Tiger - can I copy to swap to my Panther machine?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by nomadix, Oct 13, 2007.

  1. nomadix macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    #1
    Howdy Folks :

    My G4 PB 17" runs 10.4.8
    my G5 iMac runs 10.3.9

    an way I can upgrade the G5 iMac to run Tiger

    i am not groovin Azureus anymore - Transmission no longer supports Panther - till I can upgrade to Leopard

    Cheers in advance
     
  2. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #2
    I'm not in a position to answer 100%, but I've upgraded before while "skipping" a release, so you should be fine as long as you've got the min requirements :)
     
  3. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #3
    There's no "upgrade" disks or anything, and the G5 iMac more than meets the minimum requirements, so there's no issues with doing that.

    jW
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    You'll need the retail version of Tiger to do this. If you're going to try using Tiger discs that came with the PowerBook, don't bother. They almost certainly won't work and they'll be incorrectly licensed. :eek:
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    Yup.

    Step 1: Buy a retail version of Tiger
    Step 2: install it

    A bundled version of Tiger almost certainly won't run on another CPU platform.
    A retail version of Tiger (if that's what you have on the PBG4) is eligible to be installed on only one machine, unless you bought a Family pack.

    Edit: beaten to the punch by the aussie contingent... :)
     
  6. nomadix thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    #6
    Howdy Folks:

    Cheers for all the replies:

    Next question then , if I may

    If I wanted o install Leopard - one disc will install on both machines , No?

    a visit to local Genius Bar , asked this - was told there should be no issue with either machine - 10.5 does does not have a license

    Is this correct - or do we have to wait till 26th of month to see

    Cheers:
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    I'd be really quite surprised if Leopard was released without a licence. My guess is it'll have a similar setup to Tiger in that you can buy one licence with one set of discs, or five licences (Family Pack), also with one set of discs but cheaper than five separate licences. I hope that made sense. Of course, you're right. We won't really know 'til Leopard is actually released. :)
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    I believe it will. ;)
     
  9. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #9
    It won't have a serial number or key (for the client), but I would bet the license would be the same as Tiger.
     
  10. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #10
    I agree - using an included restore version of Tiger on a different model would be iffy. I've run into it myself, and the troubleshooting that ensued was "lesson learned".
     
  11. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    Modern restore discs won't even let you boot the machine from them unless the Machine Model code matches.
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    Everyone seems to be fixated on using the installer DVDs.
     
  13. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #13
    Well, installer discs or not, it'd be difficult to get the PowerBook's copy of Tiger onto the iMac without bypassing the EULA.
     
  14. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #14
    As opposed to? The OP was implying copying the OS off the G4 to the G5, which would be essentially the same as using the restore disks. (ignoring the EULA issue)
     
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    Quite true.

    The only real solution in the end is to get the retail discs of OS X in this situation.

    My base image for PowerPC was created on a Power Mac G4 and it works fine for any PowerPC Mac.

    The same can be said for my Intel Mac mini image. It works fine on the Mac Pro and original Core 2 Duo iMac.

    Then again I do fall under a volume license situation.
     
  16. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #16
    As far as I'm aware, discussion of how to bypass the EULA is forbidden on MacRumors. So, for the purpose of this thread a 'proper' retail version of Tiger would be needed.
     
  17. nomadix thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    #17
    Howdy Folks:

    Cheers ya for all comments so far

    Ok - now that Leopard is coming out - how much would you think a fair price for Tiger would be ?

    cheers:
     
  18. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
    I expect somewhere around $40 new.

    I've seen Tiger go lower right now.
     
  19. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #19
    Don't you just click a button to get past the EULA? Or is this about the legal issues of it?

    As for price, once Leopard is announced as shipping whenever, I'd expect to see Tiger for $20-ish.

    Also, I agree that the install/restore DVD from a G4 PB would not work on an Intel machine, but depending on purchase dates, might work on a G5 iMac.
     
  20. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #20
    Sounds like it's still dependent on the particular combination of models used. If I remember the situation, I was trying to save some time when migrating from an older G4 to a newer G4 (both PB's). I was able to boot fine, using my old G4's OS image (which was at the time, the latest dot version), but not all the new hardware was recognized/enabled. The only way to get the new, specific hardware features enabled (SMS, Ambient Light sensors) was to use the new, included, restore disks. (Reapplying combo updaters didn't work either.)

    in this case, EULA wasn't an issue since I owned a all the versions involved for both machines. I had the retail version, too, but like I said, I was trying to shortcut the migration between the two machines.
     
  21. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #21
    I'll agree with that.

    There are still a few models today that I can't support even with the latest dot update. The Aluminum iMac and MacBook Pro Santa Rosa have machine specific drivers that require a special image for them.

    I'm in a volume license environment so the EULA becomes nearly immaterial to me.
     
  22. nomadix thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    #22
    Howdy Folks :

    Are these retail discs specific to machines ?

    If I decide to just pony up the shrapnel for Leopard- as I have 2 machines
    will I have to buy 2 discs?


    Cheers:
     
  23. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #23
    My suggestion is to get the Leopard Family Pack.

    It'll give you 5 licenses for less the the retail cost of two.
     
  24. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #24
    Assuming the same licensing as Tiger, then yes - unless you purchase the Family 5-Pack.

    edit: I'm sooo slooow sometimes... ;)
     
  25. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #25
    I think the forum is slow of late.

    Even at work on a Core 2 machine it takes forever to load. :eek:
     

Share This Page