iPhone Touchpal keyboard

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Dmaynard83, Feb 4, 2013.

  1. Dmaynard83 macrumors 6502a

    Dmaynard83

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #1
    I wonder if you will be able to replace the stock keyboard with the touchpal one found on the App Store.
     
  2. Balibalistic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
  3. Dmaynard83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dmaynard83

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #3
    My girlfriend wants swype tho and iswipe sucks.

    I think touchpal might be best alternative for a swype keyboard if a jailbreak lets you make it the default keyboard
     
  4. Balibalistic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
  5. Dmaynard83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dmaynard83

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #5
    Yea not sure if there is one.
    I was curious if there would be since touchpal is available on the AppStore but won't let you change the default keyboard
     
  6. Balibalistic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    #6
    this is amazing.

    ----------

    theres gotta be some way to use this as the default???
     
  7. Dmaynard83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dmaynard83

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #7
    Yea I don't really care so much about the other tweaks but if the jailbreak will let you use touchpal as the default keyboard I think it's definitely worth it
     
  8. TG1 macrumors 6502a

    TG1

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    #8
    Looking forward to trying this one. :)
     
  9. Balibalistic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    #9
    its as good or better then swype.., someones gotta make this default usable.
     
  10. Dmaynard83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dmaynard83

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #10
    is octopus even working on the new jailbreak?
     
  11. Balibalistic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
  12. Dmaynard83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dmaynard83

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #12
    What repo?
     
  13. mml061010 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    #13
    There is a Touchpal keyboard in Cydia, actually.

    Just search Touchpal, and you will find two tweaks from BigBoss. They are both Chinese, but don't worry, there is an English version hidden in the app. The one you want will say Touchpal Keyboard. Just download it (it's free), and when that's done, you'l see a Touchpal icon on your phone. Ignore that (unless you can read Chinese) because all the settings are in Chinese, and you won't need to change any of them anyhow.

    Go into your phone's settings, and add the keyboard "Touchpal (English)". Now go into an app that uses the keyboard, like Messages or something, and press the globe in the bottom left of your keyboard to switch to the Touchpal one (note: the label for the keyboard will be entirely in Chinese). You'll see a keyboard that looks like a phone number pad with letters. Now just swipe from right to left across the keyboard, and boom, there it is: a perfectly functioning Touchpal/Swype English QWERTY keyboard.

    I don't know why BigBoss only has this as an option bundled into a Chinese keyboard app, but I'm glad I did the digging to find it. It's so much better than iSwipe. Hope this helps!
     
  14. Dmaynard83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dmaynard83

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #14
    Nice find!

    So you have to hit the globe icon to get the touchpal keyboard? I'm assuming there is no way (as of yet) to make it the default keyboard.
     
  15. mml061010 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    #15
    Often, after I set the Touchpal keyboard, it will stay there the next time I use the keyboard, but not always, so yeah you might have to press the globe again sometimes.
     
  16. Norinion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #16
    It works extremely well. However there's too many buttons at the bottom, and the punctuation layout is so confusing, its hard to use. Wish there was a way to both integrate this into the Apple Keyboard. But the swype functionality works extremely well.
     
  17. Balibalistic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    #17
    cant seem to get it to work. all the steps are good but swiping just doesnt work.
     
  18. Norinion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #18
    Uninstall SwipeSelection if you have that installed, and then hold down a button, usually the enter button or backspace then swipe over.
     
  19. Balibalistic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    #19
    i have octopus installed, ould that be messing it?
     
  20. Balibalistic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
  21. Dmaynard83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dmaynard83

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #21
    yea I just added this mod. going to test it out for a couple days. it's nice to be able to switch to the original keyboard easily.

    this is probably the best Swype alternative
     
  22. rak007, Feb 18, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2013

    rak007 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    #22
    @mml061010

    Thanks a million for letting us know about this. I just installed it and it is working fine.
    Will take some to get used to but worth it.

    Btw any way to install new words in its dictionary ?
    Also is the appstore touchpal better or the cydia one?

    Btw for me on iOS 5.1.1 iPhone 4S, the touchpal icon cannot be opened. i just comes on a goes, sort of crashes but the keyboard works.
     
  23. Norinion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #23
    The Appstore one, the keyboard can only be used inside the app.
    The Cydia one brings the keyboard to any app, so you can type like that anywhere.

    I have an iPhone 5, 6.1 it opened up fine for me. Maybe its a 5.1.1 problem.
     
  24. rak007 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    #24
    Yup appstore one is only app so it will require us to copy text and paste in the other app like message or anything.
    Btw i was mentioning the cydia touchpal icon crashes but keyboard works.
    The app store touchpal app works fine.
     
  25. Balibalistic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    #25
    id like to know if within the chinese settings we can add words to the dictionary?? i tred comparing the english vs chinese. but its like reading........well chinese :D
     

Share This Page