That keyboard in the 2016 MacBook Pro is...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by HumpYourWayUp, Dec 1, 2016.

1. HumpYourWayUp macrumors regular

HumpYourWayUp

... AMAZING!!! :D

I read for months -MONTHS- that the new keyboard is awful to use.
    Lots of people bitched about it.
    Even people that never typed one character on the new keyboard wrote heartfelt impressions about how terrible it is.
    And by the way - Most of these horrible descriptions I read right here on macrumors!

So I was reasonably afraid to use the keyboard for the first time.
    And to my surprise it feels great!
    I am a programmer for 18 years now and never typed any faster!
    The bigger keys are easier to use and find. Minor improvements like the backlight not leaking out are nice additions. The whole keyboard feels "accurate"!

So for me the new keyboard is an improvement... Thanks to macrumors for making me paranoid about a keyboard that is totally OK :rolleyes:

2. humanresources macrumors regular

Agreed. Lots of prejudice people here. I love it and I somewhat love the clocks noise it makes. Although it makes me self conscious when I'm in a quiet study room in my university and all you hear is CLACK CACK CLACK CACK. (Srs)

I don't care that I draw attention to myself, I want everyone to know I have the new MacBook Pro, I paid $5000+ Canadian, I better be getting bitties. (Not srs)

3. cerberusss macrumors 6502a

cerberusss

I wouldn't put it like you do, but I feel it's perfectly usable. It's different for sure, but I used to not be able on an iPad as well. And now I'm flying on that silly on screen keyboard.

And you're right, the keys themselves are bigger. It makes hitting it easier, and it looks nice in my opinion.

We'll get used to it, and then we won't want to have it any other way :)

4. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

I absolutely love it! One word comes to mind when I use it: precision.

5. motime macrumors 6502