Shot 2018-09-12 at 12.08.27 PM.png
     
  12. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #12
    I looking forward to the day of no sim cards. Turn on your phone, go into cellular settings, phone automatically detects carriers available, and you can choose which one you want to use, whether for 1 day, 1 week, a month or a year. Use apple pay to pay for the service, and off you go.
     
  13. JPack macrumors 68040

    JPack

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #13
    Or charge an "administrative" fee to make changes.

    I'm not sure why people are panting over eSIM.
     
  14. chars1ub0w macrumors newbie

    chars1ub0w

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Location:
    Here, there and over there
    #14
    You can buy two new iPhone 7 Plus (32GB each), each having a physical SIM slot, and the price is almost the same as a iPhone Xs Max (64MB).
     
  15. wulfin macrumors regular

    wulfin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #15
    Only Bell will be supporting this in Canada at launch. Since dual sim is my main reason for upgrade, I’ll have to wait to see what Telus does .. since both my cell phones are on Telus (and would love to only carry 1 device).
     
  16. Kahsheh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    #16
    Verizon blocked my iPad esim and Tmobile had no issues enabling.
     
  17. sactownbwoy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    #17
    Sprint didn't block my ipad esim. When I moved to a different location on base, Sprint doesn't have good service so I signed up for ATT using the esim no problem.
     
  18. Breezygirl macrumors 6502a

    Breezygirl

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #18
    I wonder if they will lock it to Bell only sims, I’m hoping not. As I have both a Bell and a Rogers.
     
  19. Ebok Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    #19
    carriers in canada are not allowed to lock anything to their network anymore, so this will not happen.

    all phones must be unlocked for free or sold unlocked as of dec 2017. i can't see this being any different for a dual sim phone.
     
  20. Breezygirl macrumors 6502a

    Breezygirl

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #20
    That’s true, if so it would be awesome to use both carrier sims in one phone, thanks!
     
  21. Ebok Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    #21
    i wonder if it would be possible to use a voice+data plan on one sim, and a data only sim in the other? that way you can get extra data for just a little bit more.

    i believe i saw fido was offering a 3gb tablet plan for $15 at some point.
     
  22. Breezygirl macrumors 6502a

    Breezygirl

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #22
    Just found this article.

    https://www.iphoneincanada.ca/news/how-esim-works-for-iphone-xs-max/
     
  23. nicho macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #23
    I find it a little odd that Apple is using the Mainland China model for HK and Macau too. In previous years they seem to have been trying everything they could to make the practice of buying in HK and illegally importing the China more difficult... yet this seems to be encouraging it. I guess Apple is worried about having too much cash tied up in China...
     
  24. JPack macrumors 68040

    JPack

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #24
    Why would Apple care? You're confusing China customs and tariffs with Apple business practices.
     
  25. nicho macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #25
    Because Hong Kongers were getting uppity about not being able to buy iPhones, as they were all instantly reaching the grey/black market. As a deterrent, HK has super restrictive policies which Apple doesn't use in other territories, including a no returns policy.
     

Share This Page

26 September 12, 2018