The first thing you do on your new MacBook pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by charlieegan3, May 14, 2012.

  1. charlieegan3, May 14, 2012
    Last edited: May 14, 2012

    charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #1
    After you've made the order, waited for dispatch, waited for the postman, opened the box, ran initial setup what will be your next move?

    Me: parade around the streets holding it above my head!, (seriously. Install spotify and listen to Strobe!)
     
  2. PresidentScroob macrumors newbie

    PresidentScroob

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Planet Spaceball
    #2
    Go partying, just like every weekend! Except the next morning I will bring my current 6y old model in to be recycled at the apple store with a well worth hangover. Then go home and watch Spaceballs on a 17" retina display!
    :D
     
  3. YsoSerious macrumors 6502

    YsoSerious

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
  4. charlieegan3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #4
    And what will that be? what will come first?
     
  5. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #5
    probably test Redtube.com to make sure it works
     
  6. charlieegan3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #6
    its a start i guess
     
  7. PresidentScroob macrumors newbie

    PresidentScroob

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Planet Spaceball
    #7
    For me the new AutoCAD 2013, Vectorworks 2012, Photoshop CS6, and Lightroom 4 provided by work/friends and the new iWork which I hope comes out by June. As well as Starcraft II a lot of friends convinced me to get the game which runs horribly on my current computer don't laugh.
    :cool:
     
  8. Tatonnement macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
  9. charlieegan3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #9
    weight depending it could be money down the drain.
     
  10. srxtr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
  11. charlieegan3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #11
    Might be on a new domain by then: redretinatube.com

    ----------

    Make them jealous i say!
     
  12. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #12
    Max out the memory with 3rd party RAM, then start migrating my files over from the previous machine.
     
  13. Marc Dose macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    #13
    Lick it.

    Nah, since my April 2006 15" MBP is not supported for Diablo 3, I will install that ASAP and see how far I can press the new 2012 machine. Then Ableton Live and see how many tracks it can handle.
     
  14. charlieegan3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #15
    Sounds like you've got plenty to do anyway!

    ----------

    picture say 1000 words...

    ----------

    to save money or because you want a pedigree breed?
     
  15. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #16
    Apple memory is notoriously expensive, and in the case of the current SB laptops I don't think they even sell 8GB SODIMM modules yet. I have found over time that I tend to require as much memory as a laptop supports, so the last 3 I've just maxed out shortly after purchase. In the case of OWC, they'll buy the replaced RAM from you, which is fairly convenient.
     
  16. charlieegan3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #17
    hmm, that is worth knowing. Thanks
     
  17. PresidentScroob macrumors newbie

    PresidentScroob

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Planet Spaceball
    #18
    Agreed I put in Corsair in my mac because in 2006 it was half the price. Apple ram is overpriced and I also would like 16gb of ram now. If apple offers it at a matched price then I'll go with them. Not sure how likely that is but we shall see.
     
  18. Trance macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #19
    this is my usual setup progress in order.
    1. Software Update
    2. Settings Preferences (config all my custom settings mouse/pad speed, double click windows to minimize and setup iCloud.etc
    3. Install AppZapper and Adobe Flash
    4. Open iTunes and turn off copy files to iTunes media library in the advance settings
    5. Open safari turn off Java and install Ad Block
    6. drag music, pictures, docs from my external hd to my mac
    7. setup time machine to my external hd
     
  19. rault18 macrumors member

    rault18

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nv
    #20
    Watch porn knowing there are pretty slim chances on getting a virus
     
  20. charlieegan3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #21
    sounds like you've got it down to a tee.

    I used to use AppZapper but found that Finder search did just as good a job.
     
  21. firemedicmark macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
  22. charlieegan3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #23
    what are you planning on that being?
     
  23. firemedicmark macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    #24
    Final Cut
     
  24. Tobias Funke macrumors 6502a

    Tobias Funke

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #25
    Try and find a way to connect my Firewire 400 ODD to it so I can install Traktor. :eek: :D
     

Share This Page