Some HomePod Owners Still Plagued With Setup Issues

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Feb 14, 2018.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Days after the HomePod was released, there are still some new HomePod owners who are unable to use their new speakers due to HomeKit and Wi-Fi-related setup errors.

    Because it's controlled entirely through Apple's Home app, HomePod connects to HomeKit and relies on a functional HomeKit setup to function properly. Based on reports on Reddit, the Apple Support Communities, and the MacRumors forums, there are a handful of different errors people are running into.

    [​IMG]

    The most common issue seems to be error -6722 or a blank white screen when setting up HomePod, caused by a bugged HomeKit setup. According a HomePod troubleshooting document Apple published this week, there are several possible fixes for the issue.

    [​IMG]
    Image via AppAdvice

    First and foremost, devices need to be running the latest version of iOS (iOS 11.2.5 or iOS 11.3 if you're on a beta) and both the Music and Home apps need to be installed on your device. HomePod also requires both two-factor authentication and iCloud Keychain to be turned on.

    If these settings are enabled and you're still seeing the error message and a screen in the Home app that says "Loading Accessories and Scenes," Apple says to let the Home app load for 30 minutes or longer until an option to erase and reset app comes up. It's not immediately clear that you need to run the app for so long to get to that erase option, so make sure to leave it open and running for the full period of time to get to the reset menu.

    [​IMG]

    We had our own issues here at MacRumors, and one of our HomePod setups wasn't fully functional. We weren't running into the error message above, but none of the HomePod's settings were available. We were able to fix this issue by opening up the Home app, tapping the location arrow at the top left of the device, and choosing the "Remove Home" option to nix our current HomeKit setup.

    After doing that and creating a new Home with a HomeKit device before attempting to re-add the HomePod, we were able to successfully set up the HomePod with HomeKit, so that's something other HomePod users with issues might want to try.

    Other people have had success resetting the HomePod and trying again, logging out of iCloud, and resetting Wi-Fi, but redoing the HomeKit setup entirely seems to be the most reliable fix. There are. however, instances where even these fixes have not worked for a bugged HomeKit setup, and in that situation, you're going to need to get in touch with Apple Support for more advanced troubleshooting.

    If you're running into a different setup issue, such as a failed Wi-Fi connection, it's worth noting that HomePod requires a WPA/WPA 2 Wi-Fi network. Some MacRumors readers were having problems with HomePod not properly recognizing their WPA network, and a reliable fix appears to be unplugging the HomePod and tweaking Wi-Fi settings to disable both auto join and audio login. HomePod does not work with Enterprise Wi-Fi setups or public or subscription networks with sign-in requirements.

    Having ongoing HomePod issues with your own HomeKit setup? Let us know in the comments.

    Article Link: Some HomePod Owners Still Plagued With Setup Issues
     
  2. abi12a macrumors newbie

    abi12a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #2
    If you need the MAC address:

    1. Connect to another person's phone via hotspot with your Mac and iPhone

    2. Scan with LanScan

    3. Find your HomePod MAC

    4. Disconnect from hotspot, reset HomePod

    5. Manually enter MAC address and connect to WiFI
     
  3. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #3
    This seems again one of those classic issues I keep reading about here.
    When I've read some Apple folk don't like the latest iOS version.
    Then others saying "well don't upgrade then if you don't want to, no-one is forcing you"

    Then we get things like this, which means, whilst an iOS upgrade it not actually forced, is may as well be, ans if you dare to say no to the latest iOS you care going to have problems very soon.
     
  4. agsystems macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    #4
    "Some HomePod Owners Still Plagued With Setup Issues"
    not surprised - I am battleting with a) the stupid remote app which loses connection when I launch Netflix/Hulu requiring a reboot of the Apple TV and b) randomly my homekit lights showing 'No response' requiring a re-pairing of the devices - Apple QA can't come soon enough for me.
     
  5. timborama macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #5
    Yes sadly, it’s Apple’s way or the highway... “You will be forced to up upgrade, bugs and all”.
     
  6. OldSchoolMacGuy macrumors 68040

    OldSchoolMacGuy

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
  7. Kneecap macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Location:
    Hayward, CA
    #7
    So it I want HomePod to recognize more than one person's account... do I go through the setup again with their phone? Or is that not possible?
     
  8. Rogifan, Feb 14, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 14, 2018

    Rogifan macrumors P6

    Rogifan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #8
    Mine set up in less than a minute. I guess I’m special?
    --- Post Merged, Feb 14, 2018 ---
    Who is forced to own a HomePod?
     
  9. AngerDanger macrumors 68040

    AngerDanger

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    #9
    While it would've been nice if HomePods could pair as effortlessly as AirPods, I guess the former is more of a standalone product than the latter. It'd be one thing if they were both used for the same purpose…

    Tim Cook HomePod as AirPods.gif
     
  10. Guy Clark macrumors 6502a

    Guy Clark

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    London United Kingdom.
    #10
    Not the case with macOS (OS X) you are always given the choice on whether to upgrade.
     
  11. radio893fm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    Ok then. This is resolved, we can close this thread.
     
  12. Return Zero macrumors 6502a

    Return Zero

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #12
    I hope I'm not in a minority, but setup worked absolutely flawlessly for me. I'm running the latest iOS beta (HomeKit was already set up for my ecobee thermostat). It was one of the most pleasant setup experiences I've ever had for an electronic device. Oh, and the sound quality amazes me. It blows my Klipsch KMC 3 out of the water (closest thing I have to directly compare).
     
  13. VulchR macrumors 68020

    VulchR

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
    My unoriginal sarcasm highlights Apple's issues with quality control. That kind of sarcasm has become all too common place regarding Apple products. I have a PowerBook 180 that still functions perfectly. Apple needs to get back to their roots of impeccable quality.
     
  14. Paultmaine macrumors newbie

    Paultmaine

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
  15. apolloa macrumors G3

    apolloa

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Time, because it rules EVERYTHING!
    #15
    I’m glad to see Apple has consistency in it’s poor software..
     
  16. TheTruth101 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    #16
    LOLO... piece of garbage lol.
    I was looking for a clip of Kelly Bundy when she was explaining the pregnancy tests with every detail. It sounded like that.

    Apple is doing that, every time they come up with anything they want you to update your OS. For what:
    1. To make your machine slower filling up with useless garbage you do not need
    2. To show off that everybody is downloading their latest OS because everyone loves it!

    And now these... a speaker nobody needs which is not relevant at all in the market. As revolutionary as the Apple Watch iPhone X and the annoying touch screen function thing they placed in the lastest LAPTOPS.
     
  17. dannyyankou macrumors 604

    dannyyankou

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #17
    AirPods was a home run. HomePod, not so much...
     
  18. apolloa macrumors G3

    apolloa

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Time, because it rules EVERYTHING!
    #18
    When you consider the high premium pricing Apple charges for it’s products, is it not acceptable to expect the QA to be their from the start?

    Meh I will continue to moan about Apples software, I think it’s hardware is alright, the software is just terrible with bugs in my experiences in the last year!
     
  19. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #19
    But it's easier than the archaic Sonos setup process, apparently.....
     
  20. Crzylikefox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #20
    I'm staying at a hotel for 2 months and was going to buy one today for my birthday...but from what I'm understanding, the HomePod will not work due to me using the hotel internet? I would think it could work because I called the company that provides the internet for the hotel and they have my Xbox to where I don't have to re-login every night
     
  21. H3LL5P4WN macrumors 6502a

    H3LL5P4WN

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    #21
    This legitimately concerns me because I have to change my WiFi passwords soon. Anyone have any suggestions to go about doing that without having to nuke my home and re-add every. single. device. ?
     
  22. smoledman macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #22
    A quote for 2008, maybe? The 'just works' is more applicable to Amazon these days.
     
  23. TheHammer macrumors member

    TheHammer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    #23
    S
    Same, and by some it’s probably less than one percent of all devices.
     
  24. dan9700 macrumors 65816

    dan9700

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    #24
    Omg this is exactly my problem i cant reset homekit and waiting an hour nothing pops up im dealing with an apple technician but its taking ages
     
  25. smoledman macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #25
    If you change your WiFi password, you'll be prompted by PCs, phones & tablets to enter in the new one. I suspect for HomePod/Echo type devices you'll have to go into the companion app and do that?
     

Share This Page