Think I'll buy a Macbook Pro tomorrow. Few Questions.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vader1990, Sep 23, 2008.

1. vader1990 macrumors regular

This is my first time on this forums, so please go easy ;)

I think I'm going to go ahead and buy the Macbook Pro tomorrow--I don't think this "update" will really matter that much to me anyway...

So I have a few questions:

1. Should I upgrade the RAM to 4GB? I plan to use it for some hardcore programming and Engineering. Also to watch HD movies, and play some games (Crysis if at all possible?, Gears, etc.) Its only $50 for the upgrade if I do it manually!

2. Basically I found 4GB (2 X 2GB) DDR2 RAM for laptops--PC2-6400 and PC2-5300--for basically the same Price. Will the Macbook Pro accept the 800 RAM? Will it address and use the benefits of the 800 RAM? Should I just get the 667 RAM?

667: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227247
    800: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227251

3. I have never ever used a mac before, a lot of my friends are saying Mac's are no good, and they suck--so I ask you guys? Why Macbook Pro? Is it worth it? Am I simply just wasting money on this?

Thanks guys!
    -S

2. Purple Pelican macrumors member

I would upgrade the RAM to 4 Gigs, from what you're using your MBP for. The installation is simple, so if you want to do it, go ahead. However, your computer will NOT be able to take advantage of the faster 800 ram.

In terms of the MBP, if you really don't care about the update, I believe that it's a great computer. Being a Mac user for 13+ years, I'm biased, but there you go.

3. rolex54 macrumors 6502

1. you should definitely get the 4 gigs of RAM, but just don't buy it from apple
    2. it will not take advantage of the 800, just go with the 667
    3. I switched to mac 3 years ago and have never looked back, the pro is great for what you want to be doing on it, i would definitely say that it is worth it

4. masse macrumors 6502a