To get applecare or not too

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tracetritt, Aug 2, 2008.

1. tracetritt macrumors member

Alright, so here's my situation...

SR 2.2 MBP

Based on what I have been reading, I do indeed have a computer that has a possibility for the bad GPU. I have about 20 days until my 1st year is up. I never bought Applecare in the first place because I am a computer repair tech and fix computers all the time. I always thought that I could fix it if anything (normal) came my way. However, a GPU related problem would be a little out of my hands for the sheer price factor. Do you think that Apple would still replace/repair a computer that has the defective GPU even if it were out of warranty? Like an extension for the GPU only. Very much like the batteries a couple of years ago.

Now, I'm thinking about buying Applecare only because of the GPU scare.

What do you all think??

Tyler

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

I'd get AppleCare, if I were you. No, I doubt Apple would be willing to repair any computer that is no longer in warranty or covered by AppleCare, unless it was a mass recall.

3. orangeillini14 macrumors regular

I was told to get it but I still haven't... I will before I go to college though.

4. markrivers macrumors 6502a

markrivers

good thing for me i still have months to worry about getting apple care.
    knee jerk response is to get it.. right?
    but aside from spilling liquids and dropping your MBP..

what else do they DON"T cover in terms of repair?
    getting first hand info from people who used apple care will be greatly appreciated..
    the Saddest thing would be to buy it, believe in it, only to be talked down by the geniuses about what is and what is not covered..

5. Pixellated macrumors 65816

Accidental damage, and batteries over 90 days old. :)

6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

If you want the details, here is the AppleCare Protection Plan.

7. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod