Touch ID not working on beta 5

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by WiiDsmKR69, Aug 10, 2016.

  1. WiiDsmKR69 macrumors regular

    WiiDsmKR69

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #1
    Hey all!

    Is anyone else having issues with touchid in beta 5?

    Immediately after installing the latest beta update I realised Touch ID wasn't working , and only my passcode could be used to unlock my phone.

    It frequently gives me notifications to say "TouchID failed to register". When I go into the settings , all my fingerprints have been removed and the toggles for "use Touch ID to unlock phone " and "use touchid for App Store purchases" are off.

    When I try toggle these on, it starts the Touch ID setup, then gives and error.

    Hardware issues/ moisture issues are not valid here, it was working flawlessly until I installed the beta 5.

    I have given feedback as you should with a public beta, but just curious if it was just me or many had the same issue
     
  2. NJFP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
  3. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #3
    Have you tried rebooting your device?

    No issue on my iPhone 6 or 12.9" iPad Pro.
     
  4. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    i haven't had any issues so far with TouchID on beta 5. as stated, try rebooting your phone.
     
  5. WiiDsmKR69 thread starter macrumors regular

    WiiDsmKR69

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #5
    Yep, reboot and hard reboot.
     
  6. gigapocket1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #6
    Also maybe re-program your fingers
     
  7. WiiDsmKR69 thread starter macrumors regular

    WiiDsmKR69

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #7
    I can't even get to that.
    Add fingerprints is greyed out , as TouchID has been turned off .

    If I start the setup it gives me an error to say it failed , and to restart the setup.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 10, 2016 ---
    IMG_6322.PNG IMG_6323.PNG
     
  8. dcp10 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #8
    Maybe a corrupt install? Try reinstalling and see if that solves it.
     
  9. WiiDsmKR69 thread starter macrumors regular

    WiiDsmKR69

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #9
    Do you know if I backup with a beta, can I reinstall my data to a new beta install ? Or will it restore to iOS9 and then say my backup won't work?
     
  10. dcp10 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
  11. WiiDsmKR69 thread starter macrumors regular

    WiiDsmKR69

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #11
    So I just backup and then "restore backup"?

    Or do I backup , then click "restore iPhone "?
     
  12. gh2k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    #12
    Mine did the touch id failed thing a while back just out of the blue not running beta OS or anything just one day it didn't work. Turned out the secure thing failed and Apple had to replace my phone.
     
  13. WiiDsmKR69 thread starter macrumors regular

    WiiDsmKR69

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #13
    Nice.

    1 month out of warranty :/
     
  14. gh2k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    #14
    That sucks, hopefully it is just software since it is beta related. For mine one day I woke up and tried to unlock the phone and it wouldn't let me. I used the PIN and it worked. I deleted my fingerprints and tried to re-enroll and it said failed. So I did a reset from the software and when setting up the phone new from startup it wouldn't recognize anything was touching the sensor. I then did a DFU restore and still no dice. This was back in like April timeframe and there was no solution except to replace the phone. Maybe you will have to take it into Apple and have them check it out but for my 6+ when it said failed it was a hardware failure and it was done for.
     
  15. dcp10 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #15
    Restore from backup won't fix a bad install and restore iPhone will downgrade to 9.3.4

    You'll need to use the .ipsw file or downgrade to 9.3.4 and then put the beta profile back on

    You could of course wait it out to see the next beta fixes it as well
     
  16. WiiDsmKR69 thread starter macrumors regular

    WiiDsmKR69

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #16
    Yep thinking I'll just wait.
    Could be a hardware issue but the timing would be so coincidental..
     
  17. skwood macrumors 6502a

    skwood

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    #17
    Updating can stress the phone more than normal both when performing the update and when indexing etc. (you'll find it heats up for example - particularly for betas). FWIW I still think it's bad timing if it does turn out to be hardware.
     
  18. WiiDsmKR69 thread starter macrumors regular

    WiiDsmKR69

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #18
    S
    So the best bet would be to backup info via iCloud and so a fresh install?

    Is it possible to download the iOS 10 beta 5 ipsw file to restore straight to a beta?
     
  19. skwood macrumors 6502a

    skwood

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    #19
    If you're a developer you can download the ipsw from the developer.apple.com and update in place without the need to restore if you shift click or option click (can't remember off top of head) in iTunes 12.5 (Sierra) or via the xcode beta. I'd try Reset All Settings first though tbh.
     
  20. mariusignorello macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #20
    Hmmm I think it may not be communicating with the Secure Enclave for some reason. Probably a software issue.
     
  21. sdotting1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    #21
    Mine doesn't work keep getting enter passcode to enable Touch ID
     
  22. DiscoMcDisco macrumors regular

    DiscoMcDisco

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Location:
    London

Share This Page