TASCAM US-122 Problem

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by macbotics, Nov 11, 2007.

  1. macbotics macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #1
    Hi,
    I have a problem with my tascam us-122 audio interface.

    The problem is only the phantom light comes on when plugged in.

    Also neither of the audio apps garageband logic etc reconise it.

    So i opened up the tascam manager and it said device not avail.

    Any help will be much appreciated.

    THANKS
    :apple:
     
  2. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #2
    I am not too familiar with that guy anymore, but my first thought would be, have you recently upgraded to Leopard? If so you most likely need to download and install the drivers again.
     
  3. macbotics thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne
  4. Drumsynth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #4
    i have the same problem

    ...15 minutes later after i finished registering, yes i have the same problem with my US-122, the usb light doesnt turn on, but the phantom on/off light will, proving it has usb power, but the mac prefs and GB prefs dont recognize it being there for output or input, neither does the cd installed manager. the driver mac 3.2.3 or w.e installed fine from the cd, but from the website it is a .sit file that i cannot open. any help?a
     
  5. pkoch1 macrumors 6502a

    pkoch1

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    get stuffit expander to open the .sit file
     
  6. Drumsynth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #6
    well i found the right driver at tascam.com but now im coming to find that apparantly mac osx panther and leopard do not work with us-122. i have had the same answer from numerous sources online now.
    seeing as i can see the audio levels bounce back and forth when i talk into the mic, but nothing ever records in garageband. my apple pref input and output have been changed, so has the BG output and input, no luck. sometimes it will record static though.
     
  7. Togga macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #7
    Tascam US122 & Leopard

    Hey all,

    Just bought a Macbook pro with Leopard OS. No new drivers available to suit Leopard. Have just spent 2 days bouncing between Tascam & Apple Distributors in Australia who simply blame each other and offer no solution - not even an interface device that is confirmed to work with Leopard! There are no new US 122 drivers for Leopard on the site and no-one can advise when & if they will be released from Tascam. Absolute frustration.

    Togga
     
  8. lowblow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Location:
    basel, switzerland
    #8
    us-122 & leopard

    hi folks,
    i had the same problems: no recognizing of the us-122....
    make the following steps:
    unplug the us-122 usb, clear everything from the us-122 from your mac, installer, drivers, updates; EVERYTHING!
    shut down all applications, then go to the tascam-page:

    http://www.tascam.com/products/us-122;9,15,68,19.html

    and install the 3.40-version and plug the us-122 to usb
    ...and have fun again! :D
     
  9. mannyavila macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    #9
    Tascam US-122 Detected but not working

    Hi,

    Just jumped on board with with a new iMac. For a week, my US-122 worked fine. For some reason now it connects to the iMac fine at startup (Green USB light on), and the us-122 software is detecting it's hooked up. I can not get any sound out of it. Itunes locks up when trying to play a file until I switch back to the internal speaker system within the iMac.

    None of the audio software works until I switch back to internal speakers.

    I've tried stripping out the tascam drivers (3.4.0) and reload them, no luck.

    Does anybody have a idea on how to correct this?

    Thank You
    Manny
     
  10. floyde macrumors 6502a

    floyde

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Monterrey, México
    #10
    I'd recommend that also. I'm using the US-122 with Leopard and I never had any problems with it. I guess the problem for most of you guys is just outdated drivers.
     
  11. jimezsmoot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    #11
    hurray!

    Many thanks!
    Can finally use Garageband with the 122 :)


     
  12. kclimie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #12
    Found this posted on another forum, if you are still having problems with the US-122 even after cleaning all the drivers, etc from your machine and trying again, try connecting it to a Powered USB Hub.

    I have a late-2008 unibody MBP and the US-122 will not under any circumstance work when connected directly to it, even in Windows under Boot Camp. Just bought a Belkin Powered USB Hub, reinstalled the drivers, and it works fine in Garage Band and Logic Express 8.

    As a test I connected the US-122 directly to the MBP, and sure enough it crapped out. Back on the hub, and it works fine.
     
  13. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #13
    Look in System Profiler under the "About this Mac" pull down from the Apple menu. Look at the list of USB devices on your system. You will see the keyboard and mouse and any hubs you might have. If the us122 device shows up as a USB device of any kind (even if as "unknown device") then you have a driver/software issue but if the US122 fails to show up at all then you have a dead us122.

    Edit: Well either "dead" or not fully powered up.

    The post above is reasonable. USB devices, when plugged in will send a request for power and the hub can say yes or no. USB devices are only allowed minimal power without asking. So it could be that you are using an under powered hub or a powered hub that is already powering a disk or whatever.
     
  14. musanim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    #14
    YES!!! Powered hub fixed it!!! YAY!!!

    I'm so grateful for the suggestion to try a powered hub.
    I plugged it into a powered Belkin 7-port hub and it works fine.
    I would have never thought to try this, because before,
    it would only work when plugged directly into the machine,
    and would never work when plugged into a hub.
    I wonder why they don't have a note about this on the Tascam site.
     
  15. jacekartymiak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    #15
    I have similar problems. I described them in another post http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=685423. It's 2009 and the audio interface manufacturer's can't make a decent piece of hardware and software to make the boxes useful. Yes, you can get that interface to partially work with your Mac, but it's a broken solution. I'm really mad, I tried two Blue Icicles, Thomann t.bone, TASCAM US-122L. No fun. If anyone can recommend a good audio USB interface that works with all audio apps, I would like to hear about it.
     
  16. doronherenow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    #16
    Be Sure To Trash All The Old US 122 Software

    Yes, lowblow's method worked for me:
    Brand new Mac Pro, five-year-old Tascam US-122.
    In my case, I did not need a powered hub.
    I just made sure I got rid of ALL the old us-122 software.
    To be thorough, I did this in two ways:
    1. Did a search for all file names containing "us-122", and trashed them
    2. When you download the 3.40 driver, it gives you an "uninstall" app as well. I downloaded that and ran it. Wanted to be sure.

    That's it. I re-started the computer and I'm back in business.
    The powered hub idea definitely made sense.
    Just in my case, it wasn't needed.

    Take your time. Be thorough. :D

     
  17. djdmarckey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    #17
    not working

    hey guys
    just bough a mac pro and cant get the us 122 to work. mac build leopard 10.5.7.
    logic and garage band recognize it as an interface but no sound to or from the tascam. tried the above and thats as far as it gets.
    thanks.
     
  18. djdmarckey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    #18
    my comment above

    as an extension to my above comment. the us 122 does not work with guitar rig three. it is not a selection for an interface but is available as an output device and midi interface. but even selected as these there is no sound or midi functions. all these work perfect with my old mac. os 10.4
     
  19. bigalpringle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #19
    Also problem!

    I'm having a similar problem - I've been using the us 122 with Garageband for nearly 5 years now and have never had this problem.

    I've recently bought a new Macbook and have installed the latest 3.4.0 drivers for the us-122.

    It powers on ok and garageband recognizes it and allows it to be selected as both audio input and output.

    However, when it's selected as the input garageband does not pick up any audio signal from the interface for real instruments - no signal registers on the mixer - the channel is simply dead.

    I have checked that the input is correct and tried every possible input but no luck. Any suggestions?
     
  20. jeffxtn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #20
    exact same setup/problem here, except on a new mac mini. i've tried everything suggested on this thread, including the powered hub, and still nothing.

    halp pleez!
     
  21. brandonbackhaus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #21
    tascam us-122 malfuntion

    i'm getting a message from garage band that says it's having trouble synchronizing my midi and audio...

    and this: Sample Rate 28869 recognized.
    Check conflict between GarageBand and external device.

    i have os10.5 leopard the newest ish...

    with ilife 09 and garage band 09...

    it recognizes the tascam as i can select it as my output and input audio but it plays choppy if at all... and the error message continues to pop up...

    i downloaded new drivers... have a powered usb hub... ALL THAT!

    WTF!?

    HELP!!!!!

    thanks...
     
  22. bodhi101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    #22
    problem with tascam us-122

    I just bought a new macbook Pro and when I hooked up the tascam us-122 to work with garageband it wouldn't recognize it at all, in reading the some of the answers here I downloaded the 3.40 driver and it finally it started working, but now as I record the audio starts getting stuck and repeats like a broken record and I have to quit garageband and restart it again. I am just wondering is there anything I can do fix this problem? Or does anyone know of any reasonably priced midi interfaces with phantom power that will work with leopard/garageband/logic express? Thanks a lot :)
     
  23. ozzy007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    #23
    Simple Fix-or is it

    Hey guys,

    As posted in a previous thread, using a powered usb hub\ will allow you to use the tascam us-122 with garageband and logic pro. I tried in vain for several hours to get it to work-it could be seen in the audio preferences, but would not detect the sound. After I plugged into a powered usb hub, the thing worked like a charm! I have hear of this problem before-with self-powered usb hard drives...there is something with the specifications for the usb controller in the mac-it doesn't allow for a lot of power.

    Anyways, don't throw out the us-122! Just get a powered usb hub! I bought one at Future Shop/Best Buy for $30 cdn...cheaper than a new interface!
     
  24. djdmarckey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    #24
    us-122

    ah i see. i will try this and report my results
     
  25. djdmarckey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    #25
    Success

    Powered usb hub + tascam us-122 + new macs with leopard + newist drivers from tascam = functioning interface
     

Share This Page