Resolved [SUPPORT] I can't install Windows on my Macbook. Pls help.

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by teampleb, Dec 27, 2015.

  1. teampleb, Dec 27, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2015

    teampleb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #1
    I've tried Windows 7 and 10 (both 32-Bit) and it always gets suck at "select cd-rom boot type". I have a 2007 MacBook with a Core 2 Duo and GMA 950. Upgraded with a 120GB SSD and 4GB of RAM. I need Windows because my laptop is a paperweight with everybody dropping support for 10.7.5. I know this laptop can at least run Windows 7. I currently have Linux Mint 17.3 (32-Bit) installed and everything is working perfectly. Can anybody please help me?
     
  2. boltjames macrumors 68030

    boltjames

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #2
    This is the subforum for the new 2015 12" Retina MacBook. The subforum you want for issues related to older Mac's and Windows installs is here:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/forums/windows-linux-others-on-the-mac.86/

    You may also seek help from Apple themselves here:

    https://discussions.apple.com/community/windows_software/boot_camp

    BJ
     
  3. teampleb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #3
    Thanks, but I'm not using boot camp. Lol. I'm trying to install it as the only OS. (It doesn't work through boot camp either though.)

    EDIT: MOVED IT HERE - http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/support-i-cant-install-windows-on-my-macbook-pls-help.1947051/
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    This sub-forum is still valid for asking questions for all Macs that use the "Macbook" name. Just as the iMac sub-forum is valid for all Macs that use the "iMac" name, even though older PowerPC based iMacs would get better support and answered in the PowerPC sub-forum.

    teampleb, are you booting from the optical disc or USB drive? Are you sure you are using the 32-bit version?
     
  5. teampleb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #5
    I'm trying to boot from a DVD. I think they're 32bit as I downloaded them from Microsoft's website and they say "x32" in the filename.
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    The problem you're encountering often happens when trying to boot a stock 64-bit disc on an older Mac. What is the exact file name of the ISO?
     
  7. teampleb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #7
    The Windows 10 one is "Win10_1511_English_x32.iso" and I don't have the 7 iso anymore but the disk has 32bit in the title.
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
  9. teampleb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #9
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    There may be, but I am not aware of such a way. Possibly download the ISO again and verify that you do indeed download the 32-bit version.
     
  11. teampleb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #11
    Thanks for the help anyway. I'm going to try installing Vista and doing an upgrade to 7 (then maybe to 10).
     
  12. teampleb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    #12
    FOLLOW UP: This does work! If anyone is having this problem, just upgrade from version to version. Windows 10 is working great. [​IMG]
     
  13. SteveJUAE macrumors 68000

    SteveJUAE

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Location:
    Land of Smiles
    #13
    Congrats, nothing better and more satisfying than self help :)
     

Share This Page