Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Cozmosis

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 2, 2011
Baltimore, MD
Hi all,

First experience with Monterey has been with B9 but B10 has same issue - has anyone had issues with tap-to-click? I have a M1 MBA, and very frequently TTC doesn't register my first click. Normal clicks seem to work fine. Tried turning on and off. Anyone experiencing this?

simzen85

macrumors newbie
Jun 26, 2017
sh*t, I thought it's only me. happened since some recent beta. Anyone knows how to fix this ? Thanks

swanksteak

macrumors newbie
Aug 27, 2017
Same here… 2017 15" MBP. I turned off three finger dragging in Accessibility and it seemed to help but only for a while. It's now back to the same weird behavior and seems to be getting more frequent over time.

Reactions: helloapple1

Beavix

macrumors 6502a
Dec 1, 2010
Romania
In addition to the tap-to-click problem, I've also noticed sometimes the cursor freezing and then jumping across the screen when I move it, with either the Magic Trackpad or the Magic Mouse.

It looks like something is periodically breaking the communication between the mouse/trackpad and the OS, for a fraction of a second.

Reactions: helloapple1

simzen85

macrumors newbie
Jun 26, 2017
This is too frustrating to the point that I'm thinking of going back to Big Sur, damn. First time got this kind of issue with Mac

Reactions: joedec

alexblunck

macrumors newbie
Oct 29, 2021
Germany
Experiencing the same issue on the brand new 14" MacBook Pro (12.0.1), although it only presents itself when tapping to click with modifier keys (i.e. Cmd + Tap to open link in new Tab or Shift + Tap to multi select range of files in finder).

simzen85

macrumors newbie
Jun 26, 2017
Have anyone tried to reinstall Monterey without any installed applications to see if the issue still occurs ?

Beavix

macrumors 6502a
Dec 1, 2010
Romania